We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent apartments - great location - Best stay”
Review of Villa Doris Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Doris Suites
Ranked #15 of 70 Lagos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent apartments – great location - Best stay”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

POSITIVE:
Fabulous modern clean accommodation very well furnished and equipped. We were pleased to have a duvet on the bed, (not old blankets as in many hotels). We were up graded to a sea view apartment. We were here in winter & it was very quiet. Perfect location close to a scenic beach and reasonably close to the town. Plenty of free parking on the street plus under-cover free parking. So good we stayed another night.
Helpful and friendly staff.

NEGATIVE:
The bed was very hard, but the quality of all the other furnishings made up for this. 

Room Tip: The apartments are down the road from the hotel so you need to go to the hotel to check in, this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    41
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
33
42
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We booked here last minute for a 5 nights stay in September. We were not disappointed, especially for the price. The apartment was very spacious and clean and has all the mod coms. There's an open plan kitchen and living room which included a fancy hob, oven and microwave, dining table and chairs and a comfy sofa and flat screen TV (with lots of english channels which came in handy on the one day it pour down with rain). The big bathroom has a good shower over the bath and included some nice tolietries. Air con is included with separate units in the bedroom and living area.

The small pool and a hot tub on the ground floor were enjoyable although they didn't get the sun at any times of the day. There's also a gym which looked like it had a good selection of equipment. Wifi is available, but only in the lobby. There is no reception staff in the apartment, you have to go to the sister hotel but they are contactable by phone.

The location is fantastic, literally 1 minute walk down to the beautiful Donna Ana beach. The cliffs at Ponta da Piedade were about a 20 minute walk and well worth it for the amazing views. There's a small shop up and down the road and a few restaurants close by if you didn't fancy walking into town. The town is about a 20 minute walk which isn't too bad.

The derelict building next door isn't the prettiest but I wouldn't let that put you off, unless you are planning to spend your holiday sat inside looking out the window.

Overall I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xena82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The apartments are spacious and nice. Very well located - close to the beautiful beaches and viewpoints.

Overall we enjoyed the stay very much. A few negative details however: not all apartments have balconies, and those with garden view (select carefully on the web-site) amay also have a view on the neighbor abandonded hotel which looks quite nasty.
After 10min think we upgraded to sea view and were very pleased then.

A for the apartment itself: all good except there were completely no towel driers in the bathroom (or any other implement to handle the towels!). And there location of light switches and electricity sockets is very questionable sometimes.

One last thing: the maids who clean the rooms should change the water and wash the floor-clothes more often - we sometimes were filling quite objectionable odor for a few hours after them completing the job.

Room Tip: It really makes sense to pay a bit more for the sea view, the difference is huge And also I suggest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ivan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

madameswanLondon's earlier review is quite in line with our experience: a good choice! the 1-bedroom apartment we had was spacious and spotless; furnishing and kitchen were modern and high-quality.

the derelict place next door is indeed a disturbing sight when arriving; however, we got used to that sight after a while. same is true for wifi in the lobby only; after all, one is in lagos for vacations and the place has a good 3G coverage by the main mobile operators.

for a view, I would recommend to ask for an apartment on one of the top floors.

Room Tip: spacious and spotless
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gdarezzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Stayed at the Villa Doris Suites for 10 nights and loved it. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment with the sea view. We found it modern and clean Open plan kitchen and living room with a balcony with a table and chairs.The kitchen was well equipped with Miele dish washer,hob and oven, microwave in the kitchen. Good quality utensils, pots etc.It was perfect for all your cooking needs..they thought of everything.
The living room had a lovely comfy sofa and a dinning table and chairs..a flat screen modern telly with satellite BBC, CNN etc.
The bedroom was a good size with fitted spacious wardrobes. The bed comfy but we found the pillows too high and hard..we asked for softer flatter ones which we were given without any problems.fantastic blackout shatters.
The bathroom was clean and well equipped with a bath and a powerful shower..there was also a bidet. The bathroom was somewhat smaller than we would have liked. both of us could not be in it together without squeezing each other.
There was no wifi in the room which was a bit of a pain .You had to go down to the lobby,the connection was good.
If you want a nice, quiet place a bit away from the touristy areas this is it. It's about 100 metres from the most beautiful beach . It is about 20 minute walk from the main bars and restaurants.At night it felt very lonely walking back from town.We were disappointed that the suites were right next to a huge derelict hotel which stopped operating many years ago..this we were not expecting as it spoiled the look of the whole area .I must stress that this did not affect our holiday at all..it's just that every time we passed it on our way into town it felt odd this huge building empty and scarily quiet right next door to the apartments not a pretty site we thought.we recommend Villa Doris Suites to other trip advisor travellers. Great service, well kept, secure place and great value for money.

Room Tip: sea view rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank madameswanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.2 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
0.0 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
1.0 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#15 of 52 in Lagos
3,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 52 in Lagos
1,391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#2 of 52 in Lagos
364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 52 in Lagos
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Doris Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Doris Suites

Property: Villa Doris Suites
Address: Praia de D. Ana, Lagos 8600, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Doris Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 50 meters from the Praia D. Ana beach and 10 minutes walk from Lagos city center. Villa Doris features spacious, light and airy suites, all come with a full kitchen, featuring Miele appliances. They also include a flat-screen TV, air conditioning and whirlpool in bathrooms. Some suites offer sea views. Free Wi-fi in the lobby area. After a swim in the pool, guests can relax with a cocktail from the Village Bar on the terrace's deckchairs at the Villa Doris' partner hotel, 250m away. Villa Doris's partner hotel also serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. It also has a 24-hour front desk staff, which can help out with babysitting services, bike and car rentals, and dry cleaning. An airport shuttle to Faro Airport, a 1-hour drive away, can also be arranged. The Villa Doris is a 10-minute walk from the Ponta da Piedade and the center of Lagos with its many restaurants and bars. Free parking and garage is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Doris Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Doris Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing