We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central hotel with character”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Hull
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Central hotel with character”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Small but cosy room in main part of the hotel. As vegetarians there were sufficient breakfast options and soya milk could be requested. We parked our car in the free outdoor car park - be careful driving as the ground is quite rocky. There are two PC's for free internet, but join the hotel loyalty scheme for free internet vouchers to surf on your own laptop :-) The health club and room TV are not the most modern but perfectly adequate. The hotel is central with easy access to banks, shops etc and a 30 minute walk to a vey nice beach. A positive experience - we would return again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piggy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    1,323
    560
    200
    109
See reviews for
413
1,564
183
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haslingden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed again at the Tivoli for the third time. Staff very pleasant, helpful and accommodating . Very convenient position near the Marina , shops and restaurants. Hired a car this time . Kept it in the free secure car park in the grounds. Dining room for breakfast very relaxing . Food fresh and adequate. Bedroom quite large this time -comfortable bed. Linen changed often . Whole hotel spotless despite the fact it is not a new hotel. Had a very reasonable deal with a flight.
Bar was open but hardly anyone in it as there was only 2 nights of entertainment in 12 days we were there. That was a shame as the Jazz band is excellent .
Used the indoor pool most days . It was kept at 32 deg . Very warm. Reception changed towels at no extra cost . Free use of computer but a charge for wi fi. A shame when you could get free wifi at all the bars and cafés.
Shall stay at Tivoli again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 73ChrisR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We returned to the hotel again and enjoyed our stay. We had a good upgraded room, Internet connection was great even round the pool. The hotel is like a warren, this time we were in block2 quite a walk from dining room and reception and on third floor. We took advantage of this as a bit of exercise after all the fabulous Lagos food. We walked up and down 3 flights of stairs instead of taking the lift all the time. Good for you and counteracts all the lazing by the pool! Only slight disappointment was the breakfasts compared to most other hotels we have stayed in. Would return. Does need updating but in ideal location for all the wonderful restaurants and the town. Love Lagos, the Marina and the people. By the way we are in our 70's and didn't find the stairs or the distance throughout the hotel a problem.

Room Tip: Get an upgraded room for more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 734suzannem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We were over the moon with our choice of staying in Hotel Tivoli while visiting Lagos.

The hotel itself is lovely, really nice location, far enough away from the nightlife to be quiet but close enough for a nice evening walk to dinner.

The pool was cold, but a welcome relief from the scorching sun!

It was well kept, clean and the spa area was lovely too, a massage is a must have while staying here! The breakfast was amazing, so much, almost too much if that is possible!

The indoor pool is nice if you want to escape the sun too, but on a bed round the pool completely relaxing is the way to go!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Celebranests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Loved this hotel, lots of open spaces, beautiful setting, a few minutes walk to the town, must be the best positioned hotel in Lagos. Has a lovely pool but also access to the the beach club by free bus. Staff very helpful, breakfast was fantastic apart from the tinned mini franks! Didn't have dinner in the hotel,the menu looked great but there are so many fantastic restaurants in Lagos.
The hotel seemed a little neglected, I was told it was under receivership, if this is true, then its a huge shame, it should be maintained as the jewel it should be. My only criticism is regarding the internet connection. In room it was payable by the day, but the signal wasn't strong enough to login and pay. There were two oldish computers in the lobby connected to the internet, but they were constantly in demand and not very reliable. I know this is not a "business" hotel, but I think Internet connection in hotels should be regarded as a necessity.
Would stay at the Tivoli again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladyfifi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

A fabulous hotel, really comfortable room's. Reception really helpful - booking taxis, advising different restaurants and places of interest. The hotel Dumas beach club is fantastic like stepping into paradise. The pool and bar are really peaceful and being able to shower on the beach is brilliant. Food overall is of a very high standard as is the service.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Supatecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Dishonesty, No sea and no view, Flies and Boredom. ‎

The ‘sea view’, and ‘easy access’ room for a family of three, ‎which was showing on the Expedia booking website, did not ‎exist in reality. ‎

The receptionist looked very surprised that we booked a ‘sea ‎view room’ and said that the hotel does not have a sea view ‎rooms at all as it is over a kilometre away from the sea. The ‎way to the first room we were shown was via a maze-like ‎route up and down so many steps, corridors and stairs so we ‎stopped half way as it looked like a very challenging obstacle ‎course even for able bodies. My husband has a disability, and ‎we made that clear in writing at the time of the booking, of ‎which we had a print out. However, the staff did not seem to ‎be able to appreciate the meaning of disability! The second ‎room we were shown was very smelly and too small for three ‎people, and also, it was one level underground… too much ‎for a ‘sea view’ and rather should be called a ‘tunnel view’! ‎After a long discussion and several phone calls, they showed ‎us a run-down street- view suite which we accepted but for an ‎extra 30 Euros a night. We were very tired after a 50 miles ‎car journey from the Faro airport to the hotel in Lagos, so we ‎accepted the suite and agreed to pay the extra charge and ‎the receptionist agreed to let us park the rented car in the ‎hotel car park free of charge, as a goodwill gesture. The ‎parking fee per night is just over 3 Euros, no big deal. ‎
We were also given free access to a Wi-Fi connection which ‎you would get anyway if you sign up for the hotel group’s ‎emails. ‎
The breakfast was included in the booking but was rather ‎average, limited and with flies hovering over and landing over ‎the ‘fresh’ salad and fruit items. The surface under the ‎yoghurt area was full of yoghurt, which was not cleaned for ‎three days! ‎
The bread rolls were fresh ONLY on one morning, which was ‎a Saturday but certainly was not fresh for the rest of the ‎week. The cheese looked very fed-up and uninviting. The ‎breakfast also included some average quality cooked food ‎items such as baked beans in too much sauce and some very ‎salty mushrooms. The highlight of the breakfast for us was ‎the real honey in a big pot to scoop. ‎
When we first arrived at the hotel, I was told that we had two ‎options regarding dinner; either to dine at the buffet for 8.50 ‎Euros per person or go to the a la carte restaurant at the ‎hotel, and that if we chose the latter we would be given a ‎voucher from the reception for the value of the buffet dinner ‎of 8.50 Euros per person and we would have to pay the rest ‎at the restaurant as it is more expensive. ‎
We only had dinner at the hotel buffet twice, only for ‎convenience. However, on each occasion, we could find only ‎one main hot and covered meal that suited us on the buffet, ‎and we avoided the salad items as the flies were hovering ‎comfortably on them. The orange juice at breakfast or dinner ‎tasted of pure ‘citric acid’. ‎
On the night of check out, we discovered that we were lucky ‎to have dined in the hotel only twice. That was because when ‎my husband checked out the night before we left, he was told ‎that the dinner charge was 23 Euros per person which is a lot ‎more expensive than at one of the many much nicer and ‎cleaner restaurants nearby the hotel. Annoyingly, we did not ‎have time to argue the extortionate extra charge. ‎
Due to our allergies, we usually use our pillow cases and try ‎to avoid the hotel staff touching them. We therefore usually ‎ask for the room NOT to be cleaned. However, on our return ‎to the room the first day, we found that someone had entered ‎our room without our permission, not to clean it but only to ‎have a look around the room and in our items! So much for ‎any level of respect of customer privacy. As the cleaner ‎looked very worried and kept asking us if we wanted our suite ‎cleaned the next day, we agreed. However, the cleaner ‎seemed to have used my child’s wipes to clean the bathroom! ‎When we complained, the receptionist was ‘amazed’ that ‎such a thing happened! After that, we refused to allow ‎anybody to clean our room until we left. ‎
I suffer from a very bad back and to their credit, the ‎mattresses on the beds were rather comfortable so I did not ‎suffer much as I usually do when travelling. Also, the hotel ‎deco was reasonable and looked reasonably clean. ‎
On the website, the hotel is said to provide a shuttle service ‎to the Duna beach club and back every 15 minutes but in ‎reality, that service operates hourly most of the day and every ‎half an hour for two hours in the morning and two hours in the ‎afternoon. Moreover, the shuttle service does not run when ‎the weather is bad and you would need to hire a car or taxi to ‎get to the nearest sandy beach. The Duna beach club, we ‎were told, a beach area that belonged to the hotel, with a bar ‎and a restaurant in it… i.e. not a big deal. ‎
If you wish to go on an excursion such as to go fishing or ‎shopping etc,try to shop around first, there are several shops ‎on the main street which is about 5-10 minutes’ walk from the ‎hotel which offer much more reasonable options. ‎
The hotel calls itself a ‘resort’, but there is not much going on ‎in it to entitle it as such apart from a mad barking dog that ‎kept jumping over a very high wall of a house on the other ‎side of the road every time someone passed by during the ‎day and night! ‎
Would we recommend the hotel? NO. ‎

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlphaGF77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagos
1.0 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.9 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#6 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
17.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de...
#2 of 10 in Armacao de Pera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#3 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Lagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Property: Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Address: Rua Antonio Crisogono Dos Santos, Lagos 8600-678, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#9 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Lagos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its privileged location in the very centre of Lagos, this 4 star hotel in the Algarve is a real reflection of local culture, from the decoration by Maria Jose Salavisa to the white and blue walkways which connect the rooms, patios, restaurants and bar. To make sure that you enjoy your stay even more, the Tivoli Lagos provides a free shuttle to the Duna Beach Club ,located only 2 kilometers away from the hotel, offering fun and entertainment for both adults and children. On the long white beach at Meia Praia, the Duna Bar provides the backdrop for numerous parties, banquets and even beach weddings. Just a short walk from lots of entertainment options in the centre and the marina and just a few kilometres from the best golf courses in the Algarve, this friendly and welcoming beach resort in the Algarve is an excellent option for meetings and events, as well as for great getaway weekends and family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelUp, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tivoli Lagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Hotel Lagos
Lagos Tivoli Hotel
Hotel Tivoli Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing