We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and atmosphere”

Restaurante Caravela
Ranked #324 of 406 Restaurants in Lagos
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place and atmosphere”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We went past this place on most days and it was always busy. Finally on our last day in Lagos there was an empty table so we gave it a try. So glad we did as it was a great place to eat. We had a few buskers come and go on the street which added to the atmosphere. The food and service was excellent and great value for money. So glad we got a chance to visit and would definitely recommend you visit and you cant possibly be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steve d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    48
    43
    22
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Menston, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“All good. 2 visits in one week for 10 covers.”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Fast and attentive staff. Excellent food. Good range of superbly cooked sea foods. Pleasant atmosphere on the street. Clean and hygienic toilets. All good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Great food. I had the turkey steak and it was really good, We sat outside and the waiters made up a table for 5 of us. One of the few places I went to that had a cider: Sommerset.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A must visit”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Was in this restaurant 30 years ago when travelling Europe as our one big treat. It was amazing then it is amazing now!! The lamb in red wine is just Devine!! The waiters are friendly, professional and know exactly what they are at. Talented buskers entertained us with a few jazz numbers like we were part of a movie while we dined alfresco on the cobble stone street with the gas lamps making sure we were oh so comfortable! Caravela - miss it at your peril!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank katiecro52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Had a very enjoyable meal here. Swordfish was delicious and the fillet steak very good. Had the banana split for dessert and it was lovely and big enough for two people. Bill was very reasonable and waiters pleasant. Nice seating area outside to watch the world go by. Recommend

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ZittaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Caravela also viewed

Lagos, Faro District
Lagos, Faro District
 
Lagos, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurante Caravela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing