We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop accusing us of stealing your crappy breakfast food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AquaLuz Suite Hotel
Ranked #7 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stop accusing us of stealing your crappy breakfast food”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Rooms are nice enough, and kitchenettes are very well stocked. Some rooms (including ours) have windows that face the indoor hallway, and the crappy curtains leave a lot of light in your room when you're trying to sleep! Pool okay, but very very chilly. Very confusing layout, and two separate friends on two separate occasions were falsely accused of stealing food from the breakfast buffet. Come on, seriously? Otherwise, breakfast buffet was only OK. Also very wonky layout leaves it very congested.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahmontoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    300
    92
    20
    15
See reviews for
270
267
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Just come back from a week here. The hotel is lovely and I would definitely recommend to stay here. The rooms were clean and had all the essentials that were required. Although, we did ask for x2 extra pillows and got a kettle instead! But we got there in the end. We stayed on the ground floor (however would have liked a higher floor room) but can't complain as we still had a nice view of the pool. Found most of the staff friendly apart from x1 of the reception staff. Reading past reviews we were worried that the hotel would be noisy but we had nothing to worry about and because it was the end of season unfortunately the hotel had no entertainment on.
The hotel itself is about a 10 to 15 minute walk from the old town, which is lovely to explore. I would recommend getting the little train which goes around the town as it is only 2.50 Euros and it takes you up the cliff tops where you can have a look around. The beach is only a short walk away also. A lovely relaxing holiday- thank you.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a higher floor so that you get a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hsavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed in Agualuz Suite Hotel with my boyfriend in a one bedroom apartment for 6 nights in mid Sept 2013. We were very impressed with the apartment - very modern and really spacious.The apartment was cleaned & towels changed every day throughout our stay. I would recommend paying the little bit extra for a pool view as we really enjoyed sitting out on our balcony. There were 2 tv's in the apartment - a flat screen tv in living room & also a small tv in the bedroom (ITV, BBC & Sky news available!). Kitchen was well equipped. Air conditioning was very good - a unit in bedroom and also in living room. Pool area was always kept very clean and was peaceful & very relaxing. There were always plenty of sun loungers available throughout the day and they were comfy with an extra head rest that could also be used to provide some shade if needed! We had lunch in the poolside bar twice and the food was to a decent standard (nice pizzas!). Beer is half price at pool bar during happy hour! There was a laundry room downstairs and also a games room with pool tables and air hockey. There is also a small shop that sells sun cream, international newspapers & souvenirs. There is a Spar shop 5 mins walk away which is well stocked and also has a hairdresser, beautician, newsagent & ATM in the building. There are plenty of lovely restaurants & bars in Lagos itself. It's well within walking distance - leave the heels at home though! (you won't need them!). You can catch live music in some bars and sometimes on the streets outside restaurants & in the main square too. We always found the staff in Aqualuz to be very friendly & helpful. The only negative thing I can say about our stay was that the shower was a bit hit and miss. It was very powerful but the temperature of the water was not always as hot as we would have liked.. Overall we really enjoyed our trip to Lagos and would definitely recommend the Aqualuz Suite Hotel to our family & friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Siobhan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Just arrived back from staying at the AquaLuz and we want to ensure that previous reviews of the hotel and Lagos do not put you off!
On arrival at the AquaLuz we found the reception staff to be helpful and welcoming, pointing out on the map of Lagos all the local shops/beaches etc. We were delighted at our large one bedroom apartment, with a lovely view of the pool. The room was very modern and decorated so lovely we could not resist taking photo's to send back home (photo's uploaded). The kitchen had everything you needed and the TV had BBC and ITV. The bathroom was spacious enough and was exceptionally clean. Throughout our stay we found the reception, bar staff and cleaners to be friendly and helpful. The cleaners did a fantastic job and our room was spotless throughout the stay, rooms cleaned and fresh towels and bed linen every day.
We visited the 'Club' bar twice during our stay and found it to be reasonably priced and relaxing, if your looking for a party atmosphere there is an array of lively bars in Lagos.
We hired a car during our stay, which reception organised for us and used the free hotel car park. We didn't use the hotel pool as we spent our time exploring the Algarve but it seemed to have plenty of sunbeds.
The hotel is 5/10 minute in to the center of Lagos and we often needed the walk home to walk off the mojito's!
Overall a very enjoyable stay at the AquaLuz!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just back from staying at the Aqualuz suite hotel.
Was in Lagos last year 2012 stayed in a Hotel which was terrible compared to here.
I will say the room was lovely & a balcony over looking the pool.
The reception staff & the cleaning staff were very nice not so fussed on the staff at the pool bar.
The Aqualuz is a little out of town you could walk down to the town but not back. I did find the taxi's r very expensive for so short a distance & they are not pleasant.
The beach is beautiful & the town is as well if u go here I advice bring flat shoes to wear at all times. Some of the restaurants are nice & some are not so nice do be careful we're you go into I do advice to look at the menu before hand. There is a beautiful Italian ice cream shop if you like ice cream it is a must called Crema di Gelato any 1 would tell you were to go.
I would say I will be back at the Aqualuz in the next few years I do recommend here & Portugal is very nice.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janunitedkingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

First off, as other reviewers have mentioned, this is not a 4 star hotel - the apartments are basic. However I found all the staff to be very friendly & the place is kept very clean. Rooms do have air con, a small TV with a few English channels and a utensil equipped kitchen with a dual hob. We stayed in the second week of September so it was very peaceful with ample sun loungers to choose from. There is a decent gym with enough free weight equipment for anyone wishing to keep their training schedule intact - you can use this once a day for free and they have a sauna and aerobic classes too. The Bar serves food although I only had a pizza there on one occassion so cannot say with authority what the fare was like. Happy hour is between 3-6 when all beers are half price. There is a shop onsite which sells British & Irish papers as well as sun cream, towels etc. There are also scuba diving sessions held in the larger pool (free) with the option to go out on a dive for 115 Euros. The Aqualuz is located at the top of a hill with the town situated at the foot in the ruins of an old fort. It is roughly a five minute walk. It is a quaint little place with plenty of good eating to be had. There are several small beaches close by that are worth exploring too as well as the Marina and the local fish market, which if you are interested in fish is well worth a wander round - many wonderful speices that I have never seen before! Overall a relaxing and enjoyable break.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGunBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We loved our huge apt.
The double bed was two large singles.
The view of the pool from the big baloney was gorgeous. Pool was clean but cold but it was 29 outside so no complaints.
The bar man in the Irish bar was excellent. Really good caipirinhas! And huge whiskeys.
Buffet was fine.
There was a minor error in the bill but corrected without problems.
We would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie_1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.8 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#15 of 52 in Lagos
3,160 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 52 in Lagos
1,389 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vilabranca Apartments
Vilabranca Apartments
#16 of 52 in Lagos
671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.4 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AquaLuz Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AquaLuz Suite Hotel

Property: AquaLuz Suite Hotel
Address: Rua Sacadura Cabral 8, Lagos 8600-619, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AquaLuz Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your AquaLuz Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqualuz Hotel Lagos
Aqualuz Suite Lagos
Hotel Aqualuz Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing