We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All good. 2 visits in one week for 10 covers.”

Restaurante Caravela
Ranked #316 of 392 Restaurants in Lagos
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Menston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“All good. 2 visits in one week for 10 covers.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Fast and attentive staff. Excellent food. Good range of superbly cooked sea foods. Pleasant atmosphere on the street. Clean and hygienic toilets. All good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    45
    40
    21
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Great food. I had the turkey steak and it was really good, We sat outside and the waiters made up a table for 5 of us. One of the few places I went to that had a cider: Sommerset.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A must visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Was in this restaurant 30 years ago when travelling Europe as our one big treat. It was amazing then it is amazing now!! The lamb in red wine is just Devine!! The waiters are friendly, professional and know exactly what they are at. Talented buskers entertained us with a few jazz numbers like we were part of a movie while we dined alfresco on the cobble stone street with the gas lamps making sure we were oh so comfortable! Caravela - miss it at your peril!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank katiecro52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Had a very enjoyable meal here. Swordfish was delicious and the fillet steak very good. Had the banana split for dessert and it was lovely and big enough for two people. Bill was very reasonable and waiters pleasant. Nice seating area outside to watch the world go by. Recommend

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ZittaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenpoint
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening but mixed impressions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Had a meal here last night and after reading other people's comments I must say i found the service to be fine. However, the four of us had different impressions of the food. My husband ordered the piri-piri chicken and found it dry (although we have nothing to compare it to as it was the first time we ordered this local speciality, but when i saw it i was glad i didn't request it!) it is obviously the way the meat is butchered here, but it consisted of just leg and a wing which wasn't really a lot of eating. The kids ordered a pizza between them because they often end up leaving a lot if they have one each, but they said they could definitely eat one each here as it was very thin (thinest pizza ever!) however, they did say it was tasty. I ordered the Algarvian-style tuna which was served with a side salad and steamed new potatoes and loved it. At first I thought it was very salty (although i would add that i don't add salt to my food at all) but then decided it might be lemony, which made it tastier somehow!

What they did do very well was crepes - my son had lemon, sugar and cream and my daughter had chocolate, cream and vanilla ice cream (which I had to help her with! ) these were generous portions and delicious.

So all in all, it was a very enjoyable evening because we spent a while there people watching and chilling over our wine, but the food was kind of average.

Cost = 52 euro for 2 mains, a pizza, chip, 2 crepes, bottle of house wine and two soft drinks

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WarrenpointMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Caravela also viewed

Lagos, Faro District
 
Burgau, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurante Caravela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing