We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Series of amazing views”
Review of Camilo Beach

Camilo Beach
Ranked #2 of 81 things to do in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
144 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Series of amazing views”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Actually there are more than one place in Lagos, very close reflecting the beauty of the nature especially the impact of the water erosion to generate such beautiful view. Unfortunately there was high waves, so I could not get boat trip, however, at least I could be at the close hills. An amazing view of the coast.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank FreeAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,088
    450
    99
    21
    6
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We spent an afternoon relaxing on Camilo beach and swimming in the Atlantic. The beach was busy for a Tuesday afternoon, but not over crowded. The water was nice and calm for swimming and the sand was soft. The view of the beach from the top of the stairs is worth soaking in for a few minutes as well. Absolutely beautiful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AB004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“All the beaches in Lagos are magical”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Spent 3 weeks visiting Spain and then Portugal. The best time was the 5 days spent in Lagos. My friend and I rented a little old lady's apartment with balcony, for only $30E/nt. We went to the fish market daily for our dinner. Went to a bar/restaurant in the square for internet and took a boat trip around all the amazing Lagos beaches, and walked along the cliff's edge.

And if Lagos was not magical enough, If you are fortunate to have a car, or rent one for the day; take a drive up to Lisbon. Halfway between Lagos and Lisbon, there is a cape/cliff called, Cabo Sardeo which was magnificent. We ate our packed lunch there and watched the fishermen down below. When they came up the cliff for lunch, we saw the path on the right side, and ventured down. Stunning!

Then a bit further drive up the coast, we also stopped at a 10km beach called Sines. We had a snack in the restaurant and then headed for the beach. Even though it was off season we couldn't help but bodysurf the massive waves. Both of these were the highlight of our 3 week trip.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank lenka z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great location, fresh fish, okay service”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The title says it all really. Not far from Casade Resort and the shuttle will drop you off for free. Worth a visit for the views alone. Forgot our drink order and the food was okay.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pfiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the most special cliff beaches in Lagos...”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Advice of a local... if visiting in early June or late September you'll be having it entirely for yourself, so be happy!...Between these months is the peak season so if you don't like crowds and want to experience these beach...go early around 7ish am and leave by 10am, after that time is just a bunch of people in the sand, in the water, well.
if deciding to wake up earlier make sure you sit in its sand with a wee snack about 6ish and observe the sun coming up from there.
Excellent for snorkeling, and you will see that all tourists know that :) (count the googles)...however its really nice so ignore that, detach yourself from the crowds of googles heading out of the shore and do it with medium to high tide, low tides get you all scratched :).
In between going down and up to Camilo remember there are some healthy steps that separates you both. Walk & Hike, stay operational, stay healthy!! Aproveita!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank L P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camilo Beach also viewed

Lagos, Faro District
 
Lagos, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 

Been to Camilo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing