We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant review: style over substance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Restaurant review: style over substance”
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We only visited the restaurant as it was recommended to us. The location is absolutely superb on a high cliff face overlooking the sea. Like many hotel restaurants, it flattered to deceive. The food looked lovely but was a little bland and uninspiring - not bad, but not up to the surroundings and on the pricey side. Service was friendly but not very competent - if you insist on leaving the wine off the table you need to be attentive enough to top up people's glasses - this didn't bother us too much but infuriated a couple sitting nearby. There are certainly better places to eat in the area, but definitely recommended for a cocktail or coffee in

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Piney69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivendaMiranda, Restaurant Manager at Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
We sincerely apologise that the meal did not meet your expectations on evening you spent with us. We were especially surprised to read your comments, given the positive feedback and appreciation that was expressed to us by other diners that evening. We received only compliments and positive feedback on the night.

We wish that you could have pointed out any issue you may have had to the Restaurant Manager on the night, so we would have had the opportunity to try to resolve matters to your satisfaction.

Please rest assured that it was unintentional that we did not refill your glass we will take note of your comments. However this is not usually the case as all our other reviews show.

We are however delighted that you appreciated our location and ambience.

Yours sincerely,

Markus Sterzenbach - Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    43
    18
    17
    8
See reviews for
22
124
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

We spent one night at the Vivenda Miranda attending a wedding. The hotel is in a lovely location and the wedding was fantastic. After reading the reviews about the lack of air conditioning, we rang the hotel and were told that their standard rooms all had air conditioning, therefore we booked a standard room. Our room (number 2) was small and basic, however it was clean and had a balcony with fantastic views of the ocean. The bathroom was tiny and the shower fell off the wall when it was in use. The air conditioning didn't work and we complained 3 times before we were told that it was broken and we were given a fan. As the hotel room was so small, all the fan did was blow hot air around the room. As a result, we did not get much sleep. We complained to the receptionist when we checked out and was very apologetic. She explained her manager was off that day but phoned the manager of their sister hotel, The Cascade. We explained the situation again and were told that they would refund us 20%. We did not feel that this was enough, however we agreed as we did not want to argue and waste anymore of our holiday. We have just returned to the UK and found out that they have only refunded 15%! Charming! It's a real shame about this hotel as it is in a lovely location, however without air conditioning they really should not be able to get away with the prices they charge. We would not return to this hotel and would not recommend it for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Europesurfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivendaMiranda, Manager at Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
We were of course pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your friend’s wedding and how fantastic you felt the event was. Of course we take great pride in ensuring that all is perfect for the couple’s special day. We also thought it was a terrific event with much merry making going on until late into the night. We regret very much the inconvenience you experienced in your room that night after the wedding. Unfortunately, the system that we have in the hotel for air conditioning also functions as a heating system in the cooler months and at that time of year the system still works on the heating cycle as in May the evenings are often a little chilly rather than warm, so we need to be able to heat the rooms should it be necessary. We do apologise of course, but technically we can only choose one of these options.

With regard to the shower, perhaps we should consider installing an extra shower holder for more flexibility should a guest find it difficult to manage the standard holder due to special requirements or infirmity of any kind so it is not necessary to use the overhead shower holder.

With regard to the discount differential that you mentioned, it is definitely not usual for us to give discounts as if in the unusual situation that a guest has any special requests, we do our utmost to meet their requirements. As you were staying for just one night our Duty manager offered the 15% to try to resolve a difficult situation.

We absolutely regret having had a different understanding that the problem is solved satisfying.


Yours Sincerely,

Daniela Berendonk
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

My wife and I spent a week here early April. The weather was pleasant enough to sit outside most evenings in shirt sleeves. We had room 15 which is an excellent room very large at the far end of the hotel so you only have neighbours on one side. The main hotel is on a single level. We sat outside on our terrace every evening looking out at the wonderful sea views. The Hotel sells its restaurant as being very smart, which it almost is and also very expensive, Hence when we were there it was usually empty. I cant help thinking a bit more reasonable pricing might see a lot more trade as you have to get a taxi into Lagos for dinner every night if you dont want to pay the silly prices on the hotel restaurant menu. So they lost at least 5 nights of dinners and drinks from us alone. Thats got to stack up ?
Anyway the hotel has a Spa which my wife said was very good, there is also a very nice pool on the property. We just stocked our mini bar up with our own beer and wine and as I said spent early evening having a drink on our terrace before having to leave the premises to get dinner. Lagos is about a 6 Euro each way taxi ride. There are a handful of nice little restaurants in the lanes and a load of ghastly looking tourist traps. The shopping in Lagos is not very good. We found the little tapas bar near the church at the Fort end of town to be excellent value. Think 35 euros for a mountain of food and drinks for two. The Taberna De Lagos is also very good and has a good cocktail menu as well which is quite reasonably priced. Some guide books will insist you go to Mullins restaurant, It was certainly an experience, the food is good, cheap but the Loos are just disgusting. Think of the smell of council loos by the beach! If you can put up with that its one to tick off as the menu is hilarious. There is also Antonio's down on the beach which is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel, perfectly good fish supper for reasonable prices and you can sit out on a deck which was covered when we were there but I imagine they open it in the summer.
Lagos is a pleasant enough place if you like that sort of thing. but spoiled a bit by the boozed up brits you get all over the Algarve and the Spanish Costas in every single village and town falling out of the pubs and bars at chucking out time. Why are they always British ? The Algarve in general is quite pretty but ruined by literally hundreds of derelict and unsold and often not even finished developments that no one wants to buy. Shame! It would appear there is no planning regulation at all. If you have to go to the Algarve at all this hotel is easily one of the best in the whole area if you dont want all that Golf resort nonsense.

So having been to the Algarve, I wont be going back as its too over developed and it just reminded us why we prefer France. We went because we got a deal on a travel site. Having said all that, Luz (As in Praia De Luz where Madeleine McCann went missing) which is just a few minutes from Lagos was very pleasant and well worth a look if you are in the area

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandysviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for the last leg of a 12-day trip to Portugal last August. We wanted a few days to relax after more than a week of sight-seeing and traveling through the country, and the Vivenda Miranda was an ideal hotel for just that. Located on a bluff outside of town with gorgeous views of the ocean, it was just a ten-minute walk down the hill to a wonderful beach. I had read on tripadvisor that not all rooms had air-conditioning, so I called ahead to ask for one that did. Portugal gets extremely hot in August, so I would recommend this to anyone planning to travel here in the summer.
Upon arriving, we were upgraded to a junior suite that had a sitting area, a renovated bathroom, and private lounge chairs with a peekaboo view of the ocean. The staff at the hotel were all extremely friendly and the restaurant (with outdoor seating that offers ocean views) was absolutely fantastic. We had planned on going into town one night for dinner, but ended up eating at the hotel every night because we enjoyed the dining experience so much. You have the choice of choosing the four-course menu (changes daily) or the regular selections. The wine list was a wine-lovers dream - they had an extensive selection of delicious Portuguese wines that you'll never see in the United States. At the end of our three-day stay here, we were already planning our return trip. Pure bliss!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tallulah_B410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2010

Overall, this was a beautiful stay overlooking the sea. The grounds were very pretty as was the terrace where we had breakfasts and drinks both days. The room was spacious and tastefully decorated. The only criticism was that the room had no A/C which made the room a bit hot when sleeping. But all in all it was a wonderful stay and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzrose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
334 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Stuck out of town and quite difficult to find with GPS. Great welcome, nice rooms with balcony with sunbeds and table and chairs. New and large flat screen TV with proper channels. Bathrooms are a bit tired. Pretty gardens. Pool looked good but too cold even on a warm November day. Breakfast and lunch on super terrace. Dined in both nights. Avoid "gourmet menu" at €45 and stick to having the a la carte even if you restrict yourself to one course; otherwise what you save on a resonable room rate will be swallowed up in the expensive restaurant. In the low season you can only really dine at the hotel unless you have transport. A 5 minute walk to a lovely beach. The hotel is bordered by some open building plots so be prepared for possible noise. There was some development going on next door but my room was on the other side of the building so not disturbed.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PUTNEYBIKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
118 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

The best reason to stay here is the setting. It's on a bluff with spectacular ocean views and lovely gardens. Our ocean-view room was a good size and had a large terrace overlooking the pool and ocean. Bathroom was very nice too. The buffet breakfast was generous and of excellent quality. (We didn't stay for dinner.) Now the negatives. For a hotel at this price range, the room furnishings were inadequate. There was no luggage rack, no desk, no place to set anything down, and not enough hooks in the bathroom. Other than the bed and a built-in armoire, there were just a couple flimsy tables draped with cloths. And the hangers in the armoire are the annoying type that can't be removed--as if people would steal them if they could.

My biggest complaint was the pool, which is taken up with a furiously bubbling whirlpool in its center, and a waterfall on one side. these keep the water churning, making swimming very difficult. I was told that there was no way they could be turned off during the day.

Still, it's a nice, quiet, very beautiful place to relax, just outside a very busy town.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arlenetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.7 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 52 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.6 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
0.8 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 52 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
1.5 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 52 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,955 reviews
2.2 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 52 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda

Property: Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda
Address: Rua das Violetas | Porto de Mós, Lagos 8600-513, Portugal (Formerly Romantik Hotel Vivenda Miranda)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#13 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The unique Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda is a hidden gem, situated in an idyllic location, nestled into the cliff top above the beautiful Porto de Mos beach with just 25 individually styled rooms and suites. Enjoying stunning panoramic ocean views that blend with the lush, natural Mediterranean gardens it was originally the 17th century home of a noble family before the loving and individual restoration of its current owner. With discrete and excellent service and attention to every detail, this small luxury hotel boasts a superb fine dining restaurant catering to all dietary requirements including vegetarian, vegan and RAW, as well as an intimate Neal's Yard Remedies ethical and organic spa. Here you will find the perfect escape! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing