We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Lagos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sensimar Lagos by Yellow
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We've now stayed in the Yellow Lagos twice once in summer 2011 and then in June 2012. This hotel is fantastic, it is set just back from the big Mia Pria beach and is a 15-20 minute walk from town along it alternatively their is a road which takes slightly longer. Taxies cost under ten euros or their is a local bus service but we found this to be a bit erratic. There is also a train station a short walk away but again not very reliable in our experience

The rooms are spacious, modern and very comfortable. The bath in the open plan bedroom/ bathroom gives it a quirky feel, the beds are big and super comfy too. The staff are friendly but not obtrusive.

Both pools are beautiful, the top infinity one I liked the best lovely views and a pleasure to swim in it. Around the pools the sun beds are not crammed in and the beds themselves very comfortable. The hotel is spotless quite a job as everything is gleaming white, even when the hotel is full it doesn't seem crowded.

The breakfast buffet was excellent a very good range of both hot and cold foods, and of good quality. We also have ate in the hotel a couple of times in the evening and found that to be very good too.

Lagos is a beautiful wee town, cobbled streets, lovely restaurants and with lots to do and see. If you go hire a car and explore the Algarve and surrounding areas you will not be disappointed.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
40  Thank Clairepj2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,593)
There are newer reviews for Sensimar Lagos by Yellow
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,379 - 1,385 of 1,593 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

Booked 5 nights at this hotel. We normally stay at the Tivoli but felt like a change. Hotel is lovely the rooms are beautiful and very large and modern also great views of the beach. The staff were delightful especially the bar staff who always had time to stop and chat. The pool outside was like something out of a magazine wow.

We used the indoor pool and spa which was never busy.

Breakfast is good loads of choice, we never ate an evening meal here as we have our favourite restaurants in Lagos which were only a 5 euro cab ride away.

We met with the manager of the hotel who was very friendly and went out of his way to greet us when he saw us.

Yellow have a moto may all who enter as guests leave as friends this is so true. We were sad to go home but looking forward to returning next year.

Congratulations on a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank deb's48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Wow! This hotel is an amazing find, modern, super clean and comfortable, spectacular location and view. We recently traveled with friends to Spain and left an overnight in Lagos to chance and stumbled upon this location. This is the nicest hotel we have ever stayed at bar none and highly recommend this experience. The hotel has multiple swimming pools, spa and is across a quite road from a long sandy beach. The rooms are beautiful and the shower is amazing!! The front desk staff picked up on the fact that someone in our party was celebrating a birthday and a lovely fruit platter, note and bottle of wine was delivered to the room, a wonderful touch. The front desk staff also recommended a nearby restaurant that was also equally amazing. If in Lagos or staying in this area of Spain, this is THE hotel to stay at, you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Any room at this hotel is an experience, just stay!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Marlene47_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had a weeding down in Lagos and didn’t bother booking a hotel, we just walking in a got a room for the weekend.
The hotel looks fantastic from the Meia Praia road. It is pretty new and clean, very spacious, the pool area is great with sumptuous sunbeds and round shared beds. The beach is just across the road but it is far from Lagos Center, a hazard if you don’t have a car, because it is too far to walk.
The bedroom was very stylish wish modern deco, bath in the room and privacy for the loo and bidet. The shower area was really good and spacious.
The food at Yellow was good; the breakfast buffet was excellent with a lot of variety.
There is a downside however, and it is the lack of staff, ok, it has the concept of stylish and don’t disturb the guest style but still a 5 star hotels deserves more staff and more attention to the gusts. The staffs they do have were all excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Rita_Picarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

A very nice hotel. Staff were very courteous at all times.

We arrived at the hotel by train. Meia-Praia station is a short walk away – under 5 minutes firstly along a flat road and then up a short hill If you arrive by train cross the level crossing at the end of the platform, walk along the road parallel to the railway tracks past a restaurant and another hotel, pass the Yellow Lagos (multicolour lights) and then take the first right up the hill. If you have a lot of luggage you are probably just as well getting a taxi from Lagos railway station.

Breakfast was a help yourself buffet, and allsorts of foods were available. There was a hot selection which changed slightly daily, and a chef was present who would prepare omelettes etc on demand. There was also a wide selection of breads, fruits, cereals, cold meats, cheeses, fruit juice and champagne We did not visit the restaurant apart from for breakfast, but we did visit the bar several times and found both waiters serving there to be very professional and competent.

The room (with a sea view for which we paid extra) was on the side of the hotel overlooking Lagos town. With the shape of the hotel, I am not sure which rooms, if any, do not have a sea view, I would probably take the gamble next time and not pay the premium. The room was well furnished and we were very comfortable in it. The shower was especially good. I did feel they were a bit stingy with towels in the room though - and upon check in you are given a voucher which you can exchange for A pool towel, and when you give it back you get the voucher back. If you don’t have the voucher or towel upon checkout you are charged 35 Euro for the towel!

We did not visit the indoor pool – you have to pay to use it between 10am and 7pm, and the charges seemed a bit steep to us. The 2 outdoor pool areas were nice – there were plenty of sun loungers, parasols etc. I do not consider either pool to be an infinity pool, but they were nice all the same, although a bit cold in September.

We used the railway to get to Portimao for an afternoon out and also walked into Lagos a couple of times during our visit. We also went on a day trip to the Slide and Splash water park which was good fun.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank rtl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My wife and I spent 9 nights in the Yellow Hotel Meia Praia from 12th - 21st Sept. This hotel is an architectural masterpiece with wonderful use of asymmetry. Most of the walls, floors and ceilings are white and everything is spotless. There are 2 very large adult swimming pools and a kiddies pool - all of which are pristine. They was absolutely no problem getting sun loungers.
The breakfast buffet was top class and you could get fried eggs or omelettes cooked on the spot. Virtually all of the staff were excellent.
This is a quiet hotel and so if you want disco until 2:00 in the morning it is not for you. However there was a two piece group playing on the Saturday and Wednesday night and they had an excellent repertoire of 60's, 70's, 80's and some modern songs. On the Saturday night there were probably 30 people up dancing.
There are a couple of very good beach restatuarants about a 3 minute walk from the hotel, and you can get the local train from the station which is about 4 minutes from the hotel into Lagos (5 mins & €1.40) or Portimao (20 min & €1.70). Indeed you can get the train virtually to the eastern side of the Algarve if you so desire.
We got a private taxi transfer fro Faro with Suntransfers which cost €62 each way.

Gerry,
Dublin.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Gerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The hotel has a great position,a little bit far away fom the center of the city,but with a taxi or a rental vehicle,this little issue goes away.Big clean rooms,the staff is very friendly and helpfull,the hotel services are excellent. Overall,a great experience!

Room Tip: Go for the sea view rooms!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Caciuloiu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagos
0.7 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#8 of 52 in Lagos
1,440 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 52 in Lagos
427 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 52 in Lagos
3,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
2.1 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
20.6 mi away
Sao Rafael Atlantico
Sao Rafael Atlantico
#1 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Lagos by Yellow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Lagos by Yellow

Address: Estrada Meia Praia, Lagos 8600-315, Portugal (Formerly Yellow Lagos Meia Praia)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#3 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
#15 Family Hotel in Lagos
Price Range: $212 - $564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sensimar Lagos by Yellow 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults-only hotel (16+) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Sensimar Lagos by Yellow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellow Lagos Meia Praia Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing