We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't find fault”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Rugeley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Can't find fault”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Arrived at hotel at 10am expectng a long wait but were shown imediately to our rooms. Super standard of cleanliness. Amazing choices at breakfast and really handy location for bars, restaurants of Lagos. One of our party had a 21st birthday during our stay and the hotel left a bottle of bubbly in the room that day.
Excellent choice for couples or groups or solo travellers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheGormleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    1,323
    560
    200
    109
See reviews for
413
1,564
183
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
knaresborough
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

nice hotel, good attractively decorated bedroom, modern bathroom if somewhat small, slim people only.
excellent breakfast ,
local to Lagos centre and wide range of bars and restaurants.
ideal for a golfing/ holiday break

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank bobKnaresborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Visiting the Tivoli in the evening was a great way to meet friend and enjoy the local talent. Be it the 'Elvis' imitator or the other great musicians, the evening was always enjoyable and a great way to spend the evening.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlobeTrotters5254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent position within a few minutes walk of the marina and old town /bars/restaurants. As has been noted by others, it could do with a lick of paint and a bit of refurbishment of the bedrooms would not go amiss but they are of a decent size (our bathroom was bigger than we have at home) only "tired" and certainly not dirty or uncomfortable. In fact the cleanliness of this hotel is notable - one trips over cleaners around every corner at all times of the day and they keep it spotless. All rooms have a nice private balcony. It was too cold for us to use the outdoor pool, but the indoor one was lovely and that and the jacuzzi were warm, and when we were there, often we were the only ones using it. The dining room is lovely and the buffet breakfasts excellent with a huge choice: eggs, bacon, beans, cold meats, cheeses, salads, fresh fruit, cereals, a dozen different breads and rolls as well as sweet cakes and pastries. As we were half board we also ate there in the evening. We were prepared if we didn't like it the first night, to pay extra to go out for some dinners, but we found the choice and standard of the evening meals was very good, if not particularly inspiring, so we saved our money. The restaurant staff - like all the others at the hotel, were very efficient and friendly. Everyone also (even the odd cleaner) speaks good English.

There is a very comfortable bar/lounge area which serves food during the day (yes, hotel prices, but then - it is a hotel) with live entertainment a couple of nights a week. The New Orleans Jazz group were very good during our stay.

The downside of this hotel could be for the less mobile visitor - it really is a rabbit warren with long corridors and lots of stairs. It would be very difficult for people with walking difficulties to negotiate their way around the hotel with any ease despite the lifts which are scattered around the hotel, but don't seem to lead to the places you want to go!

My other complaint is that they charge 9 Euros A DAY for WiFi which seemed extortionate. They do have 3 free computers, but if the hotel is very busy I imagine that they are difficult to get on to and doesn't really answer everyone's requirements anyway. Plenty of free WiFi in cafes outside the hotel, but that isn't satisfactory.

Despite these caveats,it is a good, clean, comfortable and convenient hotel and I would be happy to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ONEBIRD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Hotel was handy for pubs and restaurants but is a bit of a warren. Indoor pool was eventually located and easiest to get to from the outdoor pool area. Double room was small but adequate with a good view of the outdoor pool area from the balcony, however, we could smell stale water coming from somewhere but as it was quite early in the season, this could disappear with time? Breakfasts were excellent with plenty of choice. There is a nice wee garden set off from the outdoor pool area with a small pond filled with wildlife. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GADFIZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

An established hotel embedded in the environs of the town of Lagos. A sprawling building well worth exploring. Lots of nooks and crannies, there are a number of well appointed public rooms, some with open fireplaces and log fires. Excellent facilities, friendly and efficient staff. Some of the exterior is in need of a "lick of paint", the rooms are a little "tired" although always clean and well "looked after". Each room has an individually controlled aircon unit, a definite plus. A short walk to the centre of town, restaurants and shops. The buffet dinner was a little uninspiring, the onsite restaurant was intimate and the food was good. Secure parking was at extra cost and unsecured parking was adequate although un-surfaced and a little rutted after the winter's greater than average rainfall. A couple of bars at the bottom of the sloped drive to the hotel offer good food and entertainment, during our stay they had a Clarinetist, some Karaoke, other live music which made for a pleasant atmosphere. One word of caution, we have friends who live in Portugal and stayed at the Tivoli for their wedding anniversary. Whilst walking in the vicinity of the hotel her handbag was snatched, no injuries and there seemed to be a substantial Police presence during our stay, a couple of weeks after the incident. I'm guessing that this may be a Portuguese problem, rising unemployment and poverty will result in an increase in this type of crime. One observation, there are far fewer golfers in the resort this year than previously, markedly so. Brits are finding that the Euro/Sterling exchange rate fall over the last 6 or 7 years has made golfing costs appear much more expensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iannik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hotel is well located for the pubs and restaurants.
Our room was small and had a slightly musty smell which was overshadowed on arrival by a strong smell of bleach.
The breakfast was good with plenty of choice.
Bar prices are high for the area. The hotel is a warren and it is difficult to navigate and find the gym of which there is a 5 euro charge.

The staff are friendly

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanSmith57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagos
1.0 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.9 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#6 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#4 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
17.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de...
#2 of 10 in Armacao de Pera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#3 of 51 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Lagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Property: Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Address: Rua Antonio Crisogono Dos Santos, Lagos 8600-678, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#9 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Lagos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its privileged location in the very centre of Lagos, this 4 star hotel in the Algarve is a real reflection of local culture, from the decoration by Maria Jose Salavisa to the white and blue walkways which connect the rooms, patios, restaurants and bar. To make sure that you enjoy your stay even more, the Tivoli Lagos provides a free shuttle to the Duna Beach Club ,located only 2 kilometers away from the hotel, offering fun and entertainment for both adults and children. On the long white beach at Meia Praia, the Duna Bar provides the backdrop for numerous parties, banquets and even beach weddings. Just a short walk from lots of entertainment options in the centre and the marina and just a few kilometres from the best golf courses in the Algarve, this friendly and welcoming beach resort in the Algarve is an excellent option for meetings and events, as well as for great getaway weekends and family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tivoli Lagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Hotel Lagos
Lagos Tivoli Hotel
Hotel Tivoli Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing