We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belmar Spa & Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent vacation!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were just blown away by the beauty of the hotel area. We loved the big room (attached to main building, separate bedroom, living room and kitchen). It was very clean and had everything you need in modern kitchen (we stayed with 2 kids). Cleaning and change of towels was every day even though we red before that it might not be so. The personnel was really friendly everywhere in the hotel, but especially in the restaurant. The food was really good and it was a nice choice for dining with kids as well. Our room was perfect as we could go from balcony (1 floor) to pools. The sea was very close but we mostly wanted to stay at our the pools that were connected to spa. Also, we drove to centrum of Lagos several times, and there are a lot nice shops to see. The food in the town was not always good but in the hotel it was. Highly recommend Belmar!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johannafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    233
    45
    19
    8
See reviews for
323
254
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leicester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with four friends and the apartment we stayed in was beautiful clean and had wonderful views two min walk from beach ten min drive to town
The pools were really nice and the food in the restaurant was really tasty staff were friendly and spoke English

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parmjit s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Looking at pictures of the hotel before our arrival we thought it "looked nice". When we got there and turned the key in our apartment door (3 bedroom), we were blown away at how modern, clean and beautiful it was. We were very impressed with the views our apartment location gave (overlooked a pool and sea). Location wise the hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the beach, which was also fabulous.
We read reviews to rent a car and I would reiterate this. It is about a 5 minute drive from the nearest town and we just found having a car so useful.
If you want a relaxing holiday, this is your place. It isn't the busiest of hotels but we liked that. When we wanted a night out, the town had a good night life.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank powpow25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch
Level Contributor
197 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stopped for a week in Sept. Very comfortable, spotlessly clean and all mod cons, including a range of sat, TV channels, and well appointed kitchen area.. Staff helpful and friendly.
The outdoor areas were again spotlessly clean, and plenty of sun loungers by the pools.
Although I'm now going to be picky.
If you are billed as a 4 star spa hotel, I would expect bathrobes in the bedrooms.
It seemed to take forever for the water to heat up for a shower, and there was not temperature regulator, so it changed from cold to hot, then back to cold.
Towels were only changed twice a week, but for a charge would be done more frequently.
The hydrotherapy pools were only on for set periods during the day & turned off at 5.30pm.
The restaurant only served what I would term bar food, which although was very good, is not really 4 star.
Neither of the outdoor pools were heated, which made them very uncomfortable, even when the sun had been on them all day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaz-b98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We spent 4 nights in a 3- bedroomed apartment at the BELMAR Spa and Beach Resort recently! Only criticism- far too short!!! Excellent, friendly service, superb, clean, modern, spacious accommodation, outstanding views. Wish we could have been there longer to make full use of all the facilities. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed here for a 2 week holiday in September 2013 and whilst we normally stay in a hotel we took a chance on the offer of a 2 bed apartment which was furnished beautifully - a true home from home with all mod cons. The styling is lovely, modern and exceptionally clean. We overlooked a swimming pool of which there are 5 located at different points around the site. Due to the late season there was no problem with sun beds at all the weather was fantastic too which helped along with the beautiful Porto Mos beach which was literally a 2 min walk away. Housekeeping was very good and they responded immediately to our request for extra pillows. All staff are very helpful and smiley. Hotel breakfast is of a good quality with plenty of choices for hot or cold options. Also provided was a listing of recommended eating establishments - How great was that! If your legs are good you will be able to mount the hill to get to local shops or extend your walk to the main town and marina area both of which excel in a fantastic choice of eating and drinking establishments - Else a taxi is only about 5 euros. The location of this hotel is excellent for car hire and travelling about with excellent parking facilities on site. Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Its worth paying the extra to overlook the pool - you can see if its free and how many people are al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules-of-beckenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed in Belmar for the 1st 2 weeks in July. 2 adults 2 kids. Our apartment was superb. It was very large with 2 good-sized bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a large living room, a large furnished patio and a modern, clean kitchen with seemingly brand new equipment. The large flatscreen TV had a lot of channels including Irish channels.
There are 4 outdoor pools and 1 indoor pool so the only problem was which one to choose each day. The gym was excellent and had very modern equipment.
There is a very good beach nearby (200m) with all water sports, loungers, etc.
We used the hotel restaurant twice but were not overly impressed, however there are good restaurant options nearby with 2 decent beachside restaurants and a luxury restaurant with a fantastic view within 800m.
Lagos town is about 3km away - €6 in a taxi. It has a lot of restaurants & bars and a buzzy streetlife. There is a small supermarket 5 minutes away but it is a 25 minute walk to a good supermarket.
The downsides? The restaurant is mediocre; the bar is in the lobby and lacks atmosphere; there was no entertainment (although a programme of entertainment was set to start the day after we left); there were no children's activities. But overall, the positives greatly outweigh these minor negatives.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathal_D5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.4 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 52 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,955 reviews
2.2 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 52 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 52 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 52 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.9 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
1.8 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmar Spa & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmar Spa & Beach Resort

Property: Belmar Spa & Beach Resort
Address: Estrada Do Porto Mos, Lagos 8600-513, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lagos
#2 Family Hotel in Lagos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#3 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Belmar Spa & Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmar Spa & Beach Resort overlooks the beautiful beach of Porto de Mos in Lagos and comprises studio, one, two and three bedroom apartments and two bedroom townhouses many of which have beach views. The fully equipped accommodation is of a high specification with luxurious interior design and includes satellite TV, DVD player, air conditioning and a fully equipped kitchen (or kitchenette in the studio apartments). The Belmar Spa offers a wide range of luxurious spa rituals in addition to the indoor swimming pool, sauna, Turkish bath and relaxing Chromotherapy suite. The outdoor leisure area comprises a tennis court/multipurpose sports pitch and a children's playground. There are four communal swimming pools, a children’s pool and an outdoor Jacuzzi and Hydrotherapy pool adjoining the spa. This luxury resort is just a five minute drive from the bustling town centre of Lagos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmar Spa & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmar Spa And Beach Resort
Belmar Spa & Beach Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing