We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's grand”
Review of Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Lagos
limerick,ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“It's grand”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at the Tivoli twice, the main reason for returning is the location.Its perfect for strolling around Lagos at night and you have the bus service to their beach club the next day!The hotel is very clean.The breakfast won't win any awards and the coffee is truly awful!The decor in the rooms is straight from the 80s.But withstanding these criticisms we still like the hotel and it's staff.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deauvile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    1,347
    570
    204
    112
See reviews for
417
1,599
188
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This is a fine if dated hotel ,with interesting decor and spacious public areas--lounge, bar,library, dining room, pool etc etc. However, as guests we felt we weren't that important and that the convenience of the hotel was more important. Some specific examples:
a) Being made to wait 30 minute to check in even though we arrived at the appointed 14.00 check in time AND the hotel was half empty.
b) Finding out after we checked in that our previously booked Valentines dinner venue had been changed from the romantic and cosy Pateo Velhoe to an annexe of the main ( vast) dining and breakfast area--without explanation or apology until much later.
c) Lack of any tea/coffee facilities in rooms and a charge of 5 euros to have tea delivered to the room.
d) A 5 euro per 24 hour charge for the internet and even GHA gold members qualifying for free internet access were only allowed connection for one device..
e) Lack of adequate heating in the main open plan lounge and bar area--we had to wear coats and eventually adjourn to a local bar outside.The local barmen seemed unsurprised that we had fled the luxury hotel and said they were too mean to turn the heating up.
f) Lack of complimentary in-room drinking water and an outrageous charge of 3 euros for a litre bottle of water.
g) An open fire only if requested in a part of the lounge that also doubled as the smoking area and hence was shunned by most of the guests.

Inspite of all this we enjoyed the food and the service and friendliness of most of the staff , especially a superb waiter called Tiago who apologised for our Valentine's dinner disappointment and tried to make amends with a complimentary bottle of wine when we did eventually get to dine in the Pateo Velhoe on our second night.
We were going to recommend the hotel to some friends /family visiting the area later this spring but will look elsewhere after this disappointing experience.

Room Tip: Try to get an upgrade . The double rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grumpy666_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Centrally located one street behind the main strip to front of Marina in Lagos, rooms are clean and comfortable, a nice lounge bar on the first floor and small but very nice outdoor swimming pool with indoor facilities also available.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ronanocathain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton
Level Contributor
291 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Over the years this is the fourth time we have stayed at this hotel the hotel is in a good location In the centre of town this hotel has been there a number of years it's well
Maintained the staff are friendly and courteous.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank StocktonSween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston, Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed at the Tivoli whilst Property hunting around Lagos. Very central in Lagos town, tricky to find at first but then easy. Perfect base from which to see the area, very close to the Promenade and Marina, 5 10 minutes to the Beach.
We stayed here in January so the Hotel was half empty, weather was ok but lots of places closed for Winter.
The Hotel is old and a little tired, but very clean, nice Pool, excellent friendly staff, we were really comfortable here. In January, because there isnt many in, anybody on Half Board actually gets to go for a Al a Carte Meal in the Restaurant every night, very quaint, just like eating out in a nice Restaurant,
Would go again as its so central, with Parking and the staff are wonderful.
Be careful with Car Hire through Travel republic, says £28 for week, then Goldcar sting you for about another £120 for Insurance, otherwise its £900 excess

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gkbrownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for Xmas 2013 and the New Year. The hotel is very nice and is in a good location for bars, restaurants, shops also for public transport.
The staff are friendly and obliging, breakfast and evening meal were Buffet style and there was plenty to choose from.
Rooms cleaned every day, towels changed. beds changed about 4 times in the 10days we were there.
Only problem with hotel it was very cold no matter where you were sitting.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 276ChristineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel for the last six years it is a good location short walk to the restaurants , shops and bars. The breakfast is very good and well presented , you would have difficulty in finding a more attractive dining room the staff are obliging . We have always found that this hotel is amazing value for money out of season November to March.
It is not a new hotel we have always been happy with our room, spotless... with better room towels than the vila Gale ( Which we use in other resorts)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yorkshirecouple489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagos
1.0 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.9 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 50 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 50 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#2 of 50 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
17.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#4 of 50 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Lagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Property: Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Address: Rua Antonio Crisogono Dos Santos, Lagos 8600-678, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#9 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Lagos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its privileged location in the very centre of Lagos, this 4 star hotel in the Algarve is a real reflection of local culture, from the decoration by Maria Jose Salavisa to the white and blue walkways which connect the rooms, patios, restaurants and bar. To make sure that you enjoy your stay even more, the Tivoli Lagos provides a free shuttle to the Duna Beach Club ,located only 2 kilometers away from the hotel, offering fun and entertainment for both adults and children. On the long white beach at Meia Praia, the Duna Bar provides the backdrop for numerous parties, banquets and even beach weddings. Just a short walk from lots of entertainment options in the centre and the marina and just a few kilometres from the best golf courses in the Algarve, this friendly and welcoming beach resort in the Algarve is an excellent option for meetings and events, as well as for great getaway weekends and family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Tivoli Lagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Hotel Lagos
Lagos Tivoli Hotel
Hotel Tivoli Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing