We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking Value”
Review of Hotel Marina Rio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Marina Rio
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed here after it was refurbed, can't fault the accommodation or staff, very clean, limited sunbathing places but the beach is next door so no complaints from me.
Have a walk into town for food, you'll be amazed at the quality of the local food, We enjoyed it, I think you will

Room Tip: Pick a Marina view.......Envy the boats
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OllieWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (628)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Marina Rio
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 628 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights last week. The hotel is spotlessly clean. Breakfast has a good choice and varied daily. Staff are friendly and helpful. The products in the room are in my opinion exceptional for a 4 star hotel - especially conditioner and body lotion. Very much appreciated.Wifi and safe are also free to use, which doesn't often happen. The rooftop pool is heated and the area is very well kept. We had a room overlooking the bus station and enjoyed watching the comings and goings there. Noise was not a problem.

Room Tip: I would recommend the rooms overlooking the bus station - they would get evening sun during the summ...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina R, General Manager at Hotel Marina Rio, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Madam,

Thank you for writing this kind review and also for filling our Guest Comment card.

We are very pleased that you have appreciated our facilities and also the choice available at breakfast, which changes daily.

Thank you also for pointing out that Standard rooms, overlooking the bus station, are not as noisy as one could expect.

We hope to see you in the future and remain with our best regards,

Gabriele Gomes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The Hotel is very well located (near Marina Rio port and city centre). In the back is the bus station - very usefull for those who travel from Lisbon or other cities. I definitely suggest to book a room with view at the Port, even it is more expensive. (the balcony view worth it, and you don't hear any noise from the bus station). The pool at the top floor is tiny, but when I was in one morning there were few people. The breakfast was pretty good, but the room was small and one time we had to wait to have a sit. Overall the hotel is a very good choice to stay in Lagos.

Room Tip: Book a room with view at the Port.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CSva86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel, spotlessly clean, well designed and excellent staff. The breakfasts were delicious with plenty of choice. The hotel sits in a perfect location, directly facing the magnificent marina and not far to some very good restaurants. Just behind is the main bus station but this does not intrude on the hotel. The double-glazed windows throughout ensure that traffic noise is not a problem. Rooms on the front of the hotel, all with balconies, are obviously preferable. We know Largos well: this is far and away the best choice!

Peter Jones, Darlington

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulJonesDarlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina R, General Manager at Hotel Marina Rio, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Sir,

We feel very honoured to have received such positive reviews from a Lagos connoisseur!

We hope to see you again in the future and remain with our best regards,

Gabriele Gomes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed here two nights low season. Excellent hotel very pleased with it would definitely stay here again. Spotlessly clean,staff very helpful and charming. Had gluten free bread for me as requested for breakfast.Coffee excellent at breakfast rarity in any hotel. Location very good situated on town side of marina very convenient to all restaurants and town. Heated pool and sun terrace on roof, lovely views of town and marina.Worthwhile paying small supplement for room looking over marina. Room good everything you would require.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I stayed at this property for a week commencing 24th October with a friend and was not disappointed. I had chosen this hotel after reading previous reviews and it exceeded my expectations on most levels. The hotel is ideally situated just a 10 minute stroll from the many shops and restaurants in Lagos and close to countless other attractions. The railway station is a 5 minute walk away, behind the marina which is opposite the hotel and the bus station even closer - it is immediately behind the hotel.

The hotel is spotlessly clean and the rooms although not huge are adequate for a comfortable stay. The rooms have a small flat screen TV with some English channels along with a small fridge and tea making facilities. There is a safety deposit box in the wardrobe and there is no charge for either the fridge or safe which is unusual as most hotels seem to delight in charging extra for these. Rooms have twin beds and toiletries are provided in the bathroom along with bathrobes. A nice touch for a small hotel. The only downside is the closeness of the very busy road outside. The front of the hotel has a lovely view of the promenade and marina but the road noise is evident until 1 o'clock in the morning and starts again at 6! it is impossible to sleep with the patio doors open. The rooms at the rear would be quieter but the view of the bus station isn't the best view either...It wouldn't put me off staying again as everything else was pretty much perfect but I would take earplugs to ensure a decent nights sleep and opt for the marina view rooms.

Breakfast is buffet style and although there is no full English there is plenty of choice with a mix of hot and cold items. Staff are very friendly and helpful in fact nothing is too much trouble. There is a small sunbathing terrace with a plunge pool on the roof which had plenty of sunbeds for the size of the hotel and we had the pool area to ourselves several afternoons.

Lagos has plenty to offer and although it wasn't my first visit to Lagos, it was even nicer than I remembered it. The restaurants we tried were all very good especially Dom Sebastian's which I first visited in 1986! Portugal has in my opinion retained it's original charm and managed to keep it's own identity which is sadly not the case in some parts of Spain. The absence of tatty souvenir shops and greasy spoon cafes serving British food is the thing that makes Lagos so different and I can't wait to make a return trip.

Room Tip: Choose a marina view but take earplugs if you are a light sleeper
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank julie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

First rate hotel with reasonable pricing. Excellent location next to old town and overlooking the water. Just walk across the bridge from the train station and you are here. Nice rooftop lounge area with pool. Great for sun bathing and reading a book. Would highly recommend to everyone. We spent three nights here and enjoyed it very much.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the water. If you get a room on the backside of the hotel you overlook t...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.0 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 52 in Lagos
426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 52 in Lagos
3,221 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#9 of 52 in Lagos
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
1.3 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#2 of 52 in Lagos
374 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Rio

Address: Hotel Marina Rio Avenida dos Descobrimentos | Apdo. 388, Lagos 8600-645, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lagos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: $82 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marina Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Marina Rio Lagos
Albergaria Marina Rio Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing