We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (377)
Filter reviews
377 results
Traveler rating
355
18
0
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
355
18
0
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ping pong boat party an awesome place to stay amazing week home away from home facilities are great bed dorm bbq night swimming pool every morning special thanks train station stayed longer walk into town bbqs fireplace algarve
Filter
Updating list...
256 - 261 of 377 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Firsty I can already tell you that I can't describe all the love, care and fun we got at this hostel. This started as soon as I entered the front gate. The people of the hostel were just having one of there famous friday night bbqs and we got invited right away. In a few minutes we felt us more welcome than we ever did in another hostel. The staff of this hostel (Wendy, Tanya and Dexter) is definately the key to the succes. They'll do everything to give you the best Lagosexperience you can imagine. They took us to most of the bars and some restaurants, made the nicest breakfast, did some great cooking, had some great drunken nights with us and became real friends.
The rooms in the hostel are very clean and some even have their own bathroom. The other facilities of the hostel are also great, they have a nice pool area, pingpongtable and some nice 'chill' areas. Everything is very clean and nice refurbished.
The hostel just offers everything for any kind of tourist, if you either come with a big group or by yourself, I'm sure you'll have the best time in the Algarve surf hostel.
Can't wait to go back and see ya's in AMSTERDAM!!!! xxxxx Victoria

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 638victoriab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is my 2nd visit to this hostel in the last 12 months and it won't be my last. This year they were full for the first week of my trip so I thought I would try a hostel that is a close competitor and is also very highly ranked on trip advisor. But I have to say, the Algarve surf hostel knocks spots off the other place. As soon as I arrived I felt instantly at home, the environment and staff are incredibly welcoming and within 5 minutes you feel like you have been there a week. The location is great and the hostel allows you to easily go out to party or stay in and chill with a movie, it has the best of both worlds. The breakfasts are amongst the best I have had in any hostel across the world and always include a different hot option each morning. They even put out ingredients for you to make a nice lunch, warm fresh rolls, meats, cheeses, tuna and fruit. We loved the downstairs area with the pool table, table tennis, beer fridge and music which opens out onto the pool, a great place to relax with a beer before you head out. A lovely house that is run by passionate and friendly staff who work really hard to ensure you'll have a great time, and that want for you to enjoy yourself becomes very clear. When we were there, they organised a meal out for 24 people, did a huge BBQ, and cooked an amazing dinner with wine for everyone. Unlike any other hostel I have been at, they manage to bring everyone together and you'll end up being part of a very large group of friends by the time you leave. If your thinking about surfing with them then I would recommend it, Amado beach where they are based is spectacular with a lovely little beach bar and the instructors are first class. A huge well done and thank you for another great week to Dexter, Tanya, and Wendy. Your doing a great job guys and I'm pleased to see you at the number 1 spot on TA, you deserve it.

Date of stay: July 2013
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank mattijones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

As soon as you come through the door the staff do everything they can to make you feel as welcome as possible. One of the hostels greatest assets is it's staff. Dexter, Tanya and Wendy were so friendly, helpful, engaging and humorous; well they could have been Welsh!. The hostel is always clean, rooms tidy and en suite facilities extremely handy! The hostel provides an excellent breakfast, certainly the best I have had in a hostel and the opportunity to make yourself a tasty nutritious lunch to take away during your daily activities. Whether just relaxing around the pool, surfing or doing some of the many activities on offer, there was also something to do. The guys also took time out to organise evening activities; such as meals out which is certainly a must for any person travelling on their own to meet the many diverse and interesting people that pass through the hostel, making the stay as enjoyable as possible. I will certainly recommend the hostel to anyone I know going to Lagos. Friends of mine are organising a trip away next June for a function and I will be pushing to make it Lagos and the Algarve Surf Hostel our accommodation. One happy tourist!!

Date of stay: July 2013
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank JDJ1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Firstly, the breakfast is the best breakfast I have had in ANY hostel. All the staff are amazingly helpful and friendly and they throw the best BBQ's/ dinners and parties :)
Had the most amazing time during my stay here, would recommend this hostel to everyone. Feels like one big family. Can't wait to see you all again ^_^ xx
Love,
Bec and Jess

Date of stay: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becdvrece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I was made to feel welcome as soon has I came through the front gate. The staff, Dexter, Wendy and Tanya were fantastic all week and they do everything within their power to make sure your stay at the Hostel is the best it can be. The hostel is clean and tidy always, the rooms are great with en-suite facilities. The pool is area is fantastic to catch the rays and just to chill out. The breakfast provided at the hostel is the best I have experienced within hostel accomodation and could not be faulted. The atmosphere around the hostel is was very chilled out and I was lucky to meet some very cool and interesting people. I have been very lucky to travel and stay in numerous hostels around the world. I would not have any hesitation in going straight back to the Algarve Surf School the next time I am in Lagos. I would recommened this hostel to anyone who is thinking about staying in Lagos for any period of time. Lastly the best thing about the hostel for me was definetly the staff, guys take a bow you made my stay very enjoyable thank you very much, until the next time! John.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews