We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel but classy”
Review of Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in Lagos
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Old hotel but classy.
Well taken care of .. Clean And housekeeping regular And good. Linen ,sheets changed regular.
This is a large hotel .lots of social areas And big hotel rooms.
The hotel has its own private beach.
The breakfast as everyone reported is Very good , And bar drinks extensive but it is in Hotels they all tend to be.
There are pubs and bars in the vacinity if you want to get out And about.
Lagos is about 1 hour from the airport its a good idea to organize transport to get there . We would sugest yellow fish taxis ,they provide a meet at the airport , transport You to the hotel And collect and collect you again on your return date , they are well priced , give you a Bottle of wine , also they drive you there on the motorway which has tolls on it most other companies aparently dont .
Lagos is a gorgeous place lovely beaches and marina.
The town is located in the old city walls an has a real old And tradicional feel to it.
At night time time there is a a lively feel to the town

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank roger s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,158 - 2,164 of 3,316 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel is rated 4 star but I feel it is over rated.It is in need of a lot of work to bring it up to a 4 star standard. The room that I was in was quite small and in need of work done to it to put it right. Having said that what it lacks in room comfort is made pleasant by the very friendly staff- if it were not for them you could close the doors. P.S. I hope that they are paid very well.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJBack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Great Hotel. . Staff excellent. We have stayed her e many times and really cannot fault this hotel so much so that my son is getting married in their beach club. .. won't need a car once you arrive here. .. loads of nooks and crannies to suit and chill out.. The staff can't do enough for you. .

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com
2  Thank Gerardcos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Is this a 4 star hotel? In which case, it needs a lot of work on the infrastructure, facilities and, above all, customer service. Is it a 3 star? In which case, fair enough for only 50 Euros per room per night including breakfast in March! It is also a joy when you arrive at a hotel and receive a warm, genuine, pleasant and welcoming welcome. It is always a disappointment when you do not - and that is certainly the case at the Tivoli. Hotel front desk staff should never, ever make it feel like you have disturbed them! First impressions count - and other that one friendly smile and greeting from one porter, that was it from check in to check out at the Tivoli. They must sort out their customer service - you just cannot take this for granted when there is so much competition. As a building, this is a strange hotel - spread over several separate buildings and many floors. It didn't bother us but it may bother some to have a trek to their room and back! We had breakfast, which had a good range but was very average and unexciting. We did not try the restaurant - with its buffet in the evenings. There are plenty of good restaurants in the town within a very few minutes walk of the hotel - and they deserve your business. There was very little information about what to do in Lagos and the area. The boat trips look excellent but we had to find out about them ourselves over the in the marina rather than at the hotel. Overall, an average hotel which tries to give the impression of being better but does not try harder.

Room Tip: If you cannot manage a long walk and/or many stairs, check exactly how far it is from the main area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel is classified as a 4 star hotel but we feel it needs some work done on it to bring it to a 4 star standard. It is situated near the bus station and near the water front with the marina in sight. Restaurants are nearby and there is a nice walk along the water front bringing one up to the Fort. The hotel is in a good location and has an indoor garage for parking with a charge and an outdoor free area for parking.
All the staff we met were very friendly and helpful. There are two computers for use and are free to guests, a well stocked library and an information room. The hotel is set out with plenty of indoor seating areas and plenty of quiet nooks and crannies.
We felt our room was basic and could have done with some modernisation. Tolietries were sparce however if one needed more all one had to do was ask.
The sound levels need attention- fan noise at night, people speaking, TV sounds and people using the toliet.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarieDDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed here for a week in June of 2011 on our European Honeymoon! this was the end of our month long backpacking trip, and we splurged on our last week at Tivoli cause we wanted some luxuries after a month of budget accommodations. Where do I start? The breakfast buffet was UNREAL- anything you could possibly imagine was available for you! The pool was awesome, the little town was a dream, the private beach club was incredible! This hotel is HUGE, as the walk to our hotel room was quite a hike as it was probably the farthest room from the lobby, but who cares about that really...the room was quite, clean, comfortable and quite large by european standards! We enjoyed our stay, would definitley stay here again, and actually dream about it on a regular basis! This town was one of the highlights of our trip for sure! Great food everywhere close by too! Only tip i can share...Sunscreen is absolutely a MUST and ridiculously expensive everywhere in this town...bring your own huge supply! Staff was helpful and friendly, I cannot think of anything bad to say!

Room Tip: Our room was literally the farthest point from the lobby you could get (over a 5 minute walk), if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were very satisfied with this hotel which has a pleasnt atmosphere. It is well located for the Old Town and Marina. Our bedroom was a good size, overlooking a small garden, very clean with a good standard of furnishing including TV recvg.some English language programmes. The staff were pleasant and the buffet breakfasts and dinners were excellent with a good choice of dishes. Although we did not use them the indoor and outdoor swimming pools looked attractive. There was entertainment in the bar area on several evenings including a very good jazz band.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.9 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 53 in Lagos
1,491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
1 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 53 in Lagos
453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#3 of 53 in Lagos
647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lagos Avenida Hotel
Lagos Avenida Hotel
#30 of 53 in Lagos
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Lagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Address: Rua Antonio Crisogono Dos Santos, Lagos 8600-678, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#9 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: $82 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Lagos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its privileged location in the very centre of Lagos, this 4 star hotel in the Algarve is a real reflection of local culture, from the decoration by Maria Jose Salavisa to the white and blue walkways which connect the rooms, patios, restaurants and bar. To make sure that you enjoy your stay even more, the Tivoli Lagos provides a free shuttle to the Duna Beach Club ,located only 2 kilometers away from the hotel, offering fun and entertainment for both adults and children. On the long white beach at Meia Praia, the Duna Bar provides the backdrop for numerous parties, banquets and even beach weddings. Just a short walk from lots of entertainment options in the centre and the marina and just a few kilometres from the best golf courses in the Algarve, this friendly and welcoming beach resort in the Algarve is an excellent option for meetings and events, as well as for great getaway weekends and family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your Tivoli Lagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Hotel Lagos
Lagos Tivoli Hotel
Hotel Tivoli Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing