We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best two weeks of our life!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Algarve Surf Hostel - Lagos
Ranked #1 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I will hands down say that Algarve Surf Hostel is the best hostel I have ever been to!

Even though upon arrival we soon discovered that the term 'surf hostel' does imply being a surfer, us four girls were anything but! We did try our hand at surfing but soon decided that we'd leave that sport for the more coordinated and then spent our time visiting the most stunning beaches in the world, wondering around the cute little town, partying in the local bars and more importantly chilling with the staff and other guests who have now become life long friends! (Wendy and the Snuppas, that one's for you)

We also soon realised that Algarve is not so much a hostel and more of a big communal home that we never wanted to leave! We booked in for 5 nights and ended up culling our next destination to stay for 10! While the pool, kitchen, lounge room, and bedrooms are all second to none, it wasn't the decor that did it for me but the insanely AMAZING staff. Wendy is probably the coolest chick out - she can cook a mean lasagne, and party till the cows come home, and it is her, Dexter and the other staff that make the place what it is. Algarve staff go above and beyond and I cannot wait to be back. I miss it already.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatyaaaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
There are newer reviews for Algarve Surf Hostel - Lagos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 333 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

We arrived at this hostel on the basis of staying here for only two nights and with no expectations! After our first night with the hostels famous BBQ and Wendys delicious punch followed by her amazing breakfast the morning after, we knew that THIS WAS THE PLACE TO BE!! so we extended our stay and came back after 5 weeks! They have surf lessons for every level and the surf instructors are hot and talented with great passion for their job. The hostel was always clean and tidy, and made us feel at home :) Can't wait to go back next summer :D Thanks to everyone for making our holiday memories the best! Good job!
We really recommend this hostel and surf school to everyone!
Love from Norway; Julia, Lisa and Camilla.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamillaLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Algarve Surf Hostel is my favourite hostel of all time!! Don't be fooled, you do NOT need to be a surfer to stay here. We tried it, stood up on a board for 2.35 seconds, and that was that. There is so much else to do! Wendy is the cutest host and kept us entertained the entire stay. The rooms are great, big kitchen, lounge room and amazing pool. Wendy and Dexter put on an amazing BBQ on friday nights and there are always cookies lying around. We love you Wendy!! I was initially concerned about the location, but it is an easy 10/15 minute walk into the centre. Cabs are also really cheap so getting around isn't a problem. I would recommend this hostel to anyone and everyone. Don't worry, we will be back!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

After travelling europe for 8 months this was the best hostel i stayed at during my entire trip. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean. The lounge room and games room are great social areas where you can also have your own private quiet time if you please and the pool is better than anything i've even seen in a hostel.

The location was perfect. 4 euro cab or 15 minute walk to town meant we weren't among all the tourists and noise but were close enough when we wanted to be.

But the number one asset of this place is the staff who are second to none. Some of the friendliest and most relaxed people i've ever met. The food was fantastic and we were constantly surprised by afternoon brownies or cookies.

Whether you're loud, quiet, early riser or late partier this is the place to be when you're in Lagos. I won't be forgetting this place for a long time and will make sure to stay here again the next time i'm in town.

Room Tip: no rooms had more than 6 beds so were never overloaded.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AntonGoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

BEST SURF CAMP- I have ever stayed at, friendly staff, good vibe, YUMMM FOOD tHat the staff cook, the beaches are amazing & sexy surfers, they include everyone and go out as a group! It's such a welcoming hostel & very nice to stay in! Lula is the best little PUG ever u will enjoy her company I had the best time & I will definitely back thanks surf hostel Lagos for the best stay ever, a place to I call my second home xxx

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mazzie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed at Algarve Surf camp for over a week and had the best time imaginable.
From the moment i walked in i felt like i was welcome and a part of the Algarve family.
Everything about this place and its staff is fantastic, Wendy, Tania and Dexter work their butts off to make sure your stay is the best possible and its so easy to organise anything you want to do like kayaking, scuba diving and of course surfing.
I cannot recommend it highly enough, if you are in Lagos on a budget stay here!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom Reverand P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

One of the best hostel experiences I have had in my travels! Wendy and Tanya make you feel welcome from the very beginning :) The food that is provided at breakfast makes you forget you are a struggling student traveller. If you are staying in Lagos there is no other place to stay-it has to be Algarve Surf Hostel!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank JessBaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagos
1.1 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 52 in Lagos
427 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 52 in Lagos
3,228 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lagos4U Hostel
Lagos4U Hostel
#3 of 138 in Lagos
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort
0.8 mi away
Olive Hostel
Olive Hostel
#16 of 138 in Lagos
31 reviews
11.5 mi away
Good Feeling Hostel
Good Feeling Hostel
#1 of 20 in Sagres
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algarve Surf Hostel - Lagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algarve Surf Hostel - Lagos

Address: Lote 55 Rua do Cerro das Mos, Lagos 8600-714, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Price Range: $27 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing