We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“EXCELLENT HOLIDAY VILLA for LARGE FAMILY”

Review of Villa Monte D"oiro

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Room Breakfast and BBQ Terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Room
Breakfast and BBQ Terrace
Bar
Wine Cellar
Exterior Night
Room
Leaving room
Pool Table
Kitchen
Kitchen 2
Terrace 2
Gym
Sauna
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
10 Bedrooms, 11 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Lagos, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sudhir P
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT HOLIDAY VILLA for LARGE FAMILY”
Reviewed July 23, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our group of 20 stayed at this villa from 18th July and got all the luxuries of a HOTEL (House keeping, general cleaning,etc) and at the time the privacy of a HOME. All the facilities have been mentioned by other reviewers and are very GOOD.
The owner should consider the following:-
1. The directions given are co-ordinates only and we were lost for over 30 minutes.
2. The swimming pool and Jacuzzi floors are very rough and should be replaced with ceramic tiles.
Highly recommended for large families

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel T
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing!”
Reviewed July 21, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Fantastic villa with incredible views of the countryside. The garden is beautifully landscaped with an amazing pool and jacuzzi. Ample space to ensure you can enjoy the stunning weather Portugal has to offer!

Take a short taxi ride and you're in an idyllic town centre or sandy beach.

Highly recommend!!!

Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderfully secluded high standard villa”
Reviewed June 4, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Monte D'oiro is the perfect place for a large group. Some much space within the property, especially the lounge, kitchen/diner and the outside BBQ terrace. Far reaching views to the north are amazing which can be enjoyed from the BBQ terrace as the sun sets. Amazing pool with plenty of very comfortable sun loungers. But, important note to families with young children, there is no pool fence available. We managed just fine without it though (a two and three year-old) and will definitely return!

Rui, the villa owner and manager, was the perfect host on our arrival and throughout our stay (he even let us store our bags in his garage on our day of departure as we had evening flights). During our stay the dishwasher broke down and couldn't be repaired quickly, so Rui arranged for a brand new Miele machine to be delivered and installed. Now that's what I call looking after your guests!!

The villa is close to Lagos town (5 min drive) and Meia Praia beach (10 min drive). The beach is incredible, but waves can be a bit rough for smaller children. The beach at Luz is much better for youngsters.

Palmares golf course is a real treat, a must play for avid golfers. Think Scottish links golf but with much better weather, oh and super slick greens (you have been warned)! Santo Antonio golf course at Parque de Floresta is also great and represents a very different challenge to Palmares, plus at €65 for green fee, club hire (Callaways - full set) and a buggy, you really can't go wrong.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The BBQ terrace and pool
Liked least: The electricity pylon in the garden (but you don't notice it after the first day)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nathrober...
St. Asaph, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect stay!! Great value for money”
Reviewed May 7, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Everything about this trip was great. A great place to relax. The facilities were unreal.
Ensure you book a wine tasting experience with Rui. Passionate, knowledgeable and great fun! The wine was delightful also.
The look of the villa and the view from the villa are so picturesque. The plus side is that beautiful Lagos is only a 5 minute taxi away.
All in all, thanks for the memorable experiences!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: We stupidly failed to give notice to set uo the hot tub, but totally our fault as guests. The staff were so accommodating!!
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daveandmo...
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“brilliant”
Reviewed December 10, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great place for all the family even grandchildren . We had a private chef for the two weeks
who was brilliant , thank you Roberto and Adriana. Housemaid all week , 7 days. Rooms fantastic. Pools were great. A must for you all is to have the hot tub heated all the time as this was well used.
Will use again ....thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the chefs
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary U
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect place to relax”
Reviewed November 3, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at Villa Monte d'Oiro. It is a beautiful place with everything provided to ensure your stay is as relaxed as possible. It's basically a private hotel with maid service and 24-hour reception on call, and proved perfect for our family get-together. Transfers from and to the airport can also be arranged. The beds are two singles per room, but these can be made up as double beds.
We were so relaxed, we never left the villa, apart from the odd shopping trips into town - but with a fully-equipped gym, sauna, hot tub,swimming pool, table tennis and pool table, there was plenty to keep everyone amused. Rui, the CEO, who lives next door, even lent us his son's guitar so we could have a sing-song.
I would advise employing chef Roberto and sous-chef Arianna to cook and clear up. We did for the evening meals and it made life so easy; plus the meals were really delicious.
I would also take Rui's advice if he suggest paying extra to have the hot tub heated. We had fantastic, unseasonally warm weather, but the swimming pool was still freezing. The hot tub, on the other hand, was amazing!
If you want to explore the countryside, I'd recommend a car. However, taxis can be booked easily through the 24-hour reception desk number - cost varied, but approximately 6 euros to Lagos. Tips are optional, but 1-2 euros is fine if the driver is helpful.
Treat yourself to a wine tasting evening. Rui makes it so interesting and enjoyable.
We had a toddler with us and he did need watching as the pools are not fenced off and, while the setting is beautiful, the rocks could be dangerous for a youngster.
But all in all, it was an unforgetable holiday. Villa Monte d'Orio offers everyone a chance to relax, unwind and enjoy each other's company.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: No other hotel guests to worry about
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarjit19...
Walsall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional villa, absolutely superb!”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Great villa in a nice location ... Very good facilities.
We were a party of 15 (10 adults and 5 children) and enjoyed possibly one of the best holidays taken by any of us.
Rui was a mine of information and his wine tasting evening went down a treat!
Having reception help available 24 hrs a day made it very easy to book excursions.
The maid - Rita is there for 8 hours a day but is rarely seen doing the superb jobthat she does.
Would recommend this villa without a doubt and look forward to the chance to book it again.
One thing I would say is anybody considering the chef service should book early ... we struggled but the replacements that Rui found (Miguel and Lewis) was just right for our group especially since Lewis was a dab hand at cocktail making!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Different facilities - sauna, gym, pool, hot tub,
Liked least: being on a hillside, evening winds meant we could not sit outside and enjoy the views
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing