We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unusual but real gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arribale

Arribale
Ranked #29 of 386 Restaurants in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Unusual but real gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Not your typical Lagos restaurant with outdoor tables. Built into a kind of covered alleyway, narrow and partially open it is very quaint with nautical themed pieces and memorabilia everywhere. The open barbecue style oven is used to grill most of the main dishes just inside the door, but the best part is at the back where there are several cosy and intimate tables. The sharing starter platter was absolutely delicious with a mix of fish and meat tapas items. Calamari best we have ever had. Barbecued meat main course (pork fillet and chicken piri piri) were simply cooked and tasty, but nothing adventurous. Adjacent table had the stone bass which looked superb and we will go for that next time because this is a place to come back to. Only slight criticism (from wife) is that the middle open section with stone steps leading to an upstairs area and used for storage area of coca cola crates is unsightly and should be blocked off, but otherwise visually a very interesting place. London guy who runs it is friendly and attentive and will answer phone if you ring up to book. Really worth a visit if in Lagos for more than a day or so and tired of the the standard pavement Portugese restaurants.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank finesseskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    79
    21
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A bit hidden but worth finding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

The service cant be faulted, they really do try to please. The fried shrimp starter was fantastic, but as a fish lover I found the one fish of the day dish a bit limiting and no matter how good the chef, stone bass at its best is not that good, The accompaniments were very good and did their best to lift the fish. The house wine is excellent and not as expensive as it could be given the ambiance of the place which is also great, its a nice place to be. They put tables outside in the summer but a bit too breezy in May. We will definitely go back on our next trip to Lagos.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

What a wonderful restaurant!!! I went here with a group of 16 ladies for a Hen's and had an absolutely fabulous evening! Ken and his staff were so friendly and did their very best to ensure we were all having a good time throughout the night. The food was great - I especially loved the fish cakes and the grilled stonebass! They stocked delicious local wine from Maria at Monte de Casteleja (where we went for a wine tasting that afternoon) and played great music to keep us all entertained! Overall a lovely friendly restaurant! Cannot wait to head back!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Natasha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Just great simple food. Fantastic atmosphere. Been here a few times over the last 12 months and it never disappoints. The Tapas is fantastic, the pâté especially so. Ribs are another favourite along with fish from the grill. Friendly service. You really can't go wrong. And by the way have a Brownie for dessert or the key lime pie. Both are very nice

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eccleshall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“They try very hard to make you very welcome”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

We had been trying to find this place for a while and eventually did. To be honest we had a nice meal but not the special one the reviews had led us to believe. The food was nicely cooked and flavoured but fairly limited in what was on offer as we would have preferred maybe more than one fish option. That said the staff were very very welcoming and we will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JamesNMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arribale also viewed

Lagos, Faro District
 
Lagos, Faro District
 

Been to Arribale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing