We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great but quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Baluarte da Vila Apartments
Ranked #9 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Romford, Essex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great but quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed in Lagos, by chance after looking at verious resorts in the Algrave. We usually rent a car so location wasnt priority, Apartments overall where very spacious and clean, we where on the ground floor but could still see the beach from our terrace which was nice :) Very friendly staff, and maid service was as good as expected! Pool is lovely but not much atmosphere, could do with maybe some quiet music in the background, or a bar, but prehaps the hotel is too small to benefit. Walk to the main town is only 10mins, Beach not to far either.
Lagos itself, wasnt what we expected, and was a bit too quiet for us, more suited for older couples looking for a more authentic feel. But very pretty/clean town, just maybe would have been slighty bored if didnt have the car to venture into other resorts during out stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisalovesholidays88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    54
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
30
86
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We've stayed at Porta da Villa a total of six times, and on the whole it's very good accommodation indeed. The location is terrific a minutes walk into the old town with all its cobnled streets, and lovely restaurants and bars. The accomodation is close to a number of beaches with Pria Donna Anna a ten minute walk , in my opinion the most beautiful beach in the whole of the Algarve. The accommodation is spacious, set over three levels) we've always stayed in a one bedroom apartment and the furnishings nice and clean. Only downside is no double beds just singles and awkward to shove together as the headboards and table are stone and built in. The staff are very helpful and pleasant and the accommodation quiet and relaxing.
The only downside is that the cleanliness of the pool and surrounding area is a bit erratic, we've stayed a number of times and on some of those the place has been grubby,also the bathrooms and kitchens need a bit of a refurb. However we use the place as a base to explore and for that its perfect.

Room Tip: Book a one bedroom apartment, and ask for one with a rooftop terrace .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clairepj2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiova, Romania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel could be fabulous if some minor details would be taken care of.We staid in an apartment with living area and kitchenette at the main floor and bedroom plus bathroom at the second floor.The space was enormous, I liked the Greek-sort decoration, the big bathroom and the fact that the TV had several English movie channels.Also, the staff were the friendliest people ever.The downsides of Porta da Vila were, at least for me, the incredibly large number of ants that kept popping out of little halls in the floor pavement, the lack of a balcony and the fact that the pool wasn't very clean(but who needs the pool when you have an entire ocean at your disposal!?).The location is good, close to both the city center(10-15 min walk)and Dona Ana Beach(one of the most beautiful beaches-15 min walk).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iulia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

so much space in these apartments been going for last 5 years however feel now they could do with refurbishing smell a little damp however wont stop me booking again next year. Great for adults so peacefull however you have to be fit coming back from the town very steep hill loely holiday once again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gail340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

If you are like me and like to be left alone to enjoy my holiday then these apartments are perfect. Lagos is a beautiful part of the Algarve and the apartments are in a central position with easy walking to the old town where there are many bars & restaurants, the Marina and a choice of lovely sandy beaches. The apartments look nothing from the outside and are not well signposted. We arrived in the evening and the coach that transfered us from the airport dropped us off at the top of the road near the Fire station. We were told to walk down the road and the apartments are on the right. After a walk of about 200 yards down a cobbled street you come across a small square with a restaurant called Casa Do Pintor on the corner. The apartments are at the back of the square surrounded by green railings. The entrance is through 2 large wooden doors which are permenantly locked (you get a key when you check in), under one of the lamps there is note with a number to call to ask someone to come and let you in. I am not sure what I would have done if I didn't have my mobile phone with me. The are 2 types of apartments, poolside have no balconies. The others which we stayed in have a ground floor with adequate and clean kitchen facilities. A spiral staircase takes you up to the bedroom and bathroom. a further staircase leads up to the rooftop terrace with a lovely view across the bay. Air conditioning is provided free of charge. The pool is a nice size with plenty of sunbeds available. We found this area to be very quiet, many times we had the pool to ourselves. There is also a hot tub / Jacuzzi at the side of the pool.There is no bar or snack facility available. If you are looking for a lively hotel with music blaring from the poolside bar and the bar tender pretending to be your best mate then this is not the place for you. If you want a peaceful place to stay were the staff are helpful when required but leave you alone and is central to the delights of Lagos then this is very much value for money.

Room Tip: Most of the Poolside apartments do not have balconies / terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

booked with Thomson, who drop you off by the fire station and you have to walk 200yds because the coach cant get down the narrow street. The building is a querky type of place but is clean and airy. Staff are helpful, Isobel met us at the fire station to take us there but this was probably because I told the Thomson rep I wasnt paying £1100 to walk the streets to find their apartment! Dont let them try the same trick. We payed extra for a balcony room (101) which had a ground floor with enclosed patio area and dining table and small kitchenette which had two small electric hotplates which are VERY slow. There is no grill or oven so forget about any decent culinary delights. the utensils supplied are also very poor. The worktops were cracked and jaded and could do with a refit, trust me Im a kitchen fitter. Tv is good with a few english channels and there is a decent air con unit. 2nd floor is the bedroom which only has two small single beds which CANNOT be pushed together and ample storage but has a tired feel about the room. Also has a safe for 10 euros a week and also a decent air con unit. Bathroom is large and shower is powerful enough. Up to the 3rd floor is the roof terrace which really is worth the extra money. But this is where the problem lies. There were 2 sunbeds, 1 which was totally destroyed and the other which was only able to lie flat. Why would any decent establishment leave 2 piles of rubbish like that for their guests in the biggest asset of the property? When I complained it took 2 days to change! If some money was spent on quality finishing touches this place could go up a notch or two. The swimming pool is decent but again some of the finishing touches and maintenance poor. The complex itself actually borders a part of the old town wall which is a nice touch and is only 10 mins to centre down a steep hill to a selection of nice restuarants and bars. There is a very good restaurant just round the corner (turn left and then right) called O Alcaide. Overall a nice place that could be better with a little tuning

Room Tip: balcony rooms 101 - 107
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulphilipno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Excellent place to stay in Lagos, only 5 min easy walk to beach (Batata beach) or city center and only 10 min till Dona Ana beach. Both are excellent places where to spend time and enjoy beauty of nature! Staff is very friendly and helpful; they were here always when we needed them and give help on what we needed. If one day we will come back to Lagos, I would stay in the same place, also I recommend this place, its good:)!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edona-magdalena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.6 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,884 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.3 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#6 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
0.6 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baluarte da Vila Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baluarte da Vila Apartments

Property: Baluarte da Vila Apartments
Address: Largo de Santa Maria da Graca 9, Lagos 8600-518, Portugal (Formerly Porta da Vila)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baluarte da Vila Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Baluarte da Vila Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Da Vila Apartments Hotel Lagos
Port Vila Apartments Lagos
Port Vila Apartments Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing