We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool insight into the surfer life!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Algarve Surf Hostel - Lagos
Ranked #1 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely recommendable. Be it only to stay a few nights when on the journey through or for 1-2 week surf course, this is the place to go! The staff is friendly, competent and definitely fun to be around.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phantomben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
There are newer reviews for Algarve Surf Hostel - Lagos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 333 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

Had a an amazing week here at the end of August 2013. Only great things to say about this place and the people involved in running the place. As other reviews have said, it really doesn't feel like a hostel and more like a home. It's modern, clean, tidy, comfortable, and all those good things, but it's the staff that make this place. I surfed for the week, so got to know the instructors as well as the hostel staff - and they're all such top people who made me feel so welcome. I'd highly recommend this place, and am looking at returning in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I choose to come here just to have a surfing base. But I found very nice people so I also had a lot of fun with Dinner Parties, Chillout at the swimming pool, and enjoing together the nightlife of Lagos. The hotel is clean and the breakfast served was always very good and complete. I think It is a perfect vacation for everyone who likes to enjoy surfig courses beside having a lot of fun!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony3vis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had a really awesome time at the hostel! It was the perfekt place to stay and we enjoyed every second of our surfholiday. Breakfast is really good - all the diverse and important things we needet to start the day. And then the people. Tania, Wendy and Dexter made our days. The atmosphere is very chilled in the house, it is clean and well organized and one realizes that the staff goes beyond duty, trying to make your stay as perfect as possible. And one thing is definitely worth mentioning: the barbeque which was organized by the hostel. Never had a bbq like that - it was AWESOME. Ok. Like you already noticed our stay at Algarve Surf Hostel in Lagos was just perfect. If you want to stay in a hostel - choose this one. You won't regret it!!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Jo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had such a great time at the hostel, really loved our stay.
The balance between having a chill day at the pool and having a party at night was perfect.
Tania, Wendy and Dexter make you feel welcome and comfortable like you would feel at home.
If you have to choose a hostel choose this one!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We couldn't have hoped for a better place to stay. Clean, safe, secure and brilliant staff made our stay an absolute pleasure.

Thank you to Wendy, Dexter and Tania for being perfect hosts, cooking some great food and going beyond the call of duty on one particular night!

The surfing side was extremely well organised and excellent fun (we were beginners). Final thanks to Sam for being such a professional and patient instructor. Hopefully see you all again.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: The hostel offer a separate double room allowing a bit more privacy should you want it.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Had such as great experience staying here. This hostel has a great balance between being chilled enough to relax and social enough to have a party night out. Can't say enough good things about the staff; Tania, Wendy, Dexter and Lula who are super friendly and welcoming, making it feel like a home rather than a hostel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeJB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagos
1.1 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 52 in Lagos
427 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 52 in Lagos
3,227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lagos4U Hostel
Lagos4U Hostel
#3 of 138 in Lagos
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort
0.8 mi away
Olive Hostel
Olive Hostel
#16 of 138 in Lagos
31 reviews
11.5 mi away
Good Feeling Hostel
Good Feeling Hostel
#1 of 20 in Sagres
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algarve Surf Hostel - Lagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algarve Surf Hostel - Lagos

Address: Lote 55 Rua do Cerro das Mos, Lagos 8600-714, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Price Range: $27 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing