We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Clean Hotel But A Little Dated”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Clean Hotel But A Little Dated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Have just spent a week at the Tivoli in Lagos.
On arrival and after checking in, we were escorted to our room which was quite a way away. The hotel is made up of lots of interlocking buildings, so we had to take 2 lifts and several stairs.

The room was clean and a decent size, but the balcony could barely fit the 2 chairs on it and the view was old buildings. That said, there are rooms available with a sea view. THERE ARE NO TEA AND COFFEE MAKING FACILITIES IN THE ROOMS!!!

We stayed on a B&B basis, and the breakfast buffet was good. Selection of continental, cooked, cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, juice tea and coffee etc.

The pool area was okay, and the pool a decent enough size, however the children's pool was tiny, more like a tub. That said, the hotel is a Saga favourite, so not many children around. In fact I think I saw 2 the whole week.

Didn't try any of the restaurants, but had snacks by the pool. A bit pricey, as were the drinks.

We walked into town and ate out very night, and drinks off the premises are much more competitive.

O'Artisto restaurant and bar at the bottom of the hotel entrance is great. Good food both snacks and dinners, drink prices okay. Great entertainment, and Luis the owner is fantastic.

Close to town and the marina.

On the whole a nice hot break. Great for a peaceful getaway.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    1,323
    560
    200
    109
See reviews for
413
1,564
183
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have just returned from an eleven night half board stay at this hotel. When we arrived, tired and hot we went for our evening meal in the restaurant. I was quite dissapointed in the food (having returned from a cruise three weeks before where the food was out of this world) there was a choice but not a lot for myself. But all the following meals were fabulous, breakfasts and the evening buffet meals, lots of choice and all presented very well, it did turn out that the meals were as good as on the cruise.

Our room was quite large and very clean, my only gripe would be that we didn't get any sun on our balcony. But after a day in the red hot sun that really wasn't a major issue and was quite pleasant to sit out with a drink and a book.Parts of the hotel are a bit dated but immaculate, the staff are very pleasant and professional and will help with any problems (not that we had any).

The pool area is fantastic, it's also the first holiday where sunbeds can't be booked by a towel! If they are the staff will remove them, there were plenty of beds and we were never left without one. (you use their towels which you pay a deposit for and get back at the end, they can be changed when you feel they need to be) there is also a fantastic indoor pool to use and a gym.

The hotel is situated 5 minutes from the centre of Lagos and all its narrow winding streets bars and shops. There is a free courtesy bus to the magnificent beach, with a Tivoli bar and pool on it, again great food and great Super Bock beer! You can also walk to the beach or back to the hotel if you feel the need for some exercise.Evening entertainment was so so, a couple of really good turns and some not so good, but it's all about personal taste. All in all a really great and relaxing holiday and would certainly recommend the Tivoli Hotel in Lagos for a holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MikeFellows2952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

After 23 years decided to go back to Portugal and spent a week at the Tivoli Lagos and as others have said, the original hotel has been added to many times to produce a "rabbit warren", when you first arrive and for the next 24 hours it is a good training ground for people wanting to go either mountaineering or orienteering as you seem to be forever going up stairs or downstairs until you finally get your bearings. Having said all that the basic double room is spacious and reasonably well appointed with plentiful hot water although we did not find a power point for the first 4 days (it was that well hidden) which made charging of mobile phones, kindles, i-pads somewhat of a problem. WI-FI is available at a cost of 9euros for 24 hours they do however have 2 computers free of charge with internet connection.
The food whilst of a perfectly acceptable quality is lacking in variety, ie 1 fish course 1 meat course with basic salads. The bar is what you would expect with regards to price but when you get 3 different prices for the same drinks at the same time it is not acceptable to say "it is a computerised till so how did this happen" The outside of the hotel does require a lot of attention (painting) as do the gardens( gardening & cutting back). Overall I would rate it as a 3star plus but not a 4star. I would use it again if I had to purely and simply because it is in a good position for Lagos old town.

Room Tip: All rooms are basically the same, not worth paying for a premier room as all levels are colour coded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Devonwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

4th visit Endof May, and will be back again end of August. Staying here is a different experience, but in agood way. Hotel is rambling and spread out full of nooks and crannies, and unusual seating areas. very good for couples I think, very romantic.. People with mobility problems, may not enjoy as much. Hotel is extremely clean, though could do with some upgrading and painting in certain areas; not an issure for me at all. We stayed in a twin club room, and it was extremely clean, and we were very handily placed for the pool. Pool area is very nice and no problem with sunbeds, perhaps due to beach club with courtesy bus there, or possibly due to quite a few older visitors. Pool prices are expensive, as are drinks in the bar. Happy hour is 6.30pm for one hour only, and even at half price, isnt a wonderful deal. Please please Tivoli Lagos Management, look at your bar prices!! It is a lovely area to sit, again with different areas but is always extremely quiet, due to price setting. There are a couple of good entertainments on in the bar, namely the 'New Orleans Jazz Band' who are fabulous, and drew the best crowd, and also 'Elvis' who we didnt stay for this time, but he is good, especially if you haven't seen before. Staff are extremely pleasant and helpful, a credit to hotel. Stayed b and b and breakfast is still very good still and extensive. would always recommend, and also is handily placed for nearby cafes and for the town. try it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank winnieg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heald Green Cheshire
Level Contributor
201 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed in this Hotel in June room 2502. The Breakfast was included and it was good quality.
Our room was at the back of the Hotel, and although it was very clean, it was a little tired looking. There is free parking in the hotel, in a large walled open ground area.
There is a free bus every hour to Duna Beach Club.
I have written my serious concerns on the Duna Beach Club, here on trip advisor, check it out please.
There is live music in the evening and the pool area is well laid out. Have to say you need to be out early to get a sun bed around the pool.
Be warned you will be awakened by Sea gulls, loud screaming bird sounds at 5am in the morning, they roost on the roof.
The Staff are wonderful, and they try very hard to make your stay a pleasant one, well done.
Finally,
If the Hotel Management read this, PLEASE SACK THE HORRID MANAGER AT THE DUNA BEACH CLUB

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main hotel, not in the annex buildings , at the far end of the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulandbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Just spent a week at the Tivoli Lagos and was pleasantly surprised after reading some bad reviews. We arrived early afternoon and were shown to our "sun in the afternoon" room, There was not sun on the balcony & it was minute. Most of the balconies were one large balcony cut in half, we complained at reception and after another bad room we were finally shown to a large balconied room with full sun. The only problem was that it was the farthest away and was reached by 3 lifts plus some stairs but was worth it for the room.The downside was that the guy who took our cases "Jose" was a surly miserable person and kept banging our cases into walls which really annoyed me.....Sort him out please as he gives a bad impression of the staff..... He walks about as if he's the general manager. The reception staff were fine and the bar staff were really friendly. This first niggle might seem as though we didn't like the hotel but that's not the case just a hiccup at first. The hotel is spotlessly clean in the bedrooms and all the public rooms so seems a pity the towels are not changed more frequently .Only one change per week.The hotel is very attractive. We loved the breakfast room as the food is to one side under some arches instead of the usual large buffets in the middle of the room with everybody bumping into one another. It's very spacious with a lovely outside sitting area & the selection of food is good. We were on Bed & breakfast so did not eat in at night. he bar area is lovely with entertainment at night and people us it so there is a nice atmosphere. Happy hour 6-730.The pool area is very attractive and no problems with reserved sun beds. We also used the shuttle bus to the beach. A lovely beach area with free beds & umbrellas. Opposite the entrance to the hotel in the O Antica pub very busy with hotel guests & a good atmosphere. Lagos town is a 5 minute stroll & is very attractive with many bars, restaurants & shops. Musicians play in the square. The local bus station is outside the hotel & to the left. We went to Burgau & Praia da Luz.
Wi fi is 9 euros a day which I think is a bit steep but there are 2 free lap tops near the bar.
All in all we enjoyed the hotel & it's facilities. The only thing it needs is painting on the outside as it spoils the look of a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 906 with sun & large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lena932010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

The hotel is fairly large, but it seems to have derived from a collection of buildings, so there are corridors and nooks and crannies everywhere. The place is wonderfully kept inside, the staff are great and the food good. The liitle restaurant on the lobby floor, has outside seating is excellent, if you don't fancy the 10 minutes walk into town, where there are many restaurants. The hotel is located in a quiet backstreet, and the only noise is from the good quality enternainment on the lobby floor. However, the building is so solid and well built that the noise from the entermainment does not travel through the hotel. The outdoor pool is a good size with a good amount of loungers and seats, but the views from the hotel are limited. Many rooms look at other buildings, some have views of the pool, or gardens. I had a room next to one of the lifts, but didn't have a problem from any noise

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a view of the pool, or as high as possible to see over some of the rooftops
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raypcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagos
1.0 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.9 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#6 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
17.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de...
#2 of 10 in Armacao de Pera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#3 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Lagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Property: Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Address: Rua Antonio Crisogono Dos Santos, Lagos 8600-678, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#9 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Lagos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its privileged location in the very centre of Lagos, this 4 star hotel in the Algarve is a real reflection of local culture, from the decoration by Maria Jose Salavisa to the white and blue walkways which connect the rooms, patios, restaurants and bar. To make sure that you enjoy your stay even more, the Tivoli Lagos provides a free shuttle to the Duna Beach Club ,located only 2 kilometers away from the hotel, offering fun and entertainment for both adults and children. On the long white beach at Meia Praia, the Duna Bar provides the backdrop for numerous parties, banquets and even beach weddings. Just a short walk from lots of entertainment options in the centre and the marina and just a few kilometres from the best golf courses in the Algarve, this friendly and welcoming beach resort in the Algarve is an excellent option for meetings and events, as well as for great getaway weekends and family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tivoli Lagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Hotel Lagos
Lagos Tivoli Hotel
Hotel Tivoli Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing