We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Delightful Place for an Evening Meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of O Charco

O Charco
Ranked #322 of 386 Restaurants in Lagos
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“A Delightful Place for an Evening Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

I have visited this restaurant on two separate trips to Lagos and have found it most delightful on both occasions.
Sitting in the area external to the restaurant (or in the street if you prefer), there is a wonderful ambience to be enjoyed whilst dining and watching the world go by. The narrow streets with their white cobbled surface shine in the evening lights, and with the other restaurants having similar outside seating arrangements the whole area has a definite 'good holiday feeling' to it.
If you visit here for a meal, make sure to have a jug of sangria to complement it, it is also very good.
On our most recent trip, the four of us dined here, with each choosing a separate meal, (I had the Strognoff), and all of us enjoyed their respective dishes.
I thought the prices were about average for the restaurants competing in the main streets of Lagos, but certainly not expensive.
The waiters were friendly, able to discuss the dishes on the menu and advise if asked. Although dining in an October evening with the temperatures of the day falling, I was able to eat in my shirt sleeves due to the outdoor heaters provided in this area. We were entertained by a passing street entertainer playing some selected tunes on a Saxaphone which added to the overall atmosphere in my opinion.
Would definitely go back on my next visit.
Would recommend this venue to couples seeking a romantic evening out or even a group of friends looking to enjoy an evening meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stewart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    59
    49
    46
    106
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Yes, it's a bit touristy, but it will be... It's in the main tourist street!
My wife and I were shopping in the fabulous town of Lagos and we needed some lunch.
Oh! Where to go... there are lots of places.
I'm soooo pleased we called here though, our waitress (a young, very attractive, dark haired lady, who's name I didn't get) was absolutely fantastic, we both had a very, very enjoyable and tasty tuna salad (yes, I know it's probably hard to get a tuna salad wrong), but nevertheless, it was well constructed, fresh, tasty and of ample measure.
A great little cafe right in the heart of town. Good coffee too. We'll be back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TimmyTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Ate her on holiday before I read the bad reviews just as well maybe as we had no major complaints at all. Food was grand service too now it wasn't high end food but for what we paid for it I couldn't fault it, I had the monkfish in cream sauce which was delicious very very filling, my husband had stead which as he said wasn't the best he had in Lagos but certainly very acceptable. Glad we gave it a go.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Collessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food at a great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just stumbled upon this restaurant. Simple food, delicious tasting and nicely presented. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We liked it so much we went back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank holidaymanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong kong
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tourist trap, bad food for steep price”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is busy becuz of the location it was at, in lagos town and it opens in late afternoon as well. I guess that's why alot of tourist fall into this trap.

We ordered a pizza, a tropical salad, cataplana and piri piri chicken.
Here is how the food turns out
Pizza: it came half cooked we told thw waiter, 10mins later it comes back all soggy cuz they put it in microwave.
Tropical salad that cost over 10euros is fruit mixed together which suprisingly is not that bad.
Cataplana is okay for the price i think it could be better.

The piri piri chicken I couldn't finish, it was over marinade, the meat was all mushi. It's super disgusting.
The best thing about that place is the orange juice, it was really fresh and good. But cost 4 euro per glass!!

The waiter is not too bad after we complained about the pizza he took it off and didnt't charge us.

All in all just don't go to this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank iamsurfergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Charco also viewed

Lagos, Faro District
Lagos, Faro District
 
Lagos, Faro District
Lagos, Faro District
 
Lagos, Faro District
Lagos, Faro District
 

Been to O Charco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing