We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awesome hostel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cloud 9 Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cloud 9 Hostel
Ranked #27 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“awesome hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Had an amazing time staying at this hostel! Thanks so much to all the staff, pub crawl was awesome! Rooms are very clean, great kitchen and roof top is amazing. Will def have to make a return visit!Lagos is where you wanna spend every summer

Room Tip: loved room room 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyeBlue81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    12
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
2
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Cloud 9 hostel is perfectly located in the small town of Lagos. Not only is is close
to many restaurants, surf shops and boutiques, but the atmosphere of the hostel
ensured a fantastic stay! The hostel is very clean, the rooms are big, and you are
given a key to your own, personal mini-locker, where it is definitely safe to leave
your personal belongings. The patio upstairs offers a great view of Lagos, where you
can also suntan, read or eat. The fully-equipped kitchen is spacious and makes up for
the breakfast that is not included... Many grocery stores nearby sell fresh bread,
cereal and fruits at a very reasonable price! The extremely sweet sangria on friday
nights is also a plus! The manager is EXTREMELY friendly, and is the main reason why
I would recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a fantastic experience in Lagos!
He arranged kayak tours to Ponta de Piedade, making sure to send us only when the
water was calm so that we could see as many caves as possible! We also wanted to go
surfing, but he refused that we pay him until he confirmed that the waves were
perfect for beginners. He later told us that the waves were too small and that he
didn't want to us spend 5o euros to go surf in very small waves. He then organized
bike rentals for us and asked us exactly where we were going as he cared for our
safety and was going to come get us if we weren't back by dusk. Overall AWESOME
hostel, especially for the price!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We were all recommended to stay at the rising cock in Lagos but so glad we stayed here!! It was amazing! Our room was clean and comfortable as were the communal areas. The location cannot be faulted as it was right around the corner from all the action and Tiago at the front desk was a legend! He gave us all the hot spots to go to and was always up for having a chat and a laugh. I would highly recommend this place if u want a bit of both fun and sleep!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Llama2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed there for a few days during the off peak season, which turned out pretty cheap. Can't remember exactly how much it was, but something around 10 euros per person per night. We stayed in the room with two other people and made some good friends. The hostel is the cleanest I have seen so far. In our room we had a shower and the toilet which were very clean and modern. There are also loads of toilets available outside the room for everyone to use. A very nice kitchen with all the appliances and kitchen utensils for everyone to use. Looks very modern and very well looked after, there are also 4 computers with Internet available for people to use or you can always connect your own device with free wi-fi connection. There are 2 lovely balconies available with fantastic view and nice comfy furniture. They also been building a bar on the top roof balcony while we were there which is great addition to this fantastic place. They also provide lockers to lock away all the important stuff you don't want to carry around with you.
The staff is always there to help you or direct you where to go, he also showed us where to get the best pizza in town. And oh my god, Luigi's pizza is the best. I never ever tried such a good pizza even in Italy and it's just round the corner from the hostel.
Very nice experience, made loads of friends and some good memories. Definitely worth a try!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ekaterina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

I loved my stay at Cloud 9 because it was clean, comfortable, in a great location, affordable and there was a great mix of enthusiastic young people! But most of all- the hostel manager was THE most helpful, friendly and lovely guy ever. Thanks heaps Tiago for all your personal recommendations and great conversations! I will have to come back to Lagos again soon with my friends for another big party! From the craziest of Australians :) Gabby

Room Tip: I had a room overlooking the side path with restaurants. It was quiet and had a lovely sunset at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
162 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

My 4 bed dorm room was 25€ and didn't include breakfast.
Up at their rooftop bar for around 12€ for dinner and all the sangria you can handle from 9-12.
This place can be a little bit noisier at night as its one of the closer hostels to the bars.

Given the restrictions on signage it is very hard to find this place so make sure you just look for #9 as the Cloud 9 name is painted on a wall at the end of their hallway.

I only stayed one night here as I bumped into some friends and decided to try another hostel, Lagos Escape Hostel, for my second night which was 5 Euro less and included a yummy breakfast. I preferred Escape hostel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cpisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Could not be happier with cloud 9! Great hostel, great staff, great facilities! We stayed in a 4 bed dorm which was great, even had our own ensuit! We dealt mainly with Tiago who was amazing! He made sure every one of our needs were dealt with for little things like restaurant reservations to drawing maps and pointing out the best places to eat and play! The other staff there were just as friendly too! The hostel has a full stocked kitchen, common area and rooftop bar with an awesome view minutes walk from beach, restaurants and clubbing district! We would definitely come back to cloud 9 if stayed in Lagos again!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirk_is_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.0 mi away
Stumble Inn
Stumble Inn
#31 of 132 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Canavial Club
Canavial Club
#25 of 132 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mar Azul
Hotel Mar Azul
#8 of 59 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lagos Taghostel
Lagos Taghostel
#21 of 132 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Lagos
Residence Inn Lagos
#3 of 59 in Lagos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tag Hostel
Tag Hostel
#42 of 132 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloud 9 Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloud 9 Hostel

Property: Cloud 9 Hostel
Address: Rua Soeiro da costa no 9, Lagos 8600-624 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cloud 9 Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cloud 9 hostel is perfectly located in Lagos historic center. During the daytime enjoy the best beaches nearby and at night savor the famous nightlife just around the corner. Our guests have everything they need within a walking distance. We provide you with information of all the things to do around Lagos such as kayak trips, surf trips, water parks, fishing, water sports, grotto trips and much more! All the premises are tidy clean everyday. At the top floor we have a wide terrace where our guests can enjoy the great surrounding view of the sea/city, in the morning you can enjoy the best sunrise in the city! At the 2nd floor of our hostel we provide a wide common area with cable TV, games, books, movies, free wi fi Internet access, full kitchen. Around the common area we have a terrace with a great sea/city view. We have 24 hour reception and a great staff that will help you with everything you need! Check in: 14:00 Check out: midday Cancellation policy: 48hrs Credit card accepted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Cloud 9 Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing