We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best food in French styled restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vista Alegre

Vista Alegre
Ranked #115 of 392 Restaurants in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Luz, Portugal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The best food in French styled restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

The front of Vista Alegra is a cafe style area but the dining area at the back of the restaurant is a typical French parlour feel. The meals are reasonable for the standard you get which is very high indeed. There are cheaper places to eat but this food is worth the extra, i always use this restaurant for birthdays and any celebration that I can conjure up! On avearge his main courses ar 16/18 euros, which with his high standards I do not feel is expensive. I would nevr go without booking, but at the moment, like every other Lagos restaurant he is rather quiet so its a good time to try this restauarant, his salad Lyonnaise starter is a sure fire winner for me! His rack of lamb provencal is to die for!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    18
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Luz
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Top Quality French Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Fantastic French Restaurant, not cheap but everything is made to order and on show, food was out of this world, I don’t need or want instant food I enjoyed the starter and my companions company, far too many places de frost and serve this food is prepared with care and skill, a meal here is an event and should be eaten relaxed and enjoyed, if you want fast food there are plenty of places. Great Food, Great welcome, Great service and comfortable surroundings what more does anyone require

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellsville, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pay a lot - but don't linger over your lunch!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Delicious food - 120euro bill for 3 main courses , wine and coffee --- So quite pricey for Lagos --- service a little slow but food worth waiting for. HOWEVER we are local for many years --- we will not be returning - or recomending --- we arrived at 1pm ( there were in total - 6 customers for lunch -so you might imagin that attention to those customers would be important). But from 3 pm the chef or the male member of the team ---- banged and crashed items as he walked back and forth , back and forth constantly in the background - well only a few yards / meters away -- without approaching us to talk to us ---- making it quite obvious that we should be leaving --- he wanted to go home ---- and when we did - an hour or so on - he was VERY unpleasant ---- not the welcome we had hoped for or paid for ----- that is the truth!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakes
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellant food but service is very slow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Set at the back of a rather scruffy looking cafe, but the food makes up for it. Go early as you might be there some time!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“My favourite place in Lagos - a must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Good wine ( £7 for a half bottle), quality starters, amazing main, delivered by The best service we had during our 7 days.

The setting is candle light place settings, intimate.

Everything we ate was good - recommend the prawns chief style. We also had a fillet steak salads to start and Creme brûlée and chocolate mousse.

The service was exactly how I like it - attentitive but didn't push anything on us- the perfect balance. It appears to be family run ( small ).

Do your best to visit , it's up behind the tivoli hotel- not much else nearby so it does take a bit of looking! Enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank koala_panda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vista Alegre also viewed

Lagos, Faro District
 
Lagos, Faro District
Lagos, Faro District
 

Been to Vista Alegre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing