We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to go for a nice drink & good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Arribale

Arribale
Ranked #32 of 392 Restaurants in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Lagos, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best place to go for a nice drink & good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

Mario made fantasic tapas and gets great help from Ken who is doing the service.
Lovely place good music and beautiful wines. Will go here as often as possible. Even if it just for a drink or a drink and a small bite.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Marko A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    79
    22
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“absolutely top draw all round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

well, for us, this place had it all, great tasting quality food served by a mad bunch of very funny friendly guys in a historic cozy totally relaxed setting. please do not leave Lagos without spending at least one night here!!! youve been warned. oh yeh, we had the tapas fried prawns with flame grilled sausage (at the table! brilliant fun) the best ever sea bass and grilled chicken piri piri, lots of wine beer and brandy, top draw night....mike and maria

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank mikeUtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfectly cooked food, perfect service, perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

Managed to find the restaurant despite there not being a map on the listing yet (look for the sign for the Chinese restaurant above the square) and we were warmly welcomed with a little bit of banter.
All 3 of us decided to forego a starter and have a steak cooked on the open grill that you have to pass on the way in (didn't need much thought power after seeing that). We got the cover of bread, olives and garlic carrots which were topped up on demand and I even managed to get the recipe for the carrots which I'll be making as soon as I get home.
There was much discussion on the cooking of the steak and we were encouraged to err on the side of medium rare and if we wanted it more cooked it could just go back on the grill. As it was all steaks were cooked spot on for each persons tastes and were superjuicy.
For desert my friend had key lime pie (just the right size for not feeling overstuffed) and I had the pear shallot which I still don't quite understand but who cares, I could have had 2. The waiter owner brought 3 spoons so we could all share and told us that the deserts were all home made freshly by the chefs wife and he wasn't allowed in the fridge anymore cos he'd eat them all.

Overall a very fun, relaxed and scrummy night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
12 Thank Ktvl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“One of the best in Lagos!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

We read about this charming place on Tripadvisor and decided to try it. The first night we did not found it, but the next day we did. We sat outside this great little place and the welcome and service was just fantastic and laid back from the English owner, Russian waiter and Portuguese chef. The food he prepared on the grill was just fabulous - the lamb must be the best ever! We had a lot of food and wine at a very reasonable price! Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
12 Thank ISj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quality food, authentic surroundings and fabulous service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

We visted Arribale in Lagos this summer and were bowled over by the quality of meat and fish, so much so we went back again! With so many 'tourist traps' and often similar menus being offered at many restaurants this place is a breath of fresh air as the food is different and very fresh and well presented. It suited all of us as we could mix and match between large courses and tapas. The service was very good, warm and welcoming and the atmosphere is lovely too, very traditional and unspoilt. We will be back!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank Tanya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arribale also viewed

Lagos, Faro District
 
Lagos, Faro District
 

Been to Arribale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing