We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel very clean and pleasent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AquaLuz Suite Hotel
Ranked #8 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
warwickshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel very clean and pleasent staff”
Reviewed June 29, 2010

I booked a holiday 1 week before we travelled and did the lot via lowcostholidays.com the place looked nice in the pictures but you never can really tell, when the coach was dropping people of at some ropey hotels and apartments on the way from the airport i did start to think this doesnt look good.....BUT when we arrived at the Aqualuz at around midnight we were pleasently suprised, it was lovely, the guy on the reception was really pleasent and pointed us in the direction of our apartment, all of the accomadation is set around the two outdoor pools which looked great lit up at night, our apartment was on the third floor and was big it had a bathroom/toilet (which was the only little niggle as it looked a bit tired) but it was clean so not really a problem, there was a kitchen area with twin burner hob, a fridge microwave and all the crocks glasses and pans you would need if you wanted to eat in (this was all VERY clean) there was a large bedroom and two bed/sofas in the large living room which also contained a table with 4 chairs. and outside we had a lovely balcony which got the sun in the evening
Had a great week at the hotel, must say that we eat out every night and every day so we never used the restaurants or the Irish bar so i cant coment on the food at the Aqualuz but from what we saw it looked ok. All in all i would recommend the hotel and would definatly go back again

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icebloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    288
    84
    17
    14
See reviews for
245
259
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2010

This is a great hotel with excellent facilities and lovely modern decor. Every area of this hotel is spotlessly clean and it has clearly gone through a full refurb recently. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and can't help you enough. We cannot comment on the food as we did not eat there but the hotel itself, we could not fault... If you visit the hotel, make sure you go up to the roof terrace which we only stubmled across by accident and is lovely (and there is also a 3rd pool almost finished up there too)
We took advice from other Tripadvisor members and visited Triangulo, which is a lovely restaurant right on the doorstep of the hotel - very reasonable and lovely food. Another favourite of ours was a snack bar/restaurant also very close to the hotel called Retiro da Trindade. Don't be put off by the basic appearance of this bar as it's great for food, atmosphere and price! Many of the locals dine/drink here and they very much welcomed my attempts at basic Portuguese!!
The old town and Lagos as a whole is very pretty and pictureqsue, however, just beware that the bars and restaurants are much more expensive in the old town and the food is no where near as good as the above mentioned places which are in very close proximity to the hotel. One establishment that was nice in the old town, however, was called Adega Velha up one of the side streets in the town. The food was lovely and the waiter was also very friendly and knew more about Premiership football than the 4 of us put together!!! All the beaches are gorgeous.. very clean not very busy at all (altho it was late April when we visited). Some areas of the beach are also very secluded and appear almost 'private'!!!
Girls and mums take heed - if you are planning to take your heels then think twice if you're planning to walk up and down to the old town... altho it's only a 10-15 min walk, it is extremely steep... I ended up wearing my flip flops most nights and pushchairs/small kids can be a handful when trying to get up and down the hill to the old town while negotiating the cobbles!!
If you want to see a bit of The Algarve (away from the beach) then hire a car and drive into Portimao (Praia de Rocha) Monchique and the mountains - there is some amazing scenery and fantastic views. You will also get a feel for 'local Portugal life' too... pretty amazing.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EllieAndBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2009

Aqualuz is a clean, modern apartment-hotel about 10 minutes walk from the old walls which surround the town of Lagos.
Our studio apartment was spacious and very clean with a good shower and comfortable beds. Clean towels were provided daily and there was a decent supermarket 2 minutes walk up the road. There are 2 big pools and its nicely set out with the wooden walkway to the studios.
Staff were nice too, always said hello and were very professional & polite, but be aware they make you wear a swimming hat for the indoor pool!
My only complaint, which wasn't Aqualuz's fault - was that it was dead as a dodo in October, with a few old people milling about. We like relaxing and quiet but this was really, really quiet! Town wasn't so bad, there were plenty of super-cool backpackers and holiday makers and the weekend was busy. Lagos itself is full of narrow cobbled streets with crumbly yet pretty buildings, restaurants and interesting shops. Reminded us a bit of venice minus canals...
Overall, very pleasant but not the best place we've been.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Team_Kirby_Howse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Just returned from a weeks holiday at the Aqualuz hotel, had a great time. For a start the reception staff were extremely friendly & kind to us, nothing was too much trouble, could we have some extra pillows? They were there in no time! Could we please stay in our room on the last day for a few more hours? No problem and we didn't even have to pay extra! I do beleive that treating people the way you want to be treated yourself always works, be kind & generous, if you have a problem there is a certain way of dealing with it.
Our room was on the 3rd floor, studio, which was enormous, people complaining that there isn't enough room for cots etc. I can't understand, more than average sized rooms.They were cleaned every day & we found the whole place to be very quiet & relaxing. We hired a car & were very glad we did, we didn't have to walk far at all & got to see some of the Algarve which was great. Lagos itself is buzzing, lots going on & so many lovely places to eat & oh the fish!!! I ate a different fish meal every night & can't complain at all, brilliant place. All in all a lovely, quiet, relaxing holiday with great (cheap) food, would definitely come back to the Aqualuz.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2009

We have just returned from a week in the AquaLuz Apartments. It was our first time in Lagos, so we were unsure what to expect. Was glad that we booked a package deal that included transfer from the airport as Lagos is a good distance from Faro, taking over an hour (but that included dropping another couple of people off). Having said that, it was worth the trip. While, like some other reviewers commented, the desk staff, well the lady who checked us in, were not particularly friendly, we immediately liked the AquaLuz. The pool area is large, well maintained and most importantly fairly quiet, so no battle for sun beds. We had some lunch by the pool while we waited for our room to be ready and were surprised by the quality of the food. We got a one bed apartment (as opposed to the studio version) that overlooked the pool. The room was nice, clean and airy. We were very happy. The town centre is a lovely old town and only a ten min walk (all downhill). There is a fantastic selection of restaurants, and during the week we didnt have a bad meal. Now for the only downside to the AquaLuz. We had two completely sleepless nights due to the bedroom window being next to the tiled corridor, which made a terrible noise as people arrived/ departed at late/ early hours, especially the trolly bags. Also, the sound travelled alot between the rooms, from the one beside our room to that above. So, were kept awake by noises from other apts. Having said that, would we go back? Def will return to Lagos, but may check out other places - but if nothing of good quality at good price, would go back to AquaLuz, as overall it was a great experience. Final recommendation - No Patio, was by far the best of the restaurants we ate in, with great food, super service, nice setting. Would suggest booking in advance, well worth it

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LikeQuality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

We spend two weeks in the Aqualuz Suite Hotel, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The apartment was very comfortable. It was very spacious, clean (the maids cleaned and made the beds every single day), and it had a huge balcony overlooking the lovely swimming pools. It had televisions with some English channels in the living room and in the bedroom. However, the fridge did not refrigerate the food that well, and the shower did not have enough pressure for hot water. The hotel provided entertainment every night. My children enjoyed the parrot show and the ‘mini disco’! The food in the restaurant was fine, and not over expensive for a hotel. We paid 15 Euro for a 3-course meal and children under 5 years old was free and over 5 was half price.

The outdoor swimming pools were quite big and clean, and there were enough lounge beds for everybody. The indoor swimming pools, Jacuzzi and sauna, which guests could use once a day, were excellent.

The games room did have nice facilities to entertain children and adults. However, it had a funny smell!

I think the hotel is well located for the beaches and town. The hotel was within walking distance to two excellent beaches – Praia da Dona Anna e Meia Praia. Lagos town was also within walking distance, and it is a lovely place. Beautiful cobbled streets, with great bars and restaurants. The hotel is on a hill, but I did not find that to be a problem at all. We used to walk to town, and if I did not feel like pushing the pushing chair on the way back, I would get a taxi, which costs an average of £4 for the ride back to the hotel.

I did not have any problem with the hotel staff. They were very friendly and helpful. I am not sure whether the fact that I speak Portuguese helped; however, they were fine to me. A smile and being friendly can always take you a long way…

Overall, I really enjoyed my stay in the hotel, and I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 26Middlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2009

I booked this holiday largely based on the reviews here. The apartment was definitely clean and bright as other posters mentioned but this is what I expected from the price and star rating. So I didn't really see that as a bonus the way it was described by others. The bedroom in our one-bed apartment was fine if it was just two adults but with a travel cot wedged at the bottom of the bed (two singles pushed together) there was no space. The travel cot we were given was extrememly old and hard and we ended up all sleeping on the two single beds. The apartment was cleaned each day and the cleaners were friendly and helpful, giving extra towels when asked. Our bedroom was on the road side of the block and it took us a few nights to acclimatise to car headlights shining in the window but we got used to it.

On check-in the receptionist simply told us our room number and gave no information on breakfast times/facilities. The complex itself was a big let-down for us. The restaurant (one of the reasons we booked this complex was to have flexibility to eat in the apartment or the restaurant) was closed. Reception gave no explanation other than to say it wouldn't be open during our stay. The snack bar at the pool had a very limited menu and service was very slow any time we ordered there. We also booked breakfast to limit our cooking while on holidays. This was also disappointing. Three cereals, two fruit choices (one which seemed to be tinned fruit), scrambled egg, bacon, but quite hit and miss. Some mornings there was bacon, some mornings there wasn't. I noticed some people having a cup of coffee brought to them or other food that wasn't in the breakfast buffet but could never work out how they did that! Tea and coffee was from a machine which you made yourself. I got hot chocolate quite a few times despite pressing the coffee button! They had two high chairs. One had broken straps so was completely unsafe yet they persisted in offering it to us each morning. The other had straps that worked but were completely black from handling and never cleaned. Hard choice but we opted for the dirty working straps!

The complex has lots of steps (from the reception to the breakfast/pool area etc) and buggy access was very poor. We had to lift our buggy lots of times up/down steps. Eventually we figured out a step-free way from our room to breakfast that involved going down one floor in the lift, past reception, out a wooden walk-way across the whole complex, into another block of apartments, down a level in the lift, through 2 fire escape doors and up a ramp alongside the pool! No chance of nipping up to apartment in a hurry.

Lagos itself was pleasant enough although the location of the complex which is up a steep hill was very difficult with a buggy. Much more suited to singles/couples on their own. We found a few shorter routes to town/beach but again the reception staff were very unhelpful with advise on routes to avoid steps.

All in all, it was ok. Nothing special but I would not recommend this for anyone who has a buggy and/or likes a decent breakfast!

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PortoHol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.8 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 50 in Lagos
3,011 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
0.3 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 50 in Lagos
1,314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
0.1 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 50 in Lagos
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AquaLuz Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AquaLuz Suite Hotel

Property: AquaLuz Suite Hotel
Address: Rua Sacadura Cabral 8, Lagos 8600-619, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AquaLuz Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your AquaLuz Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqualuz Hotel Lagos
Aqualuz Suite Lagos
Hotel Aqualuz Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing