We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional foo, good quality but slow service”
Review of Restaurante Reis

Restaurante Reis
Ranked #23 of 404 Restaurants in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Traditional foo, good quality but slow service”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We visited here as we wanted to experience a more traditional Portuguese restaurant. We were not disappointed as the atmosphere and food were definitely good examples of Portuguese cuisine. We booked in advance as we were a party of eight and the restaurant was very full. We were a little nervous about going with the kids (aged between 7 -12) but in fact they were able to accommodate their culinary requests with pasta and fish dishes suitable for them. The choice of food is excellent and all the adults chose fish dishes all of which were of a high standard. We felt let down, however, by the slowness of the service. It took almost 90 minutes from arrival to our main courses being presented, which felt too long, although maybe this is to be expected in the height of the season, although it wasn't something we experienced in other restaurants. Overall, if you want something traditional this really is the place to eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caznzac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    222
    56
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best meal in Lagos.....yum”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

After having average food all week, we found Reis on the recommendation of another holidaymaker. What a difference, so much so, we are going again tonight. Monkfish rice was gorgeous and swordfish was excellent. Service was friendly and felt like it was a pleasure to serve us. Highly recommend a visit. Well done Reis and thank you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Craney72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BURGAU PORTUGAL
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Typical and wonderful”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My family and I have been eating in this restaurant for many years. It is our favourite restaurant in Lagos. The food is fabulous and the best example of Portuguese cuisine. The Owner and staff are special. Do not miss a visit to REIS

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CASAGRANDE1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
525 reviews
440 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Loved the decoration”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

They had really cool mosaics on the walls with scenes of Lagos which was really cool. Their portions of food are HUGE! I couldn't finish up most of my food. We were trying all kinds of octopus around Lagos and so we got the octopus salad and octopus in tomato sauce. It was our least favorite octopus dishes around town. They weren't bad, we just enjoyed the others more. They had great clams though and the soup was pretty good too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaime w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Porto, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comida bem confecionada vs preço razoável/ Excelent food vs nice price”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Visitei o restaurante Reis em família. Todos comemos pratos diferentes que variavam entre carne e peixe. Todos estavam muito bons e para além disso muito bem servidos em quantidade também. Atendimento muito familiar. Preço é bastante razoável. A repetir.

Visited the restaurant on Kings family. We all eat different dishes varying from meat and fish. All were very good and also very nicely served in quantity also. Service very familiar.The price is not expensive. To return again when possible.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Reis also viewed

 
Lagos, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurante Reis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing