We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solar de Mos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Solar de Mos Hotel
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Rhineland-Palatinate
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

I stayed at this property for three nights and was delighted about my choice. The owner/manager (?) and the staff made me feel welcome beyond my expectations.

The entire hotel feels like a home rather than a hotel: the owner arranged for clearly distinguishable areas to read, to eat or to have a drink. The pool was bit cold in March, but it made a well-kept impression. The bar was well stocked and the bartender patient even with indecisive patrons: he took his time explaining Portuguese wine and beer choices.

The room was spacious, the bathroom generously sized. Breakfast was plenty, with specialties of the region, but catering also to the palates of less adventurous travelers.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GeorgeCurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolardeMos, Owner at Solar de Mos Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your review.
It's always important for us to have feedback of our work.
Your good evaluation give us a good motive to keep going.
Best regards
Carlos Gloria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    74
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
39
177
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We arrive at this hotel somewhat at the ends of our tether! A bus ride from Seville took 6 hours even though the distance is only about 300km. The numerous stops that make it so slow (even though ticket says 1 stop in huelva there were about 5 or 6). So, finally we arrive at reception, where I'm greeted by a lady who has such a warm smile and good sense of humour. My spirits lifted from this small exchange and she showed us our room. Ground floor with double bed (not two sinlges pushed together as is expected) private terrace and big ensuite and flat screen tv (also not to be expected). The room was spotlessly clean. Bathroom was awesome, large, ventilated, great shower. But it doesn't end there. The first night is the best sleep both of us have in 10 days of travel. Breakfast is a diverse offering of fresh uncut fruits, yoghurt, breads, cereals, 8 kinds of teas & coffee, cheeses, ham, scrambled and boiled eggs. This is uncommon if you get my drift. The pool is large and clean (ph & temperature levels written on a blackboard daily). We stayed an extra night (from 2 nights to 3). The staff are fantastic and the sense of humour I picked up on really unfolded over time to include a long time guest being comically serenaded by staff on her departure. The brother and sister owners are from Lagos and their love of the town and their business shines through in everything they do for their guests and in the standards of their work. We spent a fair bit of time in town too and the distance of the hotel from the town might be a downfall for some as it's a decent walk of about 20mins. The hotel also promotes itself as a four star hotel, which it might be by Portugese standards, but not what I'd consider 4 star. In any case, overall, a terrific hotel experience.

Room Tip: Ask for room 2 if it's available (bathroom suits wheelchair access hence it's luxuriously sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Solar de Mos Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your review.
We are very touched and thankful for your words.
I wish you can find always nice places in your life.
Kind regards
Carlos Gloria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Based on other reviews we choose this hotel for a last minute getaway. We are so glad we did as the hotel and staff lived up to all expectations and more. Without question we would return there.

However please consider the location and make sure that it suits on all counts, distance from airport, distance and gradients to the beaches, to the old town etc. Wouldn't want anyone to be disappointed, we enjoy walking and otherwise make good use of public transport.

Hotel can arrange airport transfer, but check out other reviews, taxi old town to hotel cost €4, bus stop at door (no advice here as we didn't use, but timetable showed route to Praia de Mos and I think Praia D'Ana). Hire car parking at hotel no problem.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cl0ver4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Solar de Mos Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your review.
We always appreciate to have feed back. It help us also to understand better what we do and have.
We look forward for your visit in a near future.
Best regards
Carlos Gloria
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed here in the last week of May 2012 and I'm so glad we did. We wanted a hotel rather than an apartment but we didn't want a large hotel with lots of kids running around or nightly poolside 'entertainment'. This place was perfect. Clean and comfortable, quiet and perfectly located. It's a reasonable walking distance from old town plus lots of free parking at the hotel for a hire car. The staff are lovely, so friendly and nothing is too much trouble.

I believe the rooms have been refurbished. The one we stayed in was very modern, had a comfortable bed and a large bathroom with brand new fittings.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovebristol_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Solar de Mos Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you very much for your review.
We are glad to know you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Best regards.
Carlos Gloria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto,Ontario,Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

I must say I was surprised by how I felt so much at home,yet I was in another country.The owners make sure your needs are taken care of.The room and the hotel was very clean.Each room has it's own balcony or patio.The free wireless internet in my room was very high speed and I used it to make free internet phone calls back to North America.I have nothing to complain about,but to only give the owners compliments.The free breakfast was great.I recommend this hotel and when I am in the Algarve again,I will be staying with them.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

You have to give it 5 stars because it is what you experience. However it is not a 5 star hotel - this is a fact. But you experience a 5-star service. You have a fantastic bed, fantastic shower, fantastic location, fantastic host and hostess but this is through the personal touch. Like others I would rather not rate this hotel because we could come back again and have it to ourselves. However the Portuguese economy is such that good hotels deserve to be rewarded. Everything is spotless. You want a bike - there in seconds. You fancy a beer - no problem. An extra towel for the pool? - of course. Want to just chill with wine from the local supermarket - would you like an extra glass?
Forget to take something home - of course we will send it to you! 5 stars. Because you are worth it

Room Tip: No - every room has unique character. But remember - this is NOT a 5 star hotel. It is an hotel wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Arthurlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

We just spent 3 nights there. Before we went, we had low expectations because the price per night was below 50 Euros for a double room. But once we were there, we were so delighted. The hotel was clean. The service was excellent. The location was convenient. The breakfast, which was included, was decent. And even the shower fixtures were all very new. When we go back again, I am sure we would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ray820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.1 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,855 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.6 mi away
Carvi Hotel Lagos
Carvi Hotel Lagos
#11 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#3 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
1.8 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#6 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solar de Mos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar de Mos Hotel

Property: Solar de Mos Hotel
Address: Rua Santa Casa da Misericordia de Lagos, Lagos 8600-621, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
#7 Family Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Solar de Mos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, family run hotel, with a welcoming atmosphere and a personal service it is built on two floors with a lift. The 15 well appointed bedrooms all with terrace or balcony are equiped with private bathroom (with bathrobe), mini-bar, direct dial telephone, alarm clock, safe (rentable) cable TV and air conditioning, smoke and fire detectors, electric power at 220v. A free parking place direct at the hotel is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Solar de Mos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar De Mos Lagos
Hotel Solar De Mos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing