We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly a 5 star hotel but not yet!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sensimar Lagos by Yellow
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nearly a 5 star hotel but not yet!!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I do not normally write reviews but in this case, I feel I must as this beautiful hotel is definitely missing an opportunity to really be 5*:
First of all I want to say that the Thomson reps (Arleen and Martin) were excellent and very helpful throughout.
The hotel is new to Thomson for 2013. It is also a new hotel, just 3 years old.
1. The hotel decor, rooms and pool areas are excellent and cannot be faulted. However...
2. The food is the big let down - breakfast is ok but dinner (B&B and half board available) had lack of choice and poor replenishment when items ran out. The hotel also did not cater for special dietary needs - even vegetarians had difficulty in selecting an interesting meal! Lunches, if bought at the hotel were expensive with poor choice (al fresco and pool bar).
3. The hotel is located a few miles form the town of Lagos. There is a local bus service (100 metres walk) and train service (quarter mile walk) but the services are infrequent. Maybe the hotel (classified as 5*) should consider a courtesy bus for residents, as offered in many other 5* hotels.
4. The space within the hotel is not used well. There are several restaurant areas but most of them are not used and could offer specislist dining experiences - Portuguese/Morrocan/etc. There is one a la carte restaurnat but it is pricey and can only cater for a small number of diners at any time. The outside area by the lower pool could be used on some evenings for barbecues as it is a dead area after 5pm.
5. Overall we enjoyed our holiday, the reps were excellent, the trip we bought was excellent value, our room was lovely and we like Lagos (our 2nd time there). We enjoyed eating in the local restaurants (some evenings) and beach bars (lunch times). We met some lovely people during our stay of 11 nights. The hotel staff were helpful and friendly and the rooms and public areas were beautiful and well cleaned. However, we were overcharged for items on two occasions - in the pool bar and on our final bill (rectified by reception staff - so check your bills!)
6. I would use Thomson again and I would re-visit Lagos but not at this hotel as it currently stands.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie25Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    544
    183
    50
    24
See reviews for
60
1,209
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

An oasis of tranquility, attentive, competent and very friendly staff, fantastic views, located in an unspoiled part of Lagos, no hypermarkets, no "Red Lion authentic pub" nearby! The major attraction, for me, was the opportunity to enjoy a peaceful and stress free week in pampered style in beautiful surroundings. Food was excellent, wide range of choice at breakfast and dinner. Lunch of wonderful fish dishes, at one of the unique beach bars or a short trip into Lagos. The facilities were 5 star, rooms luxurious, bedding replaced daily, pool rooms with Cabanas particularly nice touch, always enough sun loungers and if not the staff would bring out more. Only issues, Browns the a la carte, was empty and lacked atmosphere, this strange habit of placing towels on sun loungers seems to have become a British national pass time!

Room Tip: front facing 5th floor rooms have spectacular views, 2nd floor pool rooms have cabana beds and you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
320 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Situated adjacent to a great wide beach , this hotel with its fantastic rooms most with sea , or pool views is a for relaxing holidays . The public areas bars , pool , gardens are very well kept & appointed .The food is good for the overall price the majority of clients have paid via Thomson , Drinks are always a little more expensive in Hotels they are not that bad .
In regards to the comments from postings about the position read the brochure its not that far to walk into Lagos , catch the council public transport or hire a taxi .
This a real value money hotel , mainly occupied by Thomson clients , with in mind when booking you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atw1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

In our opinion, this was an great modern hotel in a wonderful setting with lovely, if generally untrained, staff.
Overlooking the sea with interesting walks to the left (towards Alvor) & right (into Lagos town/marina), which suited us perfectly.
Beach bars, Buses & trains were nearby too.
We had a good holiday but would we recommend this hotel?
NO! Not until the owners sort out the dining experience.
Breakfast was acceptable, apart from the toaster, tea & coffee systems but dinner certainly was not.
Hamburgers as the only hot meat in a 5 star restaurant? I don't think so!
Thomsons didn't think so either & promptly offered compensation to their clients staying at the same time as ourselves.
We hope they get it right because we would love to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SL311945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and I had a great time at this fantastic hotel. The staff are great, very attentive. Extremely high standard of cleanliness. The food was lovely, great selection and choice. Lovely to be able to chill by the pool with pleanty of sunbeds. Indoor pool nice and warm. We booked through Thomson and had a great rep on site too. Definitely reccommend this hotel :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLYorke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
449 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Hotel was 5 star, the variety of food was only 3 star. Each day there was only one choice of potato and only a choice of two vegetables.
The rooms were beautifully presented and spotlessly clean. It was a pity about the choice of food.
The view from the bedroom was stunning. The cost of bottled water was very costly.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My partner and I visited the hotel from the 2-9 June. Booked through Thompson and travel and transport was seamless. On arrival to the hotel, we were stunned to discover the hotel was even more beautiful than the brochure/website. We were quickly checked in and completely agree that the rooms have a 'wow' factor. Our room was on the 2nd floor, looking out to Lagos and the sea. We had sun every afternoon which was a bonus. As mentioned by pretty much everybody else - food really does let the hotel down. It's not awful by any means, but when you are presented with such a fabulous looking hotel, it's easier to notice the things that aren't up to the same standard. The hotel management clearly knows that food is an issue - and you are presented with the option of booking at the Italian on a Monday, Wednesday or Saturday...be warned, book your reservations quickly as it's soon full! Everything about the hotel really is great, it's just the food that needs working on. If I were to go again, I'd visit the hotel on a B&B basic. The perfect place for a fly and flop holiday though!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the sea view or limited sea view! If you're on 2nd floor without the sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pippa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.7 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 50 in Lagos
1,314 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 50 in Lagos
3,010 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 50 in Lagos
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
1.3 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
2.3 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#2 of 50 in Lagos
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Lagos by Yellow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Lagos by Yellow

Property: Sensimar Lagos by Yellow
Address: Estrada Meia Praia, Lagos 8600-315, Portugal (Formerly Yellow Lagos Meia Praia)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#4 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
#15 Family Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sensimar Lagos by Yellow 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults-only hotel (16+) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sensimar Lagos by Yellow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellow Lagos Meia Praia Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing