We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really lovely hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A really lovely hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with a friend at the beginning of July 2013. From the very beginning we were impressed by the decor, the room was clean and fresh although a bit dated and the staff were very friendly and helpful. It was situated very close to the local bus station which was really convenient for travelling around on the air conditoned buses to look at other resorts. We saved money because the hotel provided courtesy buses there and back to a lovely beach, where the sunbeds were free for the hotel guests. The only down side was that to get to the resort centre in the evening, we had to go through some very lonely deserted, side streets, which meant that we became quite nervous at night returning to the hotel even though it wasn't far away it was still quite risky. The hotel did have entertainment on at night but there wasn't really much of am atmosphere after the lively busy square but the happy hour was great :) Lagos is a very busy lively resort but as with most places you have to be on your guard and for two women on their own, I would prefer to be closer to the centre to feel safer at night.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor below the restaurant. It was fine no problems. We did ask for a quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank munchkin2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    1,323
    560
    200
    109
See reviews for
413
1,564
183
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

After a 4 hour bus ride from Lisbon we had to wait 45 min to check in. And were told that we have 2 single beds. After complaining and advising them that it was our honeymoon we were made to wait another hour for a room with a double bed. The room was disgusting. Me and my wife thought we'd stepped back into the 50's... We complained to reception again and after half an hour were given a room with 2 single beds. This room looked like it was from the 70's. But we were too tired to complain again. The rooms look nothing like the ones in the pictures. Also the pictures show the beach in the background. The beach pictures are of their beach club. The bus is meant to go to and fro every half an hour. But we waited around an hour on every occasion.

The quality of the rooms are one thing. But the attitudes of the reception staff were appalling... Every interaction was difficult, from getting towels, toilet paper, internet password or even asking for when the bus is due. I've never taken the time to write a bad review about any hotel or service in my life, but I've never been made to feel so small by an establishment and it's staff before.

STAY AT YOUR OWN RISK!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RaffiKevorkian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Staff-

Mostly very friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

Usually our room was cleaned by mid afternoon. One of the days we came back to our room in the afternoon to pick some things up and our room had not been cleaned, we put the hanger on our door that says "please clean my room" on it. We came back again after dinner and they had still not been to clean our room. We got changed and were about to go to sleep when they eventually came round we were in bed and so turned them away.

Food -

Buffet breakfast was decent. Coffee and tea are not very good. Bacon is not very nice. I mostly stuck to croissants for breakfast.

Most of the time we left the hotel to explore and ate in other places but we did eat here a couple of times.

One afternoon we ordered burgers.. they were really greasy and tasteless.

One night we ordered piri piri chicken for room service. It was horrible, the chicken was really really over cooked and dry.

One night we ate in the restaurant. It was really quite nice. The wine was nice, we had Chateaubriand,it was quite good The atmosphere in the restaurant was very nice and the waiting staff were lovely.

Drinks -

I like Caipirinhas, I ordered them a few times in the hotel. I think it just depended on who made them as some were good and some were bad.

Room -

Not so good. Our bed was extremely uncomfortable and instead of a double bed it was two single beds pushed together. Not very nice as we are spooners and halfway throughout the night the beds would move apart and one of us would end up in between beds on the floor. Not cool.

There was a TV but the picture was really bad on every channel. It was really old fashioned.

The shower didn't stay at a good temp, half way through a shower it would turn to freezing then scalding water.

The AC was good. Not noisy and worked well.

Our view was of a wall. =(

Pool area-

Pool area was nice. You are told reserving sunbeds is not allowed but we quickly learned that everyone does it so you have to if you want to use one. The pool is a pretty decent temp and was never very busy as most people around seemed to want to just sunbathe.

The pool downstairs and changing area did not seem very clean.

Beach -

The Hotels beach is about a 15 min walk away. Its nice. There are sun loungers on the beach with shades...it is nice. They have a little bar restaurant with a pool area. We had lunch there one day and it was quite nice. The staff were okay, not as friendly as at the hotel. At the hotel reception the receptionist recommended going to the beach bar in the evening as they have sunset beach party's. We went up one night around 19h00 and it was closed with guard dogs roaming around barking!

Overall -

The staff were really nice. The food was not so good. The rooms and indoor pool are are in need of modernizing.

We asked the receptionist to book a taxi for us. We were charged Fifteen Euro by the hotel for this!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljr2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Upgraded to a suite- great we thought but - OMG it may have been 2 rooms but very old and stale smelling, furniture and carpets need replacing. It was also at the back of hotel and had to take 2 lifts and over 30 stairs and yards of coridoors. A/C didn't work. Food at breakfast average. Central location in Lagos. Pool area overcrowded and grim.
Took courtesy bus to 'Beach Club' also very old and in need of updating. If you want to stay on beds in club have to pay 10 euro each for basic bed or 60 euro for the double beds. Toilets crawling with bugs, broken sinks. we left after 2 days.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at the Tivoli Lagos Hotel for 8 nights. The hotel itself was lovely and the staff were always extremely helpful. Both of the pool areas were nice and the breakfast was very good with lots of choice. The only downside was that the room was quite dated and dark. It was also a twin room but with a concrete table in between each bed so we were unable to push them together to make a double. The location of the hotel is excellent with only a 5 minute walk into the town centre. All in all we had an excellent time at Tivoli although it could do with some TLC.

Room Tip: If you are a couple get a double not a twin and one with a balcony facing the pool or garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KS892013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Myself, husband and daughter recently stayed at the hotel and could not have been more pleased with our stay. From the moment we arrived we found the staff extremely helpful and welcoming and when we arrived at our room we were delighted. The room was very large and extremely comfortable, quiet, clean and well appointed with excellent facilities. We booked on a half board basis and both at breakfast and dinner the food was delicious and very varied. The pool area was very pleasant and relaxing and an added bonus was the lovely indoor pool which we used daily. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel which we intend to return to as soon as possible.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I recently travelled for a 4 night short break with my husband to celebrate our 40th birthdays. On reading reviews I was a little worried about what to expect but was more Han pleasantly surprised on arrival. The reception staff were very friendly and checked us in and were determined that someone would take us to our room and carry our cases. Our room was huge with sofa and a huge bed. I think we had been upgraded as I emailed the hotel a few weeks before to ask for a nice quiet room as we were celebrating our birthday I didn't mention anything about upgrade. We also had a complimentary bottle of fizz waiting for us. The breakfast was nice and fresh with lots of choice. The sausages and bacon weren't the best but just not what I was used to. I had the boiled eggs which were great. Lots of breads, fruit and pastries which were all yummy. Now Onto the pool area which again was great and you didn't have to wake up at ridiculous o'clock to reserve a lounger I reserved about 9.30. The pool was also a nice temperature. All public areas well kept and clean, even had a library to get a book from. Added bonus was the free shuttle to the beach and free loungers. The Duna beach bar food was very good too. All in all a fantastic stay I would definitely recommend an re-visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bangleterrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagos
1.0 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.9 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#6 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
17.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de...
#2 of 10 in Armacao de Pera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#3 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Lagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Property: Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Address: Rua Antonio Crisogono Dos Santos, Lagos 8600-678, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#9 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Lagos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its privileged location in the very centre of Lagos, this 4 star hotel in the Algarve is a real reflection of local culture, from the decoration by Maria Jose Salavisa to the white and blue walkways which connect the rooms, patios, restaurants and bar. To make sure that you enjoy your stay even more, the Tivoli Lagos provides a free shuttle to the Duna Beach Club ,located only 2 kilometers away from the hotel, offering fun and entertainment for both adults and children. On the long white beach at Meia Praia, the Duna Bar provides the backdrop for numerous parties, banquets and even beach weddings. Just a short walk from lots of entertainment options in the centre and the marina and just a few kilometres from the best golf courses in the Algarve, this friendly and welcoming beach resort in the Algarve is an excellent option for meetings and events, as well as for great getaway weekends and family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tivoli Lagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Hotel Lagos
Lagos Tivoli Hotel
Hotel Tivoli Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing