We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely nice resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed at a 1 bedroom apartment in block 9. The apartment was about 70 m2 inside and an extra 30 m2 outdoor terrace. The blocks are built around a beautiful pool (separate from the main hotel pool) which has a sandy segment on one side, so it's like a small beach. The apartment was very nice, beautifully furnished. It was a ground level apartment and you could walk directly from the outdoor terrace to the pool area. Kitchen fully equipped with appliances and cutlery/crockery.
Wifi connection was fast but a bit unstable (kept having to reconnect).
We stayed for 2 nights and had a very pleasant stay.
A few needed improvements:
a) the apartment did not have the basic cleaning products. You get a fully equipped kitchen but of course you are not going to buy things like dishwasher detergent, washing machine soap, etc, for just 2 days. We cooked dinner one night and being able to wash the dishes would have been good. Should really be provided. A few dishwashing tablets/washing machine tablets hopefully would not send the resort into bankrupcy.
b) the complex is still not finished (no spa in the hotel, for instance), some garden areas not quite completed.
c) there seemed to be a problem with the room cleaning service. On the first day we arrived at the hotel sooner than we had planned, around 12:30, a full 90 minutes before check-in time. We were told the previous guests in our apartment had already left and the place was being cleaned. Of course we didn't expect to be able to occupy our room on arrival but we did think that once there, the staff might try to prioritise the cleaning of our room. Did not happen. A welcome drink was mentioned but never offered. We walked around the pool, wandered around the bar, sat outdoors, finally sat in the lobby. A full hour went. Another half hour went. 14:00 went (check-in time). At 14:10 I asked at the reception and apparently at that very second the room was just finished. Although staff were nice and courteous, I felt that they didn't really go that extra mile you expect in a 5 star resort/hotel. Second day when we left to go have lunch in Lagos (around 14:00) cleaning service still had not showed up. We stopped at the reception on the way out and told them we didn't need the room serviced/bed made, we just needed some extra toiletries (shower gel). When we returned we found extra towels and a nice bowl of fruit (but no toiletries).
d) shortage of garden/pool umbrellas. Only about 5 around the central pool of the apartments.
Still, a very nice resort. We had a pleasant stay. Would go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,077)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

696 - 702 of 1,077 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2011

We have just stayed for a night after a week with the whole family in another place.
The hotel was really fantastic, the rooms nicely decorated and the location just great!
The staff was amazing, quite helpful and friendly and the bar had super cocktails!!
Pity the spa was not yet working!! Some areas were not yet finished.
Unfortunately with made the terrible mistake of having dinner in Lagos, we should have had it at the hotel.
We will be back with more time!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cocas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We've been to many a 5 star hotel around the world but were looking for a hotel nearer to home for a 4 night break. All the reviews sum it up nicely and whereby we can't review the hotel on spa and gym amenities as they weren't completed what we can comment on is as follows: room was great , for once an exact copy of the one seen on the website! Suite 237. Sea facing and large, I would always suggest sea view as the others do not get the sun after 11am and are over looking the next building phase. Service impeccable, Paulo and Jessica on reception couldn't do enough, they even drove is into town one night , spa not ready so they arranged for a therapist to come into the hotel. Prices, not cheap BUT reasonable for hotel 8 pounds for cocktail 5 for beer , the local town (15 min walk of 5 euro taxi) of Lagos is superb and cheap but quality of all the places we went ( all recommended by reception ) was great . Scenery and cliff top walks superb. It's quiet we were there just as school holidays were starting and I'd say your kids would get bored there after a while. Can get windy, although only 50 mins from faro (90 euro on meter) it can get windy/ chilly at night as it's on an exposed headland. Breakfast is standard but good quality and service great. All in all it's worth a look but be sure to make sure they're not building the second phase when going. It's a new hotel in it's infancy, their ethos and optimism means you leave hoping the resort matures and is a success, I hope they can keep it looking new and fresh as they style they've gone for will require high upkeep . Good luck cascades a definite for a 3/4 day summer break

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank percypep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascade2011, Manager at Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2011

We are very pleased to hear that you really enjoyed the Cascade Resort and its unique location near the historical city of Lagos in the Algarve.

We do understand your concern regarding the second building phase. These works will result in beautiful landscaped gardens extending to the lighthouse.
The major works are done in the meantime and now the finishing phase has started, completion is foreseen for October 2011.

Regarding the complication of Beauty Centre and Gym facilities, this will not interfere with guests’ comfort as all exterior works are done and the opening is foreseen for September and October 2011.

Once again we want to thank you for choosing the Cascade Resort to spend your holidays in the Algarve.

Sincerely yours,
Marita Barth
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Super new hotel near Lagos. Beautifully done out and in a great location. I'd thoroughly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deanojohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

We got back yesterday from spending 7 days at Cascade. We've had a bit of a tough year so were looking forward to some real chill time. We were not disappointed. We cannot fault the hotel. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, the rooms are amazing, the food is some of the best I've had and the cocktails are fab!
The hotel is not quite finished (the spa is not yet open), but this had no impact at all on our stay. Anything we asked for was no trouble.One night we were too tired to get ready for dinner but couldn't find a room service menu. We called down and in about 20 mins up came the most fabulous club sandwiches, fries and 2 beers. On arrival we needed more coat hangers. They appeared in 5 mins! On a girlie note the smellies in the bathroom are great too and constantly topped up. No need to bring shampoo, conditioner, shower gel or body lotion!
We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. Just beware of the sun... there is a beautiful breeze blowing all the time that can fool you into thinking it's cooler than it actually is and the sun gets you even when you're sitting in the shade. Factor 30 a must!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaryDollnStinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Candide82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gfts47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagos
2 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#8 of 53 in Lagos
1,491 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 53 in Lagos
453 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#15 of 53 in Lagos
3,316 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sensimar Lagos by Yellow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort

Address: Rua das Ilhas, Lagos 8600-513, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lagos
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#2 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
#3 Family Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: $142 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a truly unique and stunning cliff-top location, the five-star Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort is one of the most luxurious hotels in the Algarve, offering an elegant and sophisticated experience to its guests. Offering a fantastic holiday destination, the resort is located in the historic city of Lagos within walking distance to Dona Ana Beach, distinguished by Conde Nast Traveller as one of the 50 best beaches in the world, and to the Ponta da Piedade lighthouse, where you can enjoy breathtaking views of the Algarvian coastline and the Atlantic Ocean. Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort is divided into four individually decorated wings, each reflecting the expeditions of Portuguese navigators across four continents - Europe, Africa, Asia and South America, which is reflected in the tasteful decor of the rooms and suites. With a contemporary yet relaxed atmosphere, all rooms and suites at Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort are very spacious and feature balconies or terraces. Guests and families at Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort may also enjoy all the privacy and functionality of our one and two bedroom apartments or even a villa with its very own private swimming pool. At Cascade Resort, wellness is a state of mind. From special health programs combining fitness and wellness to detox menus, healthy lifestyle cocktails, or even Tainai Spa, a true oasis of tranquillity, at the resort we follow the philosophy of a "healthy mind in a healthy body". An extremely passionate team offering the world-renowned Portuguese hospitality and an impeccable service awaits you at Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort. Sip a cocktail as you immerse yourself in two splendid swimming pools, one of which with a natural sand bottom, sample a world-class culinary experience with our restaurants Moods and Senses, offering all-day-dining and a-la-carte options under the expert guidance of Chef Diogo Pereira or simply unwind in an authentic oasis of tranquillity - Tainai Spa, offering a large range of wellness programs as well as its very own heated swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and treatment rooms. Other facilities include a fully equipped Cascade Gym by AXN Club 100, golf performance academy with driving range, two tennis courts and the Caskiddy Kids Club. The resort also offers one of the most sought after football training facilities in Europe which are regularly requested by professional football teams for their high performance training camps. With a privileged location and top quality meetings & events facilities at Cascade you can also find the ideal place for any type of event or even for the wedding of your dreams with the Atlantic Ocean as a backdrop. We invite you to enter a world of elegance and sample the perfect lifestyle at Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascade Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing