We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great! ”

Restaurante a Barrigada
Ranked #83 of 478 Restaurants in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $34
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: we are tipical portuguese restaurant close to the harbor. We only work whit fresh food, fresh fish and meat. We are relaxed restaurant, we like childreen and we have no clients but friends. we open from 12 to 15 and 19 to 22 and we close at monday.
Reviewed June 13, 2019 via mobile

We had a great evening. The staff was lovely and extraordinarily kind. We chose to get the ‚all you can eat‘ and always had fresh and tasty fish, potatoes and salat on our table. It was definitely the best value for money we got in Portugal during our vacation. We are both very happy with our visit.

Thank you and keep up the great spirit!

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank StephanFu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
232pauloo, Proprietário at Restaurante a Barrigada, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your review.
I'm very happy you enjoy it.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (806)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 806 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2019 via mobile

Good restaurant but service was very, very slow. The "barrigada" is advertised as an all you can eat 4 types of fish but it takes so long for the first order to arrive that I doubt if anyone will have the patience to wait. And no one offered a second serving anyway. I would not have this dish again.... my wife ordered a monkfish and it was very good. Price for 2 with desert and 2 drinks was 50 euros.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank PAULO V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
232pauloo, Proprietário at Restaurante a Barrigada, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2019

Thank you for your review, I'm very sorry that you are disappoint whit the all you can eat, at the moment we and most restaurant in town have not egnaf staff and it needs longer, I'm very sorry.
Kind regards

Paulo Oliveira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2019 via mobile

We were taken here for lunch by our tour guide- in all honesty probably would never found it ourselves or thought to look twice. We had the “all you can eat fish”, plus wine and dessert, it was seriously outstanding. The variety of fish we had were grilled and salted to perfection- nothing fancy but it did not need to be. The fish comes with salad and potatoes, the staff were friendly and great atmosphere all around. Definitely a hidden gem that everyone needs to check out! Reasonably priced as well.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Yanar711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
232pauloo, Proprietário at Restaurante a Barrigada, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2019

Thank you very much for your review.
Its always a pleasure.
Kind regards

Paulo Oliveira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019 via mobile

The swordfish was OK. Not worth what I paid for it. Could've gotten better quality seafood back home. Bus boy was rude when I simply asked him if a particular table was available. Just about walked out at that point and I should have. Rest of the service staff seemed friendly. Wouldn't come back though.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank LonelyRonPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2019 via mobile

Driving by you would never think by looking at this location that it is nothing but a drive thru but inside it was clean with wine glasses on the table. They have a special everyday for €13.95 which is all you can eat grilled fish. They pick the fish and when we were there it was breem, sprats, sardines and salmon. You get all four on a plate and it was all we could eat. The other side of the menu was fresh fish sold by the kilo. They brought out the fresh turbot and sea bass and we ordered both. There was also a slab of red snapper which was ordered. All arrived at the table grilled perfectly. You have to remove the bones yourself but it was all so tasty. It all comes with family style potatoes and a tomato, cucumber and onion salad. Very simple fresh food and we enjoyed it all. Buying fish by the kilo is pricey but it was well worth it. The daily special was well worth the money and is a bargain. Don’t be put off by the outside the inside was terrific.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank ChrisR195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulo O, Proprietário at Restaurante a Barrigada, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2019

Hello
Thank you very much for tour review.
I'm very happy you enjoy it.
All good for you and your family.
Kind regards
Paulo Oliveira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante a Barrigada also viewed

Lagos, Faro District
 
Lagos, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurante a Barrigada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing