We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another memorable stay”
Review of Hotel Marina Rio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Marina Rio
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Our 3rd stay at this superbly located hotel. The staff at all levels continue to be courteous and helpful in a relaxed,easy way.Breakfasts are excellent with ample choice.Our room overlooking the marina was an excellent viewing spot, shaded against the afternoon sun or a session around the roof top pool remains an ideal alternative.One of the hotels strong points is the huge number of guests who return year after year as we shall.

Room Tip: Marina view rooms give added interest watching the coming and goings of the many yachts of all sizes...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (628)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Marina Rio
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 628 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

I've just returned from a four night stay at this hotel and really enjoyed my stay. The reception staff are all friendly and helpful and speak excellent English, the rooms were comfortable and clean, the breakfast was good with plenty of choice and the location is within walking distance of both the marina and the town centre.
We had a back room overlooking the bus station as there were no harbour view rooms available, and had no problems with noise. The rooftop terrace is very nice and there was plenty of sun loungers available.
All in all I would recommend this hotel. If I had to make the smallest criticism I would say that the rugs on the tiled floors in the rooms have the potential to be a bit dangerous, we slipped on them several times. But this is the only negative I can think of and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueCrocus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have stayed for many years at the Marina Rio. We have just come back from our holiday. What is so good about this hotel is the wonderful friendly staff that have also been there for years too! From the maids who clean the rooms, the reception desk and the owners who just make our stay. The Breakfasts at the hotel offer such a wide range of food to suit all tastes. This year I must admit we took root on the sun deck by the lovely pool, there is also a sun terrace to relax on. We always stay in a room facing the harbour and love looking at the boats coming in and out our friends always stay at the back overlooking the bus station and have not found the bus station a problem as they say it is very quiet after the buses stop running so have not been disturbed from sleep.
I can honestly say it almost feels like a second home! We have already booked our next years holiday there.

Room Tip: If you would like the sun on your balcony for most of the day choose the back. If you want to have...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kepinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Marina Rio for a week at the beginning of September. We loved the hotel, the location was excellent, only a short walk from the centre of town and the beach. The staff were very friendly and were very helpful as this was our first visit to Lagos. The hotel amenities were also impressive, the pool was a decent size and a perfective sun trap, as was our balcony. Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit Lagos, we will be returning next year :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliceG1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at Marina Rio for 5 nights and we enjoyed every bit of our stay. We had a harbor facing room and quite frankly think this is the only viable option at this hotel, otherwise you'll end up with a view of the bus stop. Even with the harbor facing rooms are next to a very busy and loud street. This is only a problem if you want to relax on your balcony. When the patio door is closed, you don't hear much of the noise.

I highly recommend against parking your car in the hotel's garage. The garage is super tiny and you must always ask the hotel staff when you want to take your car out. The cost of 10 euros per day is also pretty steep, considering that there is a lot of free parking nearby (the last 2 days, we took our car out of the garage and parked it behind the harbor).

One final nitpick: wi-fi in the rooms would be a huge plus.

All in all, we loved this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: You must choose a harbor facing room. Otherwise you'll have a view of the bus station, which is...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marco L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I was slightly apprehensive about booking this hotel because of its proximity to the bus station. Do not be deterred! It was not noisy at all despite our balcony overlooking station car park and the hotel fronting on to a main road. The location was perfect for us being within easy, flat walk distance from train station (5 mins) and obviously bus station even nearer. Lagos old town was a pleasant 10 min walk away and there are several beaches within walking distance. The hotel lays on a free minibus to several other beaches a little further away. Importantly, there is no need to hire a car if you stay here as there is so much to see and do nearby or utilising the excellent public transport. The staff were professional, friendly and extremely helpful. The hotel was absolutely spotless everywhere, all of the time. We have stayed in hotels of various qualities in many different countries around the world but would rate this amongst one of the best for comfort and convenience. Would love to return. Nicky.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickynose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hotel was exactly what we wanted. Overlooking the marina, but walking distance to the restaurants in the old town area.
The hotel is kept very clean, is run very efficiently, and provided everything we needed. The pool is small, but clean, well maintained, and heated (very important when the sea is icey!).
This is not a resort thank goodness, and is not run like one, we loved it and were very happy to have booked it. The hotel has an almost old fashioned feel to it, maybe due to their attention to detail & customer relations. When I asked to check out the night before our departure as we were leaving early, we were told they would lay breakfast at 6:15am so we could eat before we departed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anne_parker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.0 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 52 in Lagos
426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 52 in Lagos
3,221 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#9 of 52 in Lagos
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
1.3 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#2 of 52 in Lagos
374 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Rio

Address: Hotel Marina Rio Avenida dos Descobrimentos | Apdo. 388, Lagos 8600-645, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lagos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: $82 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Marina Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Marina Rio Lagos
Albergaria Marina Rio Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing