We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A november break in the Algarve”
Review of Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in Lagos
Reviewed December 12, 2013

On the recommendation of a friend we spent a few days in the Tivoli Lagos hotel. in late November 2013. With weather conditions like a good summer in Ireland we spent most of our time outdoors. The hotel is very impressive and comfortable and convenient to the city centre and public transport. It is not cheap but value for money.

Room Tip: Look for a club room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iaclo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,052 - 2,058 of 3,317 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed here in early November, as part of a self booked two centre holiday on the Algarve. We also spent 4 nights in Tavira at the Vila Gale Tavira (also reviewed). I am surprised that some guests do not seem to like this hotel. We have stayed here many times and always enjoy our visit. The hotel was built, I believe, in the 1970's and is very cleverly designed. The rooms radiate from the upper circulation area with the main entrance below. It is not very suitable for anyone with mobility problems as some rooms are quite a walk via corridors and steps, although the porter always offers to help with luggage. We like the rooms as they have an intimate feel as you are not really aware of neighbouring guests. There is a free 'bomb site' car park or you can pay for underground parking. The hotel is one of only a few close to the town centre and it's many excellent restaurants. The hotel is clean and comfortable although occasionally the rooms do not get cleaned until late afternoon. This is not a problem for us as we are out all day. The bar prices are high, but there are several local bars nearby which are much cheaper. Breakfast is very good, and the dining room has nice views of the town.

Room Tip: Do not choose this hotel if you want to sit on the balcony in the sun. Most rooms overlook a shady...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Small but cosy room in main part of the hotel. As vegetarians there were sufficient breakfast options and soya milk could be requested. We parked our car in the free outdoor car park - be careful driving as the ground is quite rocky. There are two PC's for free internet, but join the hotel loyalty scheme for free internet vouchers to surf on your own laptop :-) The health club and room TV are not the most modern but perfectly adequate. The hotel is central with easy access to banks, shops etc and a 30 minute walk to a vey nice beach. A positive experience - we would return again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank piggy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed again at the Tivoli for the third time. Staff very pleasant, helpful and accommodating . Very convenient position near the Marina , shops and restaurants. Hired a car this time . Kept it in the free secure car park in the grounds. Dining room for breakfast very relaxing . Food fresh and adequate. Bedroom quite large this time -comfortable bed. Linen changed often . Whole hotel spotless despite the fact it is not a new hotel. Had a very reasonable deal with a flight.
Bar was open but hardly anyone in it as there was only 2 nights of entertainment in 12 days we were there. That was a shame as the Jazz band is excellent .
Used the indoor pool most days . It was kept at 32 deg . Very warm. Reception changed towels at no extra cost . Free use of computer but a charge for wi fi. A shame when you could get free wifi at all the bars and cafés.
Shall stay at Tivoli again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 73ChrisR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We returned to the hotel again and enjoyed our stay. We had a good upgraded room, Internet connection was great even round the pool. The hotel is like a warren, this time we were in block2 quite a walk from dining room and reception and on third floor. We took advantage of this as a bit of exercise after all the fabulous Lagos food. We walked up and down 3 flights of stairs instead of taking the lift all the time. Good for you and counteracts all the lazing by the pool! Only slight disappointment was the breakfasts compared to most other hotels we have stayed in. Would return. Does need updating but in ideal location for all the wonderful restaurants and the town. Love Lagos, the Marina and the people. By the way we are in our 70's and didn't find the stairs or the distance throughout the hotel a problem.

Room Tip: Get an upgraded room for more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 734suzannem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We were over the moon with our choice of staying in Hotel Tivoli while visiting Lagos.

The hotel itself is lovely, really nice location, far enough away from the nightlife to be quiet but close enough for a nice evening walk to dinner.

The pool was cold, but a welcome relief from the scorching sun!

It was well kept, clean and the spa area was lovely too, a massage is a must have while staying here! The breakfast was amazing, so much, almost too much if that is possible!

The indoor pool is nice if you want to escape the sun too, but on a bed round the pool completely relaxing is the way to go!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Celebranests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Loved this hotel, lots of open spaces, beautiful setting, a few minutes walk to the town, must be the best positioned hotel in Lagos. Has a lovely pool but also access to the the beach club by free bus. Staff very helpful, breakfast was fantastic apart from the tinned mini franks! Didn't have dinner in the hotel,the menu looked great but there are so many fantastic restaurants in Lagos.
The hotel seemed a little neglected, I was told it was under receivership, if this is true, then its a huge shame, it should be maintained as the jewel it should be. My only criticism is regarding the internet connection. In room it was payable by the day, but the signal wasn't strong enough to login and pay. There were two oldish computers in the lobby connected to the internet, but they were constantly in demand and not very reliable. I know this is not a "business" hotel, but I think Internet connection in hotels should be regarded as a necessity.
Would stay at the Tivoli again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ladyfifi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.9 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#8 of 53 in Lagos
1,506 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#3 of 53 in Lagos
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.9 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#2 of 53 in Lagos
454 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clube Porto Mos
Clube Porto Mos
#16 of 53 in Lagos
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Lagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Address: Rua Antonio Crisogono Dos Santos, Lagos 8600-678, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#9 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: $88 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Lagos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its privileged location in the very centre of Lagos, this 4 star hotel in the Algarve is a real reflection of local culture, from the decoration by Maria Jose Salavisa to the white and blue walkways which connect the rooms, patios, restaurants and bar. To make sure that you enjoy your stay even more, the Tivoli Lagos provides a free shuttle to the Duna Beach Club ,located only 2 kilometers away from the hotel, offering fun and entertainment for both adults and children. On the long white beach at Meia Praia, the Duna Bar provides the backdrop for numerous parties, banquets and even beach weddings. Just a short walk from lots of entertainment options in the centre and the marina and just a few kilometres from the best golf courses in the Algarve, this friendly and welcoming beach resort in the Algarve is an excellent option for meetings and events, as well as for great getaway weekends and family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tivoli Lagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Hotel Lagos
Lagos Tivoli Hotel
Hotel Tivoli Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing