We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Again, But This Time We Saw Rissos Dolphins”
Review of Dolphin Seafaris

Dolphin Seafaris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dolphin Seafaris, The real dolphin watching company. Daily dolphin watch departures from Lagos Marina and Praia da Rocha Marina. The dolphin watching trip is a unique and unforgetable holiday experience for the whole family.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Amazing Again, But This Time We Saw Rissos Dolphins”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have been on many seafaring trips over the last few years and were incredibly fortunate this time to see a small pod of Rissos dolphins, which are very shy and are rarely sighted. the guys said it was only the second sighting this year. A very privileged trip.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Denise7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    36
    12
    9
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fun boat ride and dolphins”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

There are lots of companies offering boat rides to see dolphins. We went in the seafaris Nortarda boat which is a little speed boat. Great ride out to sea if a little bumpy! I quite enjoyed that but some may not... Got to see plenty of dolphins close to the boat. The lady at the desk said they generally see them most trips. Would recommend.
The marina is also nice place to wait for boat trips - modern with lots of cafes and a nice footbridge which raises to the let the sail ships in and out.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank littlebluerock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Ultimate Algarvean Coastal Experience”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

With a super-safe fleet of custom hypermodern RIB's [9m Naval class RIB's] this excursion gets off to a great start - with a range of cafes & toilet facilities onshore before you set sail.

On windy days you're most likely to get salty wet. Our kids [amazingly] loved this 4D experience!

It's naturally random as to whether you'll get to see Dolphin's [we didn't - but our kids imaginations did...]

Absolutely the best view of the coastline we've experienced, to-date. No for the faint of heart though!

The bonus is that you have to make the trip to Lagos, which is a lovely town & worth a trip in it's now right. Enjoy.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenRHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great way to spot Dolphins”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

There are three brances of Seafaris - Lagos, Portimao and Alvor. It is advisable to book your trip in advance as the Rib can only hold a small number of people (around 20) and it was full the day we went. The Rib claims to be Europe's biggest inflatable passenger rib and even if you are not lucky enough to spot Dolphins you will still have had good fun out on the Atlantic! Due to the speed it can reach, make sure you wear plenty of sunscreen and if wearing a hat make sure it is secured! As you sit straddling your seat ladies should wear either trousers, shorts or a long skirt. There are a few normal bench style seats to the wear for the less mobile or younger passengers. We were advised at the time of booking that there was no guarantee that we would spot Dolphins. However on the day, we were lucky and saw several pods of Common Dolphins all at very close range. The Rib stopped its engine and allowed the Dolphins to come to us and they were more than happy to play about under the boat and jumping in front and when we did move off the Dolphins were quite happy to catch a ride on thw waves created by the Rib (it moved off at a slow pace). In total the trip lasted about an hour and a half with us spending around half an hour amongst the Dolphins. It was a wonderful experience to see these delightful creatures in their natural environment. The Price of this trip was excellent too - Adults were charged 25 euros with this rising to 35 euros during peak season - fantastic value for money.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank GreenwichSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Try and get a seat on the outside!”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The dolphin trip was fantastic, it took us quite a long time to find dolphins but the boats are RIBs which make travelling over a choppy seas a real adventure.

I think the outside seats are probably the most fun but when dolphins are found the boat is stopped so you can get up and move around.

We also did a caves visit trip whilst in Lagos but this is the one that stood out.

The crew were lovely and stopped the boat when a shark fin was spotted which was a nice bonus.

I believe he advice in Lagos was try to get on an early boat to maximise the chances of seeing dolphins. I think this was because the cooler weather in the mornings.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank KateAngharad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Seafaris also viewed

Lagos, Faro District
Lagos, Faro District
 

Been to Dolphin Seafaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing