We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food OK but got ripped off - don't go there!”
Review of Os Arcos

Os Arcos
Ranked #320 of 394 Restaurants in Lagos
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Food OK but got ripped off - don't go there!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We ate here last night and the food was ok but when we returned all of the couvert but the bread and butter, the waiter seemed surprised. We don't like olives and I hate cheese. Having heard that you can sometimes be charged even if you don't have the couvert we checked the bill to find we had been charged €6.20 for the bread and butter. We said that we would not pay it but they weren't happy. After much arguing they agreed to take one couvert off and still wanted over €3 euros for bread and butter! A disgrace when we've been paying just over 1. To add insult to injury the waiter smirked and told us we would get bread for €1 in a supermarket. Don't go there - go to O Cavaliero further down the road.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally01926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    53
    41
    49
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“never got what we asked for”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Not as good as we hoped though we ate there three times! My husband was luckier than me with his meals Marcio was a great waiter and was worried I didn't like my meal my husband and I ended up swopping second time the waiter seemed vague I wanted chicken kebab no clams chips and rice grabbed Marcio got the kebab no rice but veg!! Everyone else had rice and veg Marcio very annoyed apologised over and over again their time ordered chicken kebab no clams rice and chips (it was good) only to get chicken kebab with clams waiter took them off!! A bowl of veg!! Changed for a bowl of rice!! When everyone else had rice on their plates awful meal for me again swimming in butter sauce yuk no Marcio he was the only one who seemed to understand and was bothered very hit and miss hubby's was fine and I'm not really fussy! Wont go back

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michele1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morzine
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing seafood delights!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had an amazing dinner at this restaurant. Marcio the waiter was really very friendly and helpful - we had never ordered seafood before and he advised quantities and humoured all our questions! We ordered a selection including lobster, crab, prawns, shrimp and seabass - everything was delicious and well presented. Desserts were great too - try the choc mousse or the local portugese desserts which we given a selection to try after we had had our own desserts! Thank you for a great nite!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gem74110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiawassee, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Experience”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

A resident Brit recommended this restaurant and it exceeded our expectations. We had the mixed fish grill which included 4 types of local fish and the monk fish with rice. Both were excellent. We also had the rose' sangria which was delightful. We finished with a local Portugese desert and coffee. It was a marvelous mid day lunch experience. Of yes, the waiter Marcio was fabulous. He was very attentive and made great suggestions.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim35007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“DO NOT GO”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Do not go to this restaurant. The food was expensive and extremely poor for Portuguese standards. The Octopus salad was ok and that is the best compliment I could pay for any dish. In addition to the food being poor, I was overcharged for the meal. When the bill did come, I asked to pay in Euro's 3 times and the waiter disregarded me and charged me in GBP.

Do not go.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PW33_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Os Arcos also viewed

Lagos, Faro District
Lagos, Faro District
 
 
Lagos, Faro District
 

Been to Os Arcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing