We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT POSITION”
Review of Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Lagos
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT POSITION”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed for 2 weeks late Sept 2012. Excellent position close to all amenities. Very large hotel which has been extended in all directions making some rooms & apartments a bit of a hike. Odd layout. We had top floor room overlooking Pool with lovely views. Plus points - Location, Staff brilliant, Cleanliness top notch, Buffet breakfast good but toasters are terrible, as is the bacon! Public areas very nice and good in-hotel entertainment. Minus points - only 2 computers available for use of guests, Pool area nice but far too small and far too few loungers for a hotel of this size with the usual people nipping down around 9 am and putting towels on loungers! Room a little jaded. Old tv (only 2 English channels - one News + BBC 1), old table lamps & wall light, and extremely poor lighting. Impossible to read after dark. Balcony poor - minimal old plastic furniture and nothing else. No kettle in room. Bar - apart from "happy hour" prices on high side and measures minimal. Having said that, we enjoyed our stay overall but would warn guests, particularly older ones, that the road and path up to the entrance is very uneven (uphill) and take care. You can enter and exit the hotel via underground garage (lower lift -2 floor) which is a little easier. All roads and pavements in Lagos are treacherous due to local paviours and good shoes are a must!

Room Tip: We asked for high floor which we got. Lovely views if you ask for Pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jammymildred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    763
    1,414
    609
    239
    135
See reviews for
456
1,718
197
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

On the whole we had a nice stay at the Hotel Tivoli Lagos but there were certain things that made me not want to go back.

Hotel is lovely and very quirky; however we were given a room on the smoking floor - we don't smoke. Room was tiny so we were having to shuffle past each other all the time. Wardrobe space was minimal so we couldn't fully unpack and therefore partly lived out of our suitcases. The balcony was pointless as it looked over the back of a building and the road the staff parked on, it was also too small to sit and 'relax' on. Toilet smelt of stale urine. Aircon noisy and leaked on the bags underneath it. Think we were given a budget room as others look nice!

Duna beach pool is very relaxing but beware of mozzies, both myself and my husband got bitten whilst there, myself 4 times. Also sun loungers are 10 euros EACH a day - even for hotel guests which we thought was a bit steep. The attendant was really rude when he explained this to us as we'd not spotted the sign about charges, which was upsetting considering we were fully paid up hotel guests and honestly hadn't realised there was a charge, we upped and left sharpish.There are free loungers on the beach however. Service at the pool bar/ restaurant is friendly but really slow and the food OK. Would recommend going along to the marina and having lunch there, much better choice and much quicker service, wish we'd discovered it sooner.

Also the hotel is better suited to the elderly - may have been the time of year we went but the average age was about 65, not a problem as everyone was friendly but it's not a 'lively' hotel. Plus the Elvis act was on three times throughout our stay - he was very good, but wasn't a very varied bill of entertainment. Again poss due to the time of year. Put it this way - Saga had their own room...

Would recommend eating at the Pateo restaurant at the hotel - lovely atmosphere and great service. Quite a romantic little hideaway. The hotel bar is fantastic and the staff are lovely. Great relaxing atmosphere.

So some good points and bad points, on the whole had an enjoyable stay but wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helholidayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel on a half-board basis. The hotel had a quirky feel since it had so many add-ons and it was quite easy to lose oneself down any number of corridors. We particularly liked the clean white walls and the lovely public areas. The food at breakfast and dinner was on a buffet basis but the variety was good and there was always something on the menu that really appealed to our appetites. The selection of desserts was really good and spoilt one for choice. as well as a swimming pool and spa the hotel also had a pool and restaurant at its designated beach area which was handy as we could spend all day on the beach or round the pool there. We really enjoyed this stay and the bedrooms, although nothing sensational were very comfortable and with a lot of storage area and wardrobes.

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool area are more central.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markev_lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We reviewed this Hotel last year after our first visit and liked it enough to return. For us it is the best situated hotel in Lagos so convenient for the attractions and the cafes and bars which abound. Room standards amnd cleanliness are high and staff are friendly and very helpful. This year we did B & B so that we could eat out in town. Breakfast is self service buffet with just about everything you would want, the only downside being they need a new toaster!!! Evening entertainment is provided at least three times a week which is very popular. Bar facilities are good and prices very good especially before 9.0pm If we come back to Lagos the Tivoli will be our base once again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jandbejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Recommended by a friend after not being able to book our usual hotel in Alvor fitting around World Superbike Racing last Sunday (23rd September) - Portimao Race Track is amazing - and surfing along the west coast. Staff were extremely helpful at all times including extra assistance due to me being on crutches after an accident before I came on holiday. Strange hotel set-up due to previous add-ons of property but room was clean, plenty of room but balcony was small in comparison - but not a problem to us as we did not use it very much. Used their mini bus to the private beach where there were free sun loungers and a charge of 10 Euros around the pool within the beach club area. Location / parking facilities were excellent - used Luz Cars (and would again). Bars across from the hotel had happy hour (5pm - 8pm) and hotel did the same from (6.30pm - 9pm) - please note this does not include soft drinks. Breakfast was excellent and plenty of staff on hand to assist and replenish - though, as always, problems with the toaster contraption that seemed to take ages to toast. Plenty of places to eat and only a short walk into the centre of Lagos. Prices have gone up due to a rise in tax - now 23% - so we did notice a difference from last year including petrol. There is now a charge for using the toll road - if you use a taxi they have a box inside the car that records the journey and charges paid at the Post Office two days later - the car rental company told us that, as yet, no tourists have been charged once they return the car before catching flight back to the UK - something to bear in mind though.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back (71) which seemed like half a house - could hear a pin drop - view was mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usak, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Overall, Very Good.

The strongest thing this hotel has going for it is the available parking, its location (5 min walk to the main part of Lagos), its lobby and restaurants, and bar areas. The pool is cool too, and there's a bar by the pool too. What I just mentioned is pretty much the whole hotel...

The weakness: The rooms are pretty outdated, old, beds quite uncomfortable and TVs old as well. The air conditioning was also fairly week. We stayed in the middle of September, over the weekend, mind you--- and the hotel was majorly the retired, an older crowd.

The hotel is also GIGANTIC. I may be wrong but there are over 500 rooms spread out pretty far, so some walking may be necessary to get to your room from the main lobby. Again, though, if you can find it for a decent price, somewhere in the low 100s or even high 90s I would grab it... because it is safe, and its location is magnificent. There may be better rooms you could opt for, which would turn this into an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room nearby the pool, for that is a good distance from the majority of restaurants and bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We went there for a long weekend.
The hotel was extremely clean, you can constantly see the staff around cleaning and trying to make you feel welcome. The hotel itself is located in a perfect spot in the town as you can walk to the marina and the city center in less than 10 minutes. The hotel offers a free transport to the beach and they have a private area where you can have a Love Birds bed near a pool and the sea!! stunning!! The private bed cost us £40 for a spot plus Champaigne for two so not bad at all!
We used the Spa facilities and there was an amazing Holistic Massage therapist Eva Clarke who gave a very good Massage. I went back the following day :)
She was a bonus to my trip as she was a very interesting woman.
I would recommend the place to my mum, my friends and to all of you out there as it is not expensive and you feel like you have everything you could wish for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hodaya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.9 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 52 in Lagos
1,389 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
1.0 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Vilabranca Apartments
Vilabranca Apartments
#16 of 52 in Lagos
671 reviews
1.2 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
1.1 mi away
Solar de Mos Hotel
Solar de Mos Hotel
#9 of 52 in Lagos
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Lagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Property: Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Address: Rua Antonio Crisogono Dos Santos, Lagos 8600-678, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#9 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Lagos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its privileged location in the very centre of Lagos, this 4 star hotel in the Algarve is a real reflection of local culture, from the decoration by Maria Jose Salavisa to the white and blue walkways which connect the rooms, patios, restaurants and bar. To make sure that you enjoy your stay even more, the Tivoli Lagos provides a free shuttle to the Duna Beach Club ,located only 2 kilometers away from the hotel, offering fun and entertainment for both adults and children. On the long white beach at Meia Praia, the Duna Bar provides the backdrop for numerous parties, banquets and even beach weddings. Just a short walk from lots of entertainment options in the centre and the marina and just a few kilometres from the best golf courses in the Algarve, this friendly and welcoming beach resort in the Algarve is an excellent option for meetings and events, as well as for great getaway weekends and family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Tivoli Lagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Hotel Lagos
Lagos Tivoli Hotel
Hotel Tivoli Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing