We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly positioned!”
Review of Hotel Marina Rio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Marina Rio
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfectly positioned!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was our second visit to Lagos and we were returning to the Hotel Marina Rio because we were so impressed on our first visit. We loved the small size of the hotel, only 36 rooms, giving you that personal experience and not part of the masses! The room met our every need - TV, air con, fridge for those cool beers on the balcony and the end of day, safe and large bed. The en suite, with shower and toiletries was more than adequate. Hair dryer is included!

The staff, from reception, breakfast room and cleaners, were always very friendly, polite and informative.

Breakfast catered for all needs and international palettes - selection of fruits, yogurts, cereals, cold meats, charcuterie, cheeses, eggs (different ways!), bacon, sausages, beans, juices, variety of different freshly baked bread and rolls, jams and marmalades as well as pastries, juices and choice of hot drinks and teas.

The roof top pool and sun terrace, although not large, was perfect for cooling off and was often very quiet so it felt as if you had your own pool and thee was no scrabbling for a sun lounger!

The location was very good as it was within walking distance to the old town, shops and numerous cages and restaurants. It is worth having a marina view so that you can watch the variety of boats with a glass of chilled wine or beer! There is a main road at the front but it really didn't bother us and the benefits of this hotel certainly outweighed the minor inconveniences

There was free Internet and wifi available in the rooms which was great although the residents wifi did go down during our stay which was inconvenient.

I would highly recommend this lovely little hotel - it is a real gem and find. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Lagos

Room Tip: Choose a Marina view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HoleyMoley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    190
    33
    7
    8
See reviews for
38
417
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel is located overlooking the marina in Lagos. It isn't too close to the noise of the town centre nor too far away. The roof top terrace, with pool provides a nice, quiet getaway of lovely views and a relaxing atmosphere. Spending parts of most days on this roof terrace with the majority of time being its only occupants, it felt like a private terrace!
The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent also, with many things available and kept well stocked.

The best thing about this hotel were the staff. Incredibly helpful and friendly, allowing us to borrow a travel plug for the week at no cost, giving us suggestions for places to eat that would give us a real flavour of Lagos. The recommended places did not disappoint! Some of the most delicious meals we had and for a very reasonable price.
We were thrilled by this hotel and would recommend anyone to stay here!
Well done Marina Rio!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lambo1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Lagos-located Marina Rio has a four-star designation, and while some holidaymakers may quibble with this status, the hotel remains a comfortable and most appealing accommodation, one well worth seeking out when planning your next Algarve vacation.

The Marino Rio has much going for it, not least which are its central and highly convenient location and its value-minded price. Concerning location, the Rio is situated directly in front of the bus station and a short walk from the train station. While the placement next to the bus terminal doesn't make for the most charming setting, especially for those staying in rooms without water views, it nevertheless makes for a very practical setting for those people without their own wheels. Moreover, the hotel's guests that enjoy water views (be sure to secure this when booking) cope with some street noise, but are treated to smashing views of the comings and goings of yachts and other water craft while on a deck that is surprisingly roomy and comfortable. We enjoyed our water-facing room for a most reasonable 125 euros per night which included breakfast.

Concerning our room and the Rio's public spaces, it's the latter that stands out. That's not to suggest we were disappointed with our room (a double with twin beds) as it was reasonably roomy, tidy, and came with cable TV, an unstocked mini-bar (in need of better cooling), and a bathroom that is best remembered for its bidet and full-length bathtub. While the Marina's bedrooms won't qualify for any design awards, we were struck by the hotel's roomy and creatively designed hallways, its top-floor small pool and patio. While the pool was rather small and shallow, it proved a refreshing diversion, and there are splendid views of greater Lagos from the hotel's top floor. Downstairs, the hotel features a small bar, roomy lounge, and a small, rather private room with a computer for public use. In short, the Marina Rio,while not stretching the boundaries of hotel design. has a rather pleasing functionality about it.

Many travelers place much stock in breakfast, and here the Marino Rio fares pretty well. We enjoyed a wide range of fresh breads, veggies, eggs over easy, juices, and other temptations too numerous to recall. Unfortunately, the breakfast room itself is non-descript and too cramped. Indeed, on two mornings, we had to wait a short while for a table to become free. Another noteworthy aspect concerns coffee, and lovers of this brew will likely be disappointed by the beverage on offer at the Marina Rio.

Lastly, a few words are in order as regards service at the Marina Rio. We found the service consistently friendly and professional, a far cry from the characterization about same offered in travel writer Rick Steves' review of the Rio. As far as we can tell, service is one of the hotel's strengths - one key feature in this very appealing accommodation in the lively and friendly resort town of Lagos.

Room Tip: Be sure to reserve a room that faces the water and marina - well worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claremay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We have been to lagos many times but first time at this hotel, we have just returned from a 14 nite stay, great location 10 min walk to town centre, 5 min to the marina, 10 min to beach,
On check in at hotel we were greeted by pleasant staff, quick & hassle free check in, while a room facing the marina is a nicer view, the view over looking the bus station is good if your a people watcher, rooms cleaned every day, air con great, fridge in room a good touch, all areas of hotel clean & tidy, lovely small roof top pool, plenty of chairs & sun loungers, breakfast is served in a lovely bright room, simple food, but everything you need & the hot selection good too & all well stocked, we loved this hotel and will be our hotel of choice when we next return.
Excellent stay

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sallysteveh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, very friendly and helpful staff fluent in English. 10 mins walk to the beach, 5 mins walk to restaurants, 2 mins walk to supermarket. Rooms are a little dated but are big and clean. Free fast wifi. Breakfast is basic but fresh and tasty. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greystones, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We spent two nights here. Lagos is brilliant. Vibrant touristy town. The hotel is about 5-10 minutes from the centre. Amazing view of the marina. Rooms were clean and well kept. Hotel is a really good 3 star but no more. Breakfast options were limited and cramped. A very small breakfast room for the numbers that were there. The hotel has a lovely small pool on the roof as well as a lounging area. No parking available. Great spot for Lagos for a few days. Definitely book a room with a sea/marina view, otherwise you're looking over a bus station.

Room Tip: Request a room with a marina view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diarmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was our first time in Portugal (LAGOS) We stayed at the MARINA RIO Hotel for 2wks in july2013.We loved everything about the hotel ,very clean,friendly staff,peaceful. Mainly adults stay here which we loved about it.Balcony veiw of the marina is a must ,worth paying extra for it.Only minutes from the cafes ,restaraunts ,shops and the old town.We definatly be back at this hotel and lovely LAGOS.

Room Tip: When booking make sure you book a marina veiw........
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#13 of 51 in Lagos
3,098 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
394 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 51 in Lagos
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
1.2 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
1.3 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#2 of 51 in Lagos
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Rio

Property: Hotel Marina Rio
Address: Hotel Marina Rio Avenida dos Descobrimentos | Apdo. 388, Lagos 8600-645, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#5 Best Value Hotel in Lagos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Marina Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Marina Rio Lagos
Albergaria Marina Rio Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing