We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed bag”
Review of Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in Lagos
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a good hotel! The staff are good, the service is good, but the actual architecture is a hotch potch of 6 buildings, which makes finding your way around interesting. The saving grace is that they have their beach with a regular coach link. It is also only 10 mins walk from the main square!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyau1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,114 - 2,120 of 3,297 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel was slightly dated, but had great amenities and a great location. The hotel is virtually in the historic downtown area and while its not on the beach, there is a complimentary shuttle that will take you to their private beach. When we checked in, we learned that the hotel is 4 different buildings that are all rather spread out and there's a lot of stairs and hallways you have to walk through. However, the doorman was very friendly and helpful- he helped us with our luggage, explained where things were in the hotel, and showed us to our room. The decor is a bit dated, but it has all the amenities (except conditioner) that an American would expect, including an excellent complimentary breakfast buffet, and air conditioning. They also had parking available in a garage under the hotel. If you have a larger car like a station wagon, it will be a tight squeeze going down into the parking garage. If you plan to eat out at a restaurant in town, have the hotel make a reservation for you so you don't have to worry about getting a table.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at the Tivoli Lagos in June 2013 and found it good value for money. The room was large and was kept very clean with daily linen change. It has been said the room decor is a bit dated but would have to say that in a holiday hotel this is not uncommon and it was freshly painted. There is a mini-bar in the room and this allows you to have some cool beers of your own should you so desire.The main communal areas in the hotel are well appointed and smart and whilst the pool is not large when we were there it wasn't crowded, no problems getting a lounger when required. Towels are supplied free of charge.
The beach club is worth going down to on the courtesy bus and loungers on the beach are free to hotel guests, you have to pay 10 euros for 2 loungers at the beach club pool. Entertainment was generally very good with The Beatles tribute band and Elvis being the highlights. The hotel has a happy hour between 6 and 7pm and a large beer was only 2.20 euros at this time, various other drinks were also half price and the hotel also does 25% off all drinks between 9 and 10pm.....check out the chocolate martinis!
We were on the bed and breakfast and this is recommended, breakfast is tremendous and great range, the fruit was always delicious and all tastes were catered for. We didn't eat at the hotel at night but Lagos has many different restaurants to choose from with fish being a highlight. Guests we spoke to said the buffet wasn't great but the a la carte food was very good.
It is only a 5 minute brisk stroll over the hill to the center of the old town or you can walk along the promenade which takes a little longer, also only a few minutes to the marina which we enjoyed in the afternoon, watching the yachts and the world go by. It's a pretty back drop as you look across to the town and don't forget to check out the Oasis cafe which is great value with lovely salads and pastas....they also do coffee and cake for 3.50 euros, a must as this is a real treat with a huge slice of cake served with cream/ice cream.
The marina prices in general are very decent given the pleasant location, again various happy hours apply.
All in all we had a very good time in Lagos and at the Tivoli which is in a very good location, it's a quirky hotel but we didn't mind that at all. Note if you're not happy with your room ask for a move. The staff were very accommodating in this regard although I dare say in high season this may be more difficult. I can't say that we heard any adverse comments whilst there so I'd say go and enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hamaccies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We spent a long weekend at this hotel, and on arrival we traipsed up one lift, along a corridor, up a flight of stairs, down 5 floors in another lift to arrive at twin rooms (with a concrete table inbetween them) that looked out onto an uphill sloping garden, we felt like we were underground! We asked to be moved, and very quickly were offered rooms on the 5th floor in the same block which we accepted as it was late at night and they had told us they were the only alternatives. If we had been staying for longer I think it would have been more of an issue as the hotel clearly wasn't full. As per previous reviews the hotel lobby is impressive, the rest of the hotel less so, worn carpets, beds are uncomfortable in the dated rooms, the pool was dirty. Having said all of that, the food was good, we didn't buy any drinks in the hotel so can't comment on that, and the staff were very helpful mostly.

There are 2 excellent pieces to the hotel which would make you go back, the location is just perfect, you can walk anywhere, and the beach club is on a fabulous beach! Be warned though, it's only the sunbeds on the beach that are part of the hotel, round the pool its 10 Euros a day which is not communicated at all until you sit on them, although we felt they were well worth it!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, ask the hotel for specific details of the room allocated to you before you t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pippa101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just returned from Tivoli. We had a great holiday - Room clean and well maintained - food very good - staff friendly. Location is so convenient for shops bars and restaurants. This was our third visit to this hotel and we find it relaxing - good place for couples.
We have been coming to Algarve for twenty years now and the Tivoli is as good as any of the other 4 star hotels we have stayed in. No sunbed problems here by the way.

Room Tip: All we have been in are good but some are a distance off reception - if that bothers you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cass41y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We arrived at the hotel beautiful reception and restaurant area staff are not to friendly we where escorted to our room it what a shock it was so dark and depressing and smelt of damp we requested for a different room four attempts later we got a brighter but shabby room with dirty carpets.
I was shocked this hotel cost us a lot of money if this is four star I would not like to see two star. there is all so a road running at the back of the hotel and you hear every car passing the room day and night. In the hotel near the pool area there is a building where a dog lives and with out fail barks every morning.
So we asked where the lovely view you see on the internet they said it is a private beach which belongs to the hotel and to get there it is a ten minute bus ride so its a con it is not on the hotel premises.
Also be warned you have to pay for the safe which is 15 euros we decided to pay up front but when our holiday came to a end she requested for payment again and said we did not pay
It is really sad when people are still ripping off the British tourist I thought them days where over but as we found they are not go at your own peril you have been warned "GOOD LUCK" never never again its upsetting that people can get away with this.

Room Tip: Don't Go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank philip j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Have just spent a week at the Tivoli in Lagos.
On arrival and after checking in, we were escorted to our room which was quite a way away. The hotel is made up of lots of interlocking buildings, so we had to take 2 lifts and several stairs.

The room was clean and a decent size, but the balcony could barely fit the 2 chairs on it and the view was old buildings. That said, there are rooms available with a sea view. THERE ARE NO TEA AND COFFEE MAKING FACILITIES IN THE ROOMS!!!

We stayed on a B&B basis, and the breakfast buffet was good. Selection of continental, cooked, cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, juice tea and coffee etc.

The pool area was okay, and the pool a decent enough size, however the children's pool was tiny, more like a tub. That said, the hotel is a Saga favourite, so not many children around. In fact I think I saw 2 the whole week.

Didn't try any of the restaurants, but had snacks by the pool. A bit pricey, as were the drinks.

We walked into town and ate out very night, and drinks off the premises are much more competitive.

O'Artisto restaurant and bar at the bottom of the hotel entrance is great. Good food both snacks and dinners, drink prices okay. Great entertainment, and Luis the owner is fantastic.

Close to town and the marina.

On the whole a nice hot break. Great for a peaceful getaway.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.9 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#9 of 53 in Lagos
1,467 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
0.9 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 53 in Lagos
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
1.2 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
1.1 mi away
Solar de Mos Hotel
Solar de Mos Hotel
#8 of 53 in Lagos
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Lagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Address: Rua Antonio Crisogono Dos Santos, Lagos 8600-678, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#9 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: $62 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Lagos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its privileged location in the very centre of Lagos, this 4 star hotel in the Algarve is a real reflection of local culture, from the decoration by Maria Jose Salavisa to the white and blue walkways which connect the rooms, patios, restaurants and bar. To make sure that you enjoy your stay even more, the Tivoli Lagos provides a free shuttle to the Duna Beach Club ,located only 2 kilometers away from the hotel, offering fun and entertainment for both adults and children. On the long white beach at Meia Praia, the Duna Bar provides the backdrop for numerous parties, banquets and even beach weddings. Just a short walk from lots of entertainment options in the centre and the marina and just a few kilometres from the best golf courses in the Algarve, this friendly and welcoming beach resort in the Algarve is an excellent option for meetings and events, as well as for great getaway weekends and family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and Orbitz so you can book your Tivoli Lagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Hotel Lagos
Lagos Tivoli Hotel
Hotel Tivoli Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing