We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (377)
Filter reviews
377 results
Traveler rating
355
18
0
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
355
18
0
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an awesome place to stay home away from home facilities are great night life bbq night every morning train station stayed longer walk into town living room pug bbqs amado algarve vibes beaches guitar
Filter
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 377 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We arrived at this hostel on the basis of staying here for only two nights and with no expectations! After our first night with the hostels famous BBQ and Wendys delicious punch followed by her amazing breakfast the morning after, we knew that THIS WAS THE PLACE TO BE!! so we extended our stay and came back after 5 weeks! They have surf lessons for every level and the surf instructors are hot and talented with great passion for their job. The hostel was always clean and tidy, and made us feel at home :) Can't wait to go back next summer :D Thanks to everyone for making our holiday memories the best! Good job!
We really recommend this hostel and surf school to everyone!
Love from Norway; Julia, Lisa and Camilla.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamillaLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Algarve Surf Hostel is my favourite hostel of all time!! Don't be fooled, you do NOT need to be a surfer to stay here. We tried it, stood up on a board for 2.35 seconds, and that was that. There is so much else to do! Wendy is the cutest host and kept us entertained the entire stay. The rooms are great, big kitchen, lounge room and amazing pool. Wendy and Dexter put on an amazing BBQ on friday nights and there are always cookies lying around. We love you Wendy!! I was initially concerned about the location, but it is an easy 10/15 minute walk into the centre. Cabs are also really cheap so getting around isn't a problem. I would recommend this hostel to anyone and everyone. Don't worry, we will be back!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

After travelling europe for 8 months this was the best hostel i stayed at during my entire trip. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean. The lounge room and games room are great social areas where you can also have your own private quiet time if you please and the pool is better than anything i've even seen in a hostel.

The location was perfect. 4 euro cab or 15 minute walk to town meant we weren't among all the tourists and noise but were close enough when we wanted to be.

But the number one asset of this place is the staff who are second to none. Some of the friendliest and most relaxed people i've ever met. The food was fantastic and we were constantly surprised by afternoon brownies or cookies.

Whether you're loud, quiet, early riser or late partier this is the place to be when you're in Lagos. I won't be forgetting this place for a long time and will make sure to stay here again the next time i'm in town.

Room Tip: no rooms had more than 6 beds so were never overloaded.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AntonGoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

BEST SURF CAMP- I have ever stayed at, friendly staff, good vibe, YUMMM FOOD tHat the staff cook, the beaches are amazing & sexy surfers, they include everyone and go out as a group! It's such a welcoming hostel & very nice to stay in! Lula is the best little PUG ever u will enjoy her company I had the best time & I will definitely back thanks surf hostel Lagos for the best stay ever, a place to I call my second home xxx

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mazzie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed at Algarve Surf camp for over a week and had the best time imaginable.
From the moment i walked in i felt like i was welcome and a part of the Algarve family.
Everything about this place and its staff is fantastic, Wendy, Tania and Dexter work their butts off to make sure your stay is the best possible and its so easy to organise anything you want to do like kayaking, scuba diving and of course surfing.
I cannot recommend it highly enough, if you are in Lagos on a budget stay here!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom Reverand P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews