We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante Caravela

Restaurante Caravela
Ranked #304 of 381 Restaurants in Lagos
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Great food. I had the turkey steak and it was really good, We sat outside and the waiters made up a table for 5 of us. One of the few places I went to that had a cider: Sommerset.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    44
    39
    20
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A must visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Was in this restaurant 30 years ago when travelling Europe as our one big treat. It was amazing then it is amazing now!! The lamb in red wine is just Devine!! The waiters are friendly, professional and know exactly what they are at. Talented buskers entertained us with a few jazz numbers like we were part of a movie while we dined alfresco on the cobble stone street with the gas lamps making sure we were oh so comfortable! Caravela - miss it at your peril!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank katiecro52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Had a very enjoyable meal here. Swordfish was delicious and the fillet steak very good. Had the banana split for dessert and it was lovely and big enough for two people. Bill was very reasonable and waiters pleasant. Nice seating area outside to watch the world go by. Recommend

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ZittaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenpoint
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening but mixed impressions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Had a meal here last night and after reading other people's comments I must say i found the service to be fine. However, the four of us had different impressions of the food. My husband ordered the piri-piri chicken and found it dry (although we have nothing to compare it to as it was the first time we ordered this local speciality, but when i saw it i was glad i didn't request it!) it is obviously the way the meat is butchered here, but it consisted of just leg and a wing which wasn't really a lot of eating. The kids ordered a pizza between them because they often end up leaving a lot if they have one each, but they said they could definitely eat one each here as it was very thin (thinest pizza ever!) however, they did say it was tasty. I ordered the Algarvian-style tuna which was served with a side salad and steamed new potatoes and loved it. At first I thought it was very salty (although i would add that i don't add salt to my food at all) but then decided it might be lemony, which made it tastier somehow!

What they did do very well was crepes - my son had lemon, sugar and cream and my daughter had chocolate, cream and vanilla ice cream (which I had to help her with! ) these were generous portions and delicious.

So all in all, it was a very enjoyable evening because we spent a while there people watching and chilling over our wine, but the food was kind of average.

Cost = 52 euro for 2 mains, a pizza, chip, 2 crepes, bottle of house wine and two soft drinks

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WarrenpointMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
148 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“SUPERB FOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

During 10 nights in Lagos we ate at Caravela 3 times. The seabass was delicious and the garlic bread with cheese as a starter was yummy. Great staff,and great location for people watching!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanniejeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Caravela also viewed

Lagos, Faro District
Lagos, Faro District
 
Lagos, Faro District
Lagos, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurante Caravela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing