We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolute 100% positive turnout for me”
Review of Casa Offshore

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lagos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Offshore
Ranked #5 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2013

When looking for a holiday to do on my own, with something fun and exciting to experience, I came across the Casa Offshore Surf & Kitesurf Lodge!! "SUPping Algarve" in Google was my search and they were the first to pop up :-) I read loads of reviews and also looked at some other places, but then decided to ask if they still had a little space for me and if they actually do SUPping coarses with wave lessons !!! Denise came up with an idea how to spend my 3 days SUPping, so I booked and went....I came a day early so I could be part of the BBQ I read so much about!! Everything was awesome...the hosts are great!! Thanks Sebastian, Mikaela and Denise and Sebastians' mom who prepared most of the food and did a wonderful job!! The Casa is a very chilled, easy going surf house. If you are looking for fancy 5star hotel treatment and room service...go look somewhere else ;-) this is a family place where you can feel right at home!!
My first day of surfing was the SUP basic on the beach with some paddling on the still ocean across to caves and grottos and another little beach- lovely!! Involuntarily taking a few dives.. the second day we were a group of cool people taking a trip down the river toward the ocean. It was about 4 hours with Seb as our teacher and guide!! The third day I hit the waves, solo with Sebastian teaching me how to do it..hard work for me I must admit, but so much fun and finally even managing standing up SUPping on a tiny wave ;-) Thank you, thank you, it was fantastic!!
So if you are looking for a bit of a difference and not your basic surf camp week vacation ( for various reasons - I was a bit scared of that one), do this, you will get rewards immediately!!
I hope to be back and improve my skills :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sybil74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 253 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had a great 3 days surfing and 1 day SUP adventure. Loved the room, pool, atmosphere, sunshine, BBQ, garden, everyone we met. 3 days surfing back to back was exhausting but amazing. I'd probably recommend a rest day to chill out at the Casa, use the pool or go to a beach. We had planned the 3 days surfing and then to head to Lisbon in the morning but ended up catching a much later train to try out SUP and have some more time hanging out at the Casa.

All the surf instructors were really supportive, friendly and enthusiastic. They gave great tips while out in the water and were always watching how you did. The days work really well with a break for lunch and nap in the sun before heading back out. The drives home were pretty quiet as we all slept/crashed out from the full day in the water.

Lagos is also great, busy but not giant, a 10 min stroll down the hill from the Casa but you don't need to go that far to get some great food- we went to a steak place around the corner that Sebastian recommended that I am still dreaming about 3 months later.

Room Tip: Had a twin room in the back villa, was huge with windows opening on to the garden for fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Love this place, Seb and the team make you feel at home as soon as you arrive. The house is really clean and you never feel like its overcrowded. The BBQ and Pizza nights were a great idea and a good way to bring people together. Although the house is a pleasant stroll into the center of Lagos and its array of cool bars and restaurants. The surf instructors are amongst the best I have experienced and Portugal is turning out to be one of my favourite destinations. Am already looking forward to returning in 2014....thanks guys.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just back from a quick 5 day trip to the Casa Offshore and I have to say that it only gets better, having first visited 2 yeas ago and met some great friends whilst learning to surf we decided to return this year and see if we could improve a little.
We weren't the only ones improving, the Casa has changed in the past couple of years and the changes are awesome, the pool is the perfect place to relax and catch a few rays after a hard days surf lesson - or even on a day off. The rooms have also had changes made, the bathroom in my room was sparkly and new and the room had had some painting and new furniture. Top that off with a very tasty pizza night and some brilliant surf lessons and it was a great short break.
I am sure that we will be back :-)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicHkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I did wonder whether it would live up to the reviews. It did :-)

Wonderful place with a family atmosphere, Seb, Michaela and Denise are all lovely. They could not be more welcoming or helpful.

Casa is spotlessly clean, well run, laid back with a nice cross section of ages and nationalities staying. I visited with two friends, but it'd be fine to arrive solo, everyone is very friendly.

I've stayed in many places over the years and this is only the second time I've bothered to write a review. Highly recommended. I'll definitely be back.

Simon

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

we had a wonderful time with extreme algarve in september this year. we stayed in the appartment which was great as it gave us our own space (and fridge).
the atmosphere was lovely, the house and garden were absolutely lovely and clean, a perfect place to chill after surfing.
the surf lessons were really good, the tuition was great for a beginner and an intermediate.
the yoga teacher came to the house 3 times during our stay (on request) and we really enjoyed the classes.
we also did some SUP whilst we were there which was great. we did a one day lesson and they managed to make space for us to do a tour down the river as well, which was beautiful.
All the staff were really accommodating and made our trip perfect.
we can't thank them enough, and will be going back asap

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurenski98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I’d booked 10 days stay in Lagos with my boyfriend in late August/early September.
We booked 4 days surf lessons with Extreme Algarve but our accommodation was in a different complex just up the road.

Even though we weren’t actually staying at the Casa we were made to feel so welcome and part of the family that we ended up spending a lot of our time there!
The weekly BBQ night is great; awesome food, great company and lots of booze, what more could you want?
The Casa itself is beautiful, hammocks, nice pool, relaxing water fountain, hot tub. Yeah I was jealous we weren't staying there, I’m not going to lie! The house itself is clean and tidy and wonderfully decorated, proper surf style home.

So the surf lessons were amazing. We’d never surfed a day in our lives but by the end of the first day we were up on the board and by the end of the holiday we were catching waves like pro’s :p

All the surf instructors were great, experienced, informative and friendly. Even in a large group the instructors would give each individual a personal approach to improve their technique. The lunches were lovely and everyone just relaxes after a long morning surfing.
In fact we loved the surf lessons so much we booked and extra two days, enough said.

Michaela and Sebastian have made the Casa a home from home. Denise the Queen of bookings helped organize our stay and was so friendly and welcoming, thank you Denise!
We met so many amazing, beautiful people at the Casa, from all over Europe and beyond. (Love you all!) Everyone was in the same mind to chill, surf, have a laugh and get a bit drunk, absolute dream.
Lagos itself is my new happy place. Seriously. Old buildings, beautiful courtyards,chilled surfer vibe, gorgeous beaches, couldn't fault one meal that we ate. The bars are quirky, play great music and everywhere does amazing Mojitos!
I honestly cannot recommend the Casa offshore and the Extreme Algarve instructors highly enough.
Best holiday I've been on by far, so much so that we are going to book again for next year.
Can’t wait.
Thank you Sebastian, Michaela, Denise and all the Extreme Algarve Crew!
See you soon.
‘Dak Dak, Bang Bang’
Xxx
Becky and Matt.

Room Tip: Just stay at the Casa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.1 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 53 in Lagos
450 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lagos4U Hostel
Lagos4U Hostel
#4 of 140 in Lagos
148 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Mae
Casa Mae
#1 of 140 in Lagos
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cascade Wellness & Lifestyle Resort
0.4 mi away
Lagos Youth Hostel
Lagos Youth Hostel
#37 of 53 in Lagos
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quinta das Barradas
Quinta das Barradas
#1 of 1 in Odiaxere
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Offshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Offshore

Address: Rua Pintor Falcao Trigoso | Lote 8, Lagos 8600-610, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Price Range: $24 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Offshore 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Offshore is Extreme Algarve's very own Surf & Kite Lodge, right in the heart of Lagos. Located less than 10 minutes walk to the town centre and local beaches, there are also bars, restaurants and supermarket facilities right on the doorstep! Set back from the road, the property offers you security and privacy during your stay. The kitchen is fully equipped for you to prepare a light snack or cook up a storm! After your surf or kitesurf session take a refreshing dip in the pool, relax in the hot tub, have an outdoor massage, practice some yoga or just chill in the garden with your fellow travellers . Lagos' famous cliffs and grottos are only minutes away and can best be enjoyed on your day off via mountain bike, SUP tour or kayak. Or simply take a stroll to see the sun set on another magical day. At Casa Offshore you are guaranteed a friendly welcome and the weekly BBQs and Paellas are said to be the best this side of the Algarve - come see for yourself! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Offshore Surf And Kitesurf Lodge
Casa Offshore Surf & Kitesurf Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing