We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Visit here !! : )) Love it !!”
Review of Hotel Marina Rio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Marina Rio
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
FIFE
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Third Visit here !! : )) Love it !!”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Excellent location .Central to local train station , bus station and shops and restaurants . Beautiful view of marina . Within walking distance of beach and local history attractions . We visited the zoo a short trip away on the bus and went for a lovely train ride to the zoo marine which is fabulous for all ages .
Hotel is spotlessly clean with helpfull , attentive staff . Reception is available 24 hours . Nothing is too much trouble .
Buffet style breakfast is delicious and has everything you could ask for ! It really sets you up for the day .
There is a lovely roof top pool with plenty loungers for relaxing .
We love The Marina Ro it has everything you could need from a hotel in an area that has everthing you could ask for in a holiday : )).

Room Tip: Ask for a marina facing view , As the back of thr hotel faces onto a bus depot : ))
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunseekersscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    190
    32
    7
    8
See reviews for
38
414
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2011

The hotel and staff are truly delightful and deserve every positive comment previously made by others. We had a room overlooking the bus sation which I was unconcerned about as it got the sun during the day and evening. However the reason I have chosen to write is that at night the locals chose to use the back of the hotel as a urinal. This seemed to be the done thing as it happened on a regular basis (under the hotel balconies, next to the waffel van and against a traffic sign). I assure you I was not craning my neck over the balcony, these people were in full view. Some of the men would relieve theselves and then get into cars and drive off and I wondered if they were connected to the market at the side of the hotel. In one instance I watched a man cleaning a bus which was equidistant from the bus depot to the back of the hotel and he chose to pass urine underneath the hotel. Also witnessed a woman bringing her three girls there and another woman caught short. I cannot believe that nobody else has witnessed this behaviour as it seems to be such a familiar habit.Taints a good hotel.

Room Tip: choose a room at the front facing marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mumbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We have just returned from a stay at this hotel after reading great things on Tripadvisor............and were not disappointed!
Lovely location (room booked with view across the Marina), very pleasant staff who were most accommodating and willing to help with any little (or big) request where possible.
The rooms were clean and tastefully decorated with little extras like dressing gowns, toiletries and a free safe in the room. Towels were changed every day and beach towels could be hired for a deposit of only 10 euros.

Breakfast was fab with a good selection of food from cereals, bread, meats, cheese, cakes, pastries, coffee machine, toaster, jams and not forgetting a special hot food supplied every day (boiled eggs or bacon, beans and scrambled egg).

The pool on the roof was lovely, with some good views
In conclusion, a great place to stay in Lagos; you won't be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Southeastcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

The essentials: clean, comfortable, well maintained, high quality unlimited breakfast buffet. The room comfortably held two splendidly comfortable adjoining single beds, a fridge (empty, not a minibar), near-silent aircon, a kettle (with a mercifully limited supply of execrable instant coffee). The bathroom was spacious and well-maintained: it had bathrobes but the toiletries were low-rent and the extractor fan rattled. At the rear of the hotel, the coach station could be so noisy our balcony (on the top, 3rd floor) was sometimes unusable: the drying rack was a bonus. But the pool (on the roof, set in and fenced in glass) seemed less affected: the pool was small three swimmers would be a crowd. It's a ten minute stroll to town over the traditional uneven pavement—in the evening past numerous unthreatening hawkers. Public areas were fine, neither tacky nor minimalist and reception was efficient and well able to cope with my non-existent Portuguese. Free transit to the big sandy beach and a prettier rocky one.

Room Tip: By the rack rates a front marina view room (surely quieter despite the mainish road) must be a barga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oncewasgrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed here for a week's beach holiday with our two teenage girls. The hotel is very comfortable and spotless. The efficient air conditioning was welcome when the temperature outside was 35 degrees. The rooms were thoroughly cleaned daily. Breakfasts were excellent - plentiful and varied. Free internet access in the lounge is a big plus. Location is perfect; within walking distance of everything. We started each day with a run along the Avenida to the fort at the end of the old town. Initially disappointed with a rear room with a view over the bus station, as no marina view rooms available, but that didn't spoil the holiday. It's a really peaceful place in the midst of a delightful lively and historic town. Very quiet at night. Rooftop pool was small but the pool area was clean and comfortable with wonderful 360 degree views of the town. Our girls found it great for sunbathing. The hotel is very close to good fish restaurants along the Avenida and a short walk into town. Would recommend the Taberna de Lagos in the old town - good food and fantastic live music. We loved Lagos and would come back to the Marina Rio when visiting again. Highlight of the trip was a half day on the Bom Dia boat - tour of the sea caves nearby, sail out to Alvor and then swim in the Atlantic - fantastic day.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelcat100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop's Stortford, UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed here for 4 days in June for a family celebration. The Marina Rio is a clean and well run establishment that offers everything you could possibly want from a short break. The breakfast was good and varied and location excellent as you could get to most central places within a short walk. The room cosmetically was a bit basic but did the job. It was clean, everything worked and there were nice finishing touches like sewing kit and bath robe. If I was going back to Lagos and needed to stay at a hotel I wouldn't hesitate in staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford,Essex
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

The hotel is in a superb position and nothing in Lagos is too far away. Our marina view room had a wonderful view and the balcony was very well used. Nice furniture and a tiled worktop that was ideal for making our lunchtime sandwich. Tea & coffee making facilities in the room so a nice cup of tea on the balcony before breakfast was welcome.
The pool area on the roof was very small but very nicely furnished. We always got sunbeds as it wasn't very widely used. There is a shuttle service to the beach each morning and beach towels are available for a deposit.
The breakfast was very good and all the staff couldn't have been more friendly.
All in all a wonderful holiday as Lagos is a special place and when we come back, which we will, we'll be staying at the Marina Rio.

Room Tip: Do book a marina view room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dalrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#13 of 51 in Lagos
3,086 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
392 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 51 in Lagos
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
1.2 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
1.3 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#2 of 51 in Lagos
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Rio

Property: Hotel Marina Rio
Address: Hotel Marina Rio Avenida dos Descobrimentos | Apdo. 388, Lagos 8600-645, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marina Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Marina Rio Lagos
Albergaria Marina Rio Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing