We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
AquaLuz Suite Hotel
Ranked #8 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2011

This is a nice hotel from which to explore the beautiful Lagos town. We had a 1 bed apartment with kitchenette and a pool view. The lounge / kitchenette and balcony area are a good size, however the one bedroom is slightly out of proportion to that and was quite a tight fit for 2 adults and 1 cot...The kitchen area was clean / modern and reasonably equipped with utensils / pots and pans with a 2 ring hob, sink, fridge, microwave and toaster. There were no large tea and coffee mugs (so take your own or buy them for a euro each from the supermarket) and there wasn't a kettle, there was a nice metallic milk jug - which I assume was for boiling your water in, that did the job. The furniture is modern and decor fresh and clean, although the sofa isn't the most comfortable in the world..Generally a nice spacious apartment for 2 adults and a little one. The staff were very helpful, allowing us to keep a high chair in the room for the week, extra bedding for the baby, directions and info etc..

The poolside is excellent - with a large pool with good size bar / food area and access to a very high quality Gym, which includes an Olympic size heated pool and smaller one for the kids (just remember you need a swimming cap to use the gym pools and beach towels for main pool (so take your own or pay for theirs). There is also laundry room access and a playroom for the kids. Due to the time of year, we pretty much had the run of the hotel, so my only concern would be whether in the height of season there is enough space to fit everyone..however I assume they use the banks of grass. However it has two good size pools and certainly looked impressive / clean and relaxing.

Walking into Lagos is a good 10 - 15 minute walk and if you want to use the shortcut will need to go up some steps (not a problem if theres two of you to carry the buggy) and it is uphill on the way back - but unless you have a walking issue, its a really lovely walk down and whilst there, plenty of little alleys, full of shops, bars and restaurants. There are two or three decent sixe alcove beach areas, but you will need a car for the main beach run There are a couple of bars / restaurant / coffee bars and small supermarkets within a few minutes walk and 5 minutes drive from a very large supermarket but generally it is quieter around the hotel directly..

Overall Lagos is a peaceful relaxing holiday destination and I think the Aqualuz is a great base to explore it from.

Room Tip: Take your own swim caps if using the gym pool
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank KilosUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (687)
There are newer reviews for AquaLuz Suite Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

498 - 504 of 687 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2011

We chose this hotel after reading lots of positive reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not dissapointed. It's a lovely place to stay at, apartments are huge, nice and modern and staff & service is also very good. Pool area is always clean and it was never too crowded (although we were there in September so can't say how it is in July or August). As a guest you can benefit from free use of hotel gym, jaccuzi, indoor swimming pool and sauna. Price for this hotel is also affordable so I would highly recommend staying in Aqualuz.
Lagos as a town itself is also very nice and you have a choice of many wonderful beaches to go to.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank elnino80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Excellent Apartments, clean with all the in-room facilities you could need. Nice pool area, not too crowded with a pleasant atmosphere. Staff were very helpful/friendly and the poolside bar/food were perfect for daytime snacks. Would recommend and revisit again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reviewer_Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2010

We stayed in the self catering apartments for a week and had a very pleasant time. The hotel is located about 10-15 minutes walk from the town centre and 10 minutes walk to the beach. The rooms were big and clean with individual balconies. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was clean and well equipped. The living room / dining area was nice enough although the furniture was a little dated. The hotel has two nice pools and plenty of sun loungers (some set on the grassed terraces). The bar was nice for a pre-dinner port and the hotel staff were courteous and friendly. The only real annoyance is the hotel lay out. There are only two routes to access reception and the pool area from each floor so unless you are situated near these areas then you will be doing a fair bit of walking. But a minor fault really. Overall would recommend though it's at the 3 star end of 4 star in my opinion.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RomanticBreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

I spent ages trying to find a hotel in Lagos within easy reach to the beach and town and with a kids club for my 3 year old. I was really pleased I spent the time to find it as it turned out to be as good as i'd hoped. When I booked the hotel I emailed to see if they could arrange our collection at the airport, if they could upgrade us to a pool view apartment and if they could offer us a double bed rather than the twins that were advertised. The taxi was waiting for us (1 hours' trip 68euros) and the upgraded room was too!
Apartment: Absolutely nothing bad to say about the 1 bedroomed apartment. Clean, spacious, comfortable with a TV in the main room and in our bedroom - both showing ITV and BBC1 - handy when you have to come back to the apartment early for kids or for watching the England games!!! The view over the pool was also great and the balcony was a good size with handy railings built in to the design to hang your wet towels. The self catering facilities were ok. Toaster and microwave which was a godsend but no kettle and tiny cups which were no good for a morning brew. The pans were too heavy to heat on the electric rings so we couldn't cook anything on the hob for the whole time we were there. I had to use the microwave for all our food which was extremely difficult and costly as i ended up buying microwaveable stuff (rice, pasta) which costs more. That's probably the only downside to the facilities although the cafe did have basic snacks and pizzas so it wasn't a complete disaster. The ceaners visited daily and did a great job.
Pools: The pools were clean but very cold (as is the sea) and the kids pool was excellent. It was deep enough at one end for adults to stand and still be under water to a decent level rather than just to their knees which is normally the case in kids pools. This meant you could spend a good deal of time in the pool with the kids if that was what you wanted to do. The adults pool is a great size and although children do go in it, it's not suitable for the smaller kids so adults can enjoy it relatively child free.
Kids club: We went in the first 2 weeks of September so there were not many kids around and things were obviously quieter than in the main summer months. This meant that the 'kids club' they claimed to have wasn't exactly what we'd hoped for. They did have a nice covered area by the pool for children to go and play with games and puzzles and paints etc which was supervised, but hardly any kids were there. My husband or I had to spend some time with our little one playing with him so he could get used to going on his own. In the end he found more friends playing in the pool than at the club. The club may be better in the middle of the summer.
Cafe/Bar: The cafe area was good and the food was nice. As it was quite late in the season, the main bar and restaurant were either not opened or no one went so drinks and food and the entertainment provided, was all at the cafe area which was fine and rather pleasant. There's a games room, gym and indoor pools too.
Location: There were a few really nice restaurants within a few minutes walk of the hotel and also a really handy little supermarket just round the corner as well as a couple of bars and cafes. The location is excellent. Town and beach were a 10-15 minute walk away.

Overall an excellent stay, great value and highly recommended. We'd definintely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank The_Lepleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

stayed at the Aqualuz for a week of relaxation, which is what we got. Apartments spotlessly clean and tidy, pool and sunbed lovely and not busy. Walk into to lagos not too far but the Spar hill tests your knees on the way home! would highly recommend and will be going back!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunlovingscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Just back after 2 weeks stay. Very clean and roomy apartments, we were upgraded to one bed apartment from studio. Cleaned every day. Quite near town, though walk back was uphill and might not be to everyones liking. Pool area good with plenty of sunbeds. Supermarket and bars very near.
Lagos excellent with many very good restaurants.
Both resort and hotel highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amac0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.8 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#15 of 52 in Lagos
3,213 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#8 of 52 in Lagos
1,430 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vilabranca Apartments
Vilabranca Apartments
#16 of 52 in Lagos
686 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.1 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 52 in Lagos
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AquaLuz Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AquaLuz Suite Hotel

Address: Rua Sacadura Cabral 8, Lagos 8600-619, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Price Range: $59 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AquaLuz Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your AquaLuz Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqualuz Hotel Lagos
Aqualuz Suite Lagos
Hotel Aqualuz Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing