We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Almost Perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel has stunning views of the Atlantic from on top of a high cliff. By far, the best part of this hotel is the stunning view. We stayed in the Deluxe Suite and found it to be very modern, clean, and comfortable. It was obviously very recently renovated. I particularly liked the bathroom styling and color combinations. I don't think all rooms in this hotel are recently renovated so you might want to check on that to try and reserve a new one. I'm not sure though. The room featured a huge balcony with comfortable recliners, but the one problem was it was hard to escape the shadows and get sun at times if that is what you wanted. The sleep quality at this hotel is excellent, it's very quiet and the beds are large and comfortable. My biggest complaint would be how they constantly market their restaurant to you throughout your stay which I felt lacked class. From the moment you check-in, 'we reserved a table for you tonight if you like - please look at the menu', to just after you finished your last bite of breakfast 'would you like to look at the dinner menu tonight and make a reservation?' to even our last morning just before check out, 'Will you be joining us for dinner tonight?'. It started to get a bit ridiculous. We did eat at the restaurant the first night. The food is quite fancy with an excellent presentation and taste. The portions were a little small and I wasn't particularly full after a starter, main, and dessert. The price was high and bordering on being over-priced considering you are in the Algarve and not Paris. Overall, we quite enjoyed this hotel and would recommend it to anyone travelling through the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsbarrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivendaMiranda, Gerente at Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. It was a mistake to ask you about evening dining on your departure day, a small over sight on our part, please accept our apologies. We are sorry that you felt pressured to eat in the restaurant in the evenings. It has been our policy for many years to give all our guests the opportunity to select their evening meal earlier in the day. This ensures their priority of booking and the guarantee of freshly prepared and cooked cuisine. Naturally there is no obligation by the client to make such decisions earlier in the day should they choose not to do so. We strive to give our clients the best level of service and satisfaction throughout their stay with us.

Yours sincerely,
Urs Wild, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    40
    14
    12
    5
See reviews for
20
108
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

First impression was amazing. The view was to die for, the hotel was out of this world nothing was too much trouble for the staff they really made my husband and myself feel really welcome without being over the top. We enjoyed every meal we had in the hotel. The hotel and everything around it made for a really relaxing and enjoyable holiday. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Many thanks

Room Tip: Room 221 has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tel1062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Didn't stay at the hotel, but had a superb meal. We had the "tasting menu" which comprised five courses, several of which we would not normally have chosen from an a la carte menu, but every morsel was just delicous. The restaurant was about half full inside, plus some diners outside too (the possibility of insects put my wife off), and the service and atmosphere were great.

If you want a special and romantic meal, this is the place. At least as good as Dos Artistas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fletch535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel is a gem! The location is spectacular as it overlooks the ocean and the sweeping cliffs along the waterline. The sunsets were to die for.

The hotel itself was a high-class establishment. The staff were top notch, the rooms were gorgeous and large, the facility was clean, parking was easy, internet was accessible, and the restaurant was delicious. Even the wait staff in the restaurant were charming and complete professionals. We really enjoyed the breakfast buffet every morning.

I highly recommend!

(Note: we flew into Lisbon and drove to this hotel, and it was an easy three-hour drive)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelnut37020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

As soon as we got to Vivenda Miranda we thought we were on a honeymoon again (albeit 30 years later). It's the kind of place where everyone of all ages walks around holding hands. It's very small and intimate, very personalized, never feels crowded. We spent three delightful nights, enjoyed three very fine dinners, found the breakfast buffet very satisfying, and were generally very pleased with the friendly and helpful staff at all levels. Although only a five minute or so (5-7 euros) taxi ride from Lagos, you feel like you're totally away from the busy world. It's August, and the Algarve is jammed with surfers, beach goers, retireds, vacationers from all over Europe and some from the U.S., but Vivenda Miranda was an oasis. The broad view of the ocean is beautiful and grounds are as well. From the beginning we were impressed with the service, even when making reservations by e-mail and writing back and forth for help with such things as whether to rent a car, arranging a departure transfer to the airport in Faro, etc. In person, everyone was just as helpful. Our deluxe room (117) was large, immaculate and very comfortable having just been redecorated. But to be complete and completely honest, I have to conclude with a few negatives which -- although I don't think they will keep us from returning should we have the chance -- should require some attention from the hotel management (which apparently does read Trip Advisor and comments on the reviews). First, the lighting in parts of the room is terrible. You can't see the clothes in the closet and couldn't tell if you were putting on a black, brown or blue shirt, and opening the safe absolutely requires using a flashlight. Please, management, some simple track lighting would solve the problem. Then there's the matter of air conditioning, which in response to prior reviews, management insists is present throughout the resort. Well, it must be magic air conditioning which works without any vents in the ceiling, walls or floor, because I couldn't find any, and there certainly isn't any thermostat in the room. But in fact, in the Algarve, the weather is beautiful (appaently almost year 'round), so air conditioning shouldn't really be necessary since the wall of our room was all glass doors which could be opened -- but PLEASE why isn't there a ceiling fan??? an essential item in most tropical resorts. For the cost of a day or two's rental of the room, a ceiling fan could be installed and make the room very comfortable in most conditions. A few words are also in order about the shower: a large attractive tiled shower, but no shelf for personal toiletries and only a single dispenser of a (to me, sickly sweet) bath gel. And a grab bar would be a good idea given that it's a tile floor. And after the first day the maids took away the bath mat and never replaced it so we tracked wet feet across the wood floor. A last word about the toiletries: skimpy and poor for a high-class resort; one tiny piece of Motel 6 type soap and a couple of pedestrian shampoos and creams. Loosen up, guys, and put out a nice spread of toiletries more fitting to the top drawer resort this is supposed to be. (And please don't tell me I should have complained to housekeeping; that's not my job when I'm your guest.) So, dear reader, you can tell we really must have been impressed with this place to give them four stars with this list of negatives -- and you'll be right. If these issues don't deter you, please do go and enjoy this potentially world-class resort in a really beautiful part of the world. And if management makes a few tiny upgrades, it could truly merit five stars.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Arne_Werchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We popped along to this stunning hotel for an afternoon cocktail. We were sat out in the beautifully landscaped gardens with incredible views of the beach and clear blue of the Atlantic. It was a wonderfully peaceful place (and would be perfect for a wedding!). There was a good selection of cocktails, which were well made and delicious. Wonderful afternoon with good attentive service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreenwichSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Sitting on a cliff with gorgeous views we found this hotel very relaxing. Our room in the new building was spacious with tons of closet space, large bathroom, and a nice terrace to relax after a day of sightseeing. The breakfast was included and provided a large variety of choices. This included eggs to your order. The young woman at the reception desk was welcoming and helpful with any concerns. A five min walk to a beach and a 5 min cab drive to town. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for some R&R.

Room Tip: New building rooms are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natalie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.6 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
0.7 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#5 of 50 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 stars 245 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carvi Hotel Lagos
Carvi Hotel Lagos
#14 of 50 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 stars 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#4 of 50 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,008 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#12 of 50 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 stars 2,389 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#2 of 50 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda

Property: Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda
Address: Rua das Violetas | Porto de Mós, Lagos 8600-282, Portugal (Formerly Romantik Hotel Vivenda Miranda)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#10 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#12 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The unique Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda is a hidden gem, situated in an idyllic location, nestled into the cliff top above the beautiful Porto de Mos beach with just 25 individually styled rooms and suites. Enjoying stunning panoramic ocean views that blend with the lush, natural Mediterranean gardens it was originally the 17th century home of a noble family before the loving and individual restoration of its current owner. With discrete and excellent service and attention to every detail, this small luxury hotel boasts a superb fine dining restaurant catering to all dietary requirements including vegetarian, vegan and RAW, as well as an intimate Neal's Yard Remedies ethical and organic spa. Here you will find the perfect escape! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing