We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jah Shaka Surf and Kite Lodge
Ranked #14 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best holiday ever”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

It is very rare the one can book a proper last minuet holiday and for it to turn out to be totally amazing.
The accommodation is spotlessly clean.
The food is so good we ate in instead of going out.
The surfing was very good well instructed and never strict.
Due to the area and the sport that the villa is associated to, you meet many interesting and wonderful characters from all over the world.
Marina and Nathan are two individuals who truly care about their jobs. The standard that they hold them selves to shines throughout the whole experience of staying at Jah-Shaka.
To sum up; amazing place, fantastic people, extremely well run.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    19
    6
    0
    7
See reviews for
5
28
66
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed at Jah Shaka with friends during peak season in July/August last year. The staff were very easy going and friendly. The accommodation itself was fantastic with a great set up. Reasonably priced, and a lot of fun. The minibus into town during the evening was very convenient as well. Our experience in Lagos was unbelievable, and Jah Shaka was a big part of it. Fantastic times - thanks Maz and the fellas!

Room Tip: The ground floor main bed room with 10 person bunk beds is ideal for a large group of friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Stayed here over the May bank holiday. A really friendly place, fantastic pool, great breakfast and a cracking restaurant up the road.
Didn't get to surf but will next time....
It's the sort of place you would drive over roundabouts to get too.
Went with some friends and it was great than Ben and Bernard got on so well with Charlie.
If you get a chance pop into Lagos and try the Si Palmer driving experience.

All in all a fantastic stay, thanks Chris and the gang.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colinnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2012

fantastic experience - Villa was spotless and on site staff could not do enough to help make this a memorable trip. Could recommend Jah Shaka high enough!!!!!! GO STAY THERE - SHEPS

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHEPS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Stayed here with the LivSurf crew (Uni surf club so totalling 20peeps!) and they handled us just like family. The cooked food option was incredibly tasty and convenient. The organisation of transfers to the beach for all of us went like clockwork and even the guiding on nights out in Lagos was above and beyond the call of duty and much much appreciated! With serious lock knowledge about Luz and eateries in Lagos you can't go wrong with Jah Shaka. We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tbrenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

I stayed at the villa at the end of september and had a great time. I was traveling on my own and wanted to meet other surfers to hang out with. The Jah Shaka surf villa had plenty of other people to hang out with, the BBQ they put on was amazing, the rooms were really clean, friendly and helpful staff the surfing they organized was spot on. It was good to have a swimming pool to hang out by after the surfing and there are loads of bars a short walk away. I will be back for sure.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2012

My teenage daughter and I stayed here last year in August 2011. It was a fantastic place to stay, very clean, rooms were stylish and the pool was great.

The staff were really friendly and helpful and we can't wait to go back again. I would definately recommend it, a real find!


Emma & Sophie, London

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagos
6.2 mi away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
7.1 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
7.4 mi away
Pousada de Sagres, Infante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
14.6 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#2 of 50 in Lagos
342 reviews
5.6 mi away
Casa Fajara Rustic Boutique House & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jah Shaka Surf and Kite Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jah Shaka Surf and Kite Lodge

Property: Jah Shaka Surf and Kite Lodge
Address: Estrada Da Luz-Burgau, Montinhos Da Luz, Lagos 8600-681, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jah Shaka Surf Lodge is one of Portugal's leading surf and outdoor activities companies ideally situated in one of the world's greatest surfing destinations, renowned for it's beautiful beaches, sunshine, and year round surf. We pride ourselves on providing unique and tailored surfing and activity holidays, friendly and personal service, and great value for money. The Lodge is perfect for surfers on their own, in couples and large groups alike, and offers a wide range of accommodation from private rooms and shared rooms with Seaview Terraces and Luxury Teepees. Our Lodge prides it's self in excellent surf and paddleboard tuition from highly qualified and experienced instructors, with great local knowledge. Our well equipped Lodge is the perfect place to rest and play between activities, with a huge garden, pool, beach volleyball court, hammocks, fire pit, slackline, indoboards, sea view yoga studio, BBQ, shisha and chill out roof top area. Jah Shaka's dedicated team are on hand to guarantee an incredible surf holiday in Europe's sunniest surf destination ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Jah Shaka Surf and Kite Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing