We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belmar Spa & Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Fordingbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Holiday”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Have just returned from a week long holiday with my 6 year old daughter and mum. The apartment was amazing, looked brand new and had everything you could possibly need. Two bedrooms and bathrooms, fully equipped kitchen and huge lounge and dinning area, also had added benefit of a garden. The whole complex is spotlessly clean as are the pools. There are 4 outdoor pools, one kids pool and one indoor pool attached to the spa. There was never more than 6 people around the pool at one time so plenty of room and sun loungers. Can also highly recommend the hotel restaurant, lovely food and very well priced, staff were great too, very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Prefect location just above a great beach, can also recommend the restaurant Antonio on the beach, great food but does get very busy after about 8 o'clock. Will be going back again as soon as possible.

Room Tip: I think any of the apartments would be amazing, two bedroom one we had for 3 of us was huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    233
    45
    19
    8
See reviews for
323
254
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

After choosing this resort based on Tripadvisor reviews, we weren't totally disappointed. The resort is about 15 minutes drive from Lagos Railway station and is about 10 minutes away from the town centre.
Its 5 minute walk to the wavy beaches and its perfect to be that bit out of town. We hired a car, which I think is a must, and the resort offers this which we weren't aware of. However they do call taxi's for you if you didn't want to drive.

The rooms are self catering style and our room consisted of a queen sized bed, microwave, cooker, kettle and dishwasher. They provide all necessary cutlery, plates, and cups and glasses its great. The view of the pool ( we were on the ground floor) was lovely and quiet. The rooms were cool and airy. The bathroom was slightly smaller than it should be, but still big enough for a couple.

Breakfast was included in our price and this couldn't be faulted. The view of the beach and sea is amazing and the buffet breakfast was lovely.

However there were some negative points which I think should be taken into account of if travelling with a young baby. My daughter is 10 months and therefore crawling and standing where possible. The room we were given had a pot plant which had pebbles in the and therefore became an issue as my daughter kept trying to put it in her mouth. The plant is huge and couldn't be moved
There isn't enough space to hang clothing.
The cleaners came twice a week, to change towels but came at random times. We would see them in the morning and when we got back to our room they hadn't cleaned but decided to clean when we were there. This was annoying considering we were told that they cleaned in the afternoons, but this wasn't so as they did arrive at random times in the morning!
The resort charged for using a baby travel cot. I've travelled many places and this the first time I have been charged for the not so new or perfect condition cot. At €8 its ridiculously high and they know its required and many, including us, will pay for it.
The outdoor balcony was shared with the next room which is weird as every other room had private terraces and also enclosed.
Some rooms had washing machines and to be honest I'd rather have a room with a washing machine instead of a dishwasher. With a baby , the machine was definitely required. So hand washing was done instead. However we were not offered on, it was only when we say the room instructions in our room that we knew this was an option.
You have to work out your self how to get to the pools. As they are not directly accessible. You have to go through certain areas.
The staff were very friendly but not as informative as they could have been when you first arrive. Little things like how to get to the pool, how to put the AC on and putting the blinds down could have been explained or a leaflet provided!
Restaurant in the resort had lovely food and do provide a take away service, however be prepared to be treated differently if taking away. Whilst you may be paying the same price and eating from the same menu as someone who would eat in, you can wait up to an hour for your food!

The hotel is nice but does have flaws. Lagos is beautiful and the location is great when you want to be away from the busy town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ansu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We ( 2 adults and 2 children age 7 and 11y) have just returned after 7 days at the Hotel. We had a wonderful apartment with 170 degrees ocean view, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms with tubs, kitchen, living room, two balconies and a top roof terrace. It was a really nice apartment! It got cleaned twice in a week and that was just fine. They change the towels but they do not give you new shampoo or soap (I asked in the reception though and got 2 little extra shampoos and a smile). We had read on Tripadvisor about the "splashing water problem in the showers", so we were prepared for that - but it turned out that we had absolutely no problem keeping the water from splashing on the floor. Maybe the hotel has fixed the problem in our apartment...
The beds are a little on the hard side - but my husband loved them. Everything was new in the kitchen. Only negative thing to say on our apartment was that it had ants in the kitchen, so we had to really clean the floor and table to keep the ants away. The swimmingpools are nice and with different depths. Breakfast was just fine. The staff in the restaurant are helpful and very service minded, the same thing goes about the reception staff. Smiling and helpful people! Remember to get a key for the safety box in the apartment. Outside the hotel there are lots of flowers and palm trees - all kept beautifully. The hotel is very relaxing and we forgot all about the outside world when we were there. Not a place for party people I would think. The beach is a 2 min walk away and it is really wonderful. You can walk along the beach for around 15-20 min before you have to turn around. You can also walk on the cliffs next to the ocean. There you can take looong walks, but remember water when it is hot! I recommend renting a car! We loved the freedom and we found a cheap and nice supermarket (Lidl) that was to far for walking distance. We went on a dolphin safari and we all got seasick. So did 70% of all the people on board! Think about that before you step on the safari boats. It was really disgusting with all the sick people everywhere and when we finally saw the dolphins, we were to sick to take any pictures :-( Our youngest didn't even want to look at them - and she normally LOVES dolphins. We fell completely in love with Lagos and the beaches. It is a wonderful place on earth, and we will definitely return to the same hotel next time. The portuguese people are very nice, smiling and polite - and a lot of them are very good in speaking english.

Room Tip: Apartment with roof terrace are nice. Ask for an apartment without neighbors. Appartment B2I is nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxLExx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Just came back from a 9 night stay at the Belmar Resort in Lagos, Portugal. We had a 2 bedroom apartment with ample space and a beautiful view of the Atlantic Ocean. We couldn't believe the size of our living space. The rooftop terrace with lounge chairs, dining table, and view was spectacular.

The entire resort was clean with 3 pools to choose from. While the staff was very friendly and accommodating, I would say this was more of a hands off approach. Felt as though this was an apartment we owned with a restaurant and spa on the property. This is a good thing in my opinion. The cleaners were excellent and came 2-3 times throughout our stay tidying up the apartment. The restaurant was affordable and food was good. I opted for a spa massage which I enjoyed.

The resort was very comfortable, and there was always chairs available at the pool. The pictures represented on trip advisor are accurate. We were minutes from the local beach, as well as less than 5 minutes drive to some of the other beautiful beaches in Lagos.

I would absolutely return to this resort, and think Lagos is a fantastic place to spend a holiday in the Algarve, but don't tell too many people.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom apartment was huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cfmitchellumd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

The but isn't a big one, we've been visiting this area of Portugal for many years and witnessed this property being constructed.
We viewed the apartments a few years ago when they were near completion.
We were so impressed with the size and quality of the rooms we said we would stay here when it was opened.
Overall we have received good value for money, the spacious rooms with high quality fixtures and fittings have been great for us and our two children.
The pool located in our section of the hotel ( outside of the main block) was very well kept and never busy.
Breakfasts were good- not a massive choice but good quality and we found all the staff pleasant, friendly and as helpful as they could be.
One member of reception staff appeared a little rude and abrupt due to the fact we rudely interrupted her whilst she was on her mobile on a personal call!
The public areas are generally well kept and presentable.
The reason for the but is.. There is just a slight lack of attention to detail, that attention that differentiates an outstanding resort service to one of an ok standard.
For instance... Our room appeared ill prepared for our arrival, dirty windows, sand etc on terrace, hand prints over the high gloss doors in the kitchen, and bedrooms, finger prints on the unpolished surface of the stainless toilet flush mechanism.
It also states that a welcome pack containing shower gel, shampoo, tea, coffee, water and milk amongst other items should be in the room we didn't get any, we did call to reception and they apologised and sent up 2 small shower gels and a soap!
It appears that the grounds maintenance and the cleaning serviced are out sourced, they should review the cleaning contract in my opinion.
We resolved these very small issues by buying cleaning products and doing it ourselves so please don't let it put you off.

In summary if you have a small family and want a reasonable standard of accommodation in a lovely area providing a great base for exploring this fantastic part of the world you won't go far wrong!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cayenne40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Really enjoying our stay here, other than the slow sporadic Internet. We have one on the studios off the pool. Very nice, clean property. Pool is beautiful with a great view of the ocean. Beach within a short walk. Lots of other beaches and grottos a short car drive. Restaurant on beach right down from hotel is good with fun ocean views. Price very reasonable in relation to quality of property.

Room Tip: Studios are right off the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteamboatScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at The Belmar Spa & Beach Resort from 13th - 20th June and absolutely loved the place. Our first contact at the hotel was Ricardo who was superb, helpful, courteous, funny & very professional. The hotel itself has a lovely feel about it, very relaxing. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained.

Ricardo showed us to our apartment, which was amazing, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, balcony back & front, kitchen to die for which was all very modern & contemporary with so much space. We had a huge flat screen tv, L shaped leather sofas, dining table, electronic shutters, powerful showers and plenty more.

We had lunch on many occassions overlooking the pool area & found the food to be delicous & very reasonable, our favourites were the tuna salad (enough for at least 2 people), chorizo in brandy, hummous.

I would recommend that you hire a car, although only about 5 euros to go into Lagos by taxi. All in all if you are looking for a lovely relaxing holiday then this is the place for you, we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillyJWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.4 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 52 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,955 reviews
2.2 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 52 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 52 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 52 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.9 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
1.8 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmar Spa & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmar Spa & Beach Resort

Property: Belmar Spa & Beach Resort
Address: Estrada Do Porto Mos, Lagos 8600-513, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lagos
#2 Family Hotel in Lagos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#3 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Belmar Spa & Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmar Spa & Beach Resort overlooks the beautiful beach of Porto de Mos in Lagos and comprises studio, one, two and three bedroom apartments and two bedroom townhouses many of which have beach views. The fully equipped accommodation is of a high specification with luxurious interior design and includes satellite TV, DVD player, air conditioning and a fully equipped kitchen (or kitchenette in the studio apartments). The Belmar Spa offers a wide range of luxurious spa rituals in addition to the indoor swimming pool, sauna, Turkish bath and relaxing Chromotherapy suite. The outdoor leisure area comprises a tennis court/multipurpose sports pitch and a children's playground. There are four communal swimming pools, a children’s pool and an outdoor Jacuzzi and Hydrotherapy pool adjoining the spa. This luxury resort is just a five minute drive from the bustling town centre of Lagos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmar Spa & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmar Spa And Beach Resort
Belmar Spa & Beach Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing