We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hostel Ever!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Algarve Surf Hostel - Lagos
Ranked #3 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed here for three nights, it was just the best experience. The food that the team prepares for breakfast and then as snacks throughout the day is just amazing. Breakfast is always different but amazing. The staff are super friendly and helpful. The hostel is not a party hostel which is great as most of Lagos is just one giant party. Everyone there is really respectful if people just want to go to bed early. It feels more like a home then a hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jocker321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 340 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2014

Cannot begin to rave about this hostel enough. I see exactly why it's been rated #1 in Lagos. The atmosphere is fantastic. It's a very sociable environment, but not so much so that it feels intrusive in any way. You really do feel like you're staying with friends. The place felt like home and I only stayed there 4 nights. The hostel is kept very clean, and there are many activities to keep you entertained throughout the day, whether it's to chill in the hammock by the pool, play beer/ping pong, rent bikes, play guitar.. anything! Sophie and Dexter make sure that everyone feels 100% comfortable and accommodated to their needs, while Sarah guarantees that you'll party your heart out at night, and have a delicious homemade breakfast in the morning.
This place is just enough outside the city center that you're not bothered by any sort of noise, however close enough that it's just a quick walk down to the middle of everything/the beaches. I personally did not go to their surf camp, but I heard from those that did that it's very well managed and loads of fun.
Undoubtedly the best hostel I've been to on my travels.

Room Tip: All rooms were great. Never overcrowded and has enough space for all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kerry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

If I could rate this hostel more then 5 I absolutely would.
Staff are super nice and the whole atmosphere of the hostel is like one big family.
There is always something to do whether swimming in the pool or beach, playing table tennis or pool. Or one of the many activities organised and offered by the hostel.
Breakfast is soo good. Freshly cooked pancakes, omelettes, cakes, pastries, bread rolls, salad, fruit, cereal etc.
I can not wait to go back here! It was sad to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise0106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Thoroughly recommend this hostel. Very sociable, friendly and fun even if you aren't in Portugal for surfing. Sophie and Dexter were great at being warm and helpful and really know Lagos. There were organised group meals, a night out but unfortunately we left on Friday so missed the weekly BBQ. Breakfast was great every day making the hostel really good value. It was clean and well furnished. It is a bit of a walk into town (20mins) and about 25mins to the nearest beach but taxis are only 5euros if you are feeling lazy. We even tried a days surfing, it was so much fun and want to go and try it again. A few of the instructors stay at the hostel too making it more sociable. I want to go back!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank 20somethingfemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

There is no way you won't enjoy your time here! The whole staff is amazing, all very friendly and trying to make you feel at home. They are always ready to have some fun with the guests! I spent 2 nights there and when I left felt like i had been there for a week! Also, Sophie bakes the best treats, perfect for the after-beach time! Lagos is an amazing place, but to make it memorable you have to stay at this Hostel!! Thanks a lot for all guys!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
Thank Maria Luiza F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Lagos surf hostel was an amazing experience. The staff is a mix of witty, sweet, intelligent individuals who make you feel absolutely 100% comfortable and part of their family. They knew where to go, offered all the help you needed to get/do what you want to do. And overall they create an atmosphere that all the visitors respond to, so everyone is part of the family. AND next thing you know you're talking politics with total strangers, or music with girls you've never seen before... everything a traveler should do, but Algarve surf hostel makes it that much easier. Can't thank the staff and all the guests for an inforgettable stay. Can't wait to come back.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Stayed here for a week. First time in a hostel and it was really nice! Friendly people, clean house, Nice swimmingpool and other activities to do. The staff was awesome! Sophie and Dexter are always there to help out with questions. Sophie makes the best breakfast and cookies... Sooo yummy.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liesje v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.8 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
1.4 mi away
Canavial I & II Apartments
1.4 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 53 in Lagos
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.6 mi away
Casa Mae
Casa Mae
#1 of 139 in Lagos
124 reviews
0 mi away
Lagos4U Hostel
Lagos4U Hostel
#4 of 139 in Lagos
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algarve Surf Hostel - Lagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algarve Surf Hostel - Lagos

Address: Lote 55 Rua do Cerro das Mos, Lagos 8600-714, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Price Range: $40 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing