We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to really snaffel a holiday!!!!”
Review of Casa Offshore

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lagos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Offshore
Ranked #5 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I've had plenty of holidays all over the world. I would normally travel with friends but, for this holiday, I felt like going alone.

Only I wasn't alone. Within minutes of arriving at Casa Offshore it felt like I had been there all my life with life-long friends being made with every checkin. The atmosphere, created initially by the staff and owners, is carried through both houses creating a team vibe that welcomes every newbie immediately.

The surf guys: Rik, Marcel and Kieran. All have great personalities and humour, making the surfing (even if you don't get it straight away) such a great experience. Sometimes the drawings in the sand can be a little too expressionistfor my liking ;-) , but hey, you go Rik!

All in all one of the best holidays of my life and the best last minute decision i've ever made! I look forward to the next time i get asked by text "what time do you think you're going to arrive today robbie? Denise" I also wonder how many more times I can 'Forget' my passport, on the way home, without people getting suspicious.

Thank you so much - Seb, Denise, Michaela, (lani & Frodo), Rik, Marcel and Kieran (and of course Mean John!)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stateofrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian W, Owner at Casa Offshore, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Roberto

Thanks for the kind words amigo.
You´re humor will be sorely missed (until the next time anyway:)
I´ll get Rik to work on his diagrams :)

Ate ja!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 253 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

On arrival at Casa Offshore we were instantly welcomed by Seb and the other guests staying in the house, everyone was extremely friendly and we were made to feel at home.

The local area boasts a large selection of quality reasonably priced restaurants, beautiful beaches and an active nightlife, all of which is within 10 minutes walking distance of the house. Close enough for an evening stroll but far enough away for some peace and quiet at night.

I'd never been surfing before but the instruction and equipment given by the team was superb. We had a great laugh and were coached as a group and individually throughout the day on areas we could improve. Driven to the beaches at 10am and returning home around 4pm gave you all the time for surfing you could handle with plenty of time to relax on the beach in-between.

The house had everything you could ask for, comfortable bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms, a hot tub, swimming pool, large kitchen, lounge with TV, Sky and a projector to watch an endless collection of films, like you were in your own mini cinema. The veranda out front was where everyone would relax after a hard day and get to know each other before heading out into the town for dinner.

I've only been back in England a week and already I'm checking the calendar and telling as many people as I come with me. It was honestly the best holiday I've ever been on and I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian W, Owner at Casa Offshore, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Goose man

Was a laugh having you and your crew over, very cool friends you have.
Thanks for the kind words and the next time you´re out we´ll hit the dirt trails!!!!
Ciao
Sebastian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed in town at the Lagosmar and got instruction from Marcel and David. These guys really look after you and my surfing has improved considerably as a result.

I'm definitely coming back owing to the vibe at extreme algarve - Sebastian has a great thing going here. Surf everyday under close supervision with very attentive and enthusiastic help. I've never spent better money on a holiday in my life. Sad to leave and already thinking about the next trip.

Room Tip: They're all great. I didn't stay here but had a look round and I will stay here next time. H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P3333t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Loved the place loved the people :)

Had a great time in Casa Offshore. Really nice rooms so clean! Hot tub is amazing.

Surfing was so much fun even if I am terrible always someone there to give you a hand. Really fun group lots of dinners out and a few drinks in some of the local much to friendly bars.

Can not wait to go again

Anna

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna27Dublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian W, Owner at Casa Offshore, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Hey Ana

I´m literally writing this as you just left yesterday for your second visit (sorry I missed you)
Thanks so much for staying with us (then) and for coming back. Look forwards to seeing you guys in July again, big Frodo hugsXXX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is my second year at Casa Offshore and it gets better every time! Lago's the warmest & most beautiful surf spot in Southern Europe (and I even went in Feb!). Sebastian & Marcel are adrenaline junkies who know exactly how to take advantage of the sweetest & most consistent waves! Mostly bc they love to surf as well :)

Back at the lovely boutique hotel, you'll find amazing hospitality & great friends in Michaela, Sebastian & their fluffy dogs! They put a lot of TLC into beautifying their place - recently with a pimped out pool! These guys clearly love their work and it shows!

Also, the charming lil city center is great for some cute bars and restaurants after a long day's surf. You have to try the amazing Portuguese & seafood at Petisca Casinha.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nsimplexity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian W, Owner at Casa Offshore, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Neleeeeee!!!!

Thanks so much for coming back :)
It was lovely to meet Paul too.
Glad you liked the extras in the Casa, we still have a few more plans in the pipeline.

Hopefully see you soon again and the Pork and prawns dish was fabulous, it always pays to have a doggie bag when eating at Casina do Petisco.

See you soon
The crew and fluffy dogs!!!!X

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

After a lot of deliberation over which company to go for I decided on Extreme Algarve (booked through wave pals) based on the information on their site of the surfing and the accommodation and of course the hot tub :)

I was certainly not disappointed. Before I arrived Michaela - one of the owners - was extremely helpful answering my millions of questions and upon meeting her and Seb I felt instantly welcomed like a guest in their home. Making sure you are comfortable and happy is top of their priority list.

The accommodation is even better than the pictures, clean and well decorated and the solar heated water is a bonus for those environmentally minded like me :) you have everything you could need in the kitchen but most of the time as you are so close to all the restaurants you will probably not use it!

The food they prepare is delicious and they provide many options at breakfast. They were also happy to cater for my sort of non-meat eating non-cheese eating diet for lunches. It's important you have lots of fuel for surfing and they certainly provide it.

Now the reason I was there - surfing- both Seb and Ricki were fantastic surf coaches, pushing me to go out of my comfort zone but still there to support you. I learnt lots from them - in particular that I still have a hell of a lot to learn lol. There is such a choice of waves in Portugal so you won't be stuck without somewhere to go for your ability.

So in summary - if you are looking for some great surf with some awesome people and a lovely place to stay look no further :)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurfingBird3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian W, Owner at Casa Offshore, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Hi Leane

Thanks for the great review and we´re super stoked you chose us above the competition.
Glad you like the pics.
Remember weight on the front and we look forward to seeing you later this yearXX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We’ve visited Lagos and Casa Offshore two years in a row now and are smitten! Lagos is the Algarve’s hidden gem, with secluded beaches, cobbled streets, tasty restaurants and a lively nightlife. If you stay at Casa Offshore, you can explore all of this, and more, in the most laid-back and fun environment. The Lodge and its rooms are well furbished and spotlessly maintained, while the facilities (which include a hammock, hot tub and free Wi-Fi) are the perfect tonic to kicking-back and relaxing. All in all, it offered us the freedom and atmosphere of a top hostel stay, with the luxuries and cosiness of a boutique hotel holiday. But Casa Offshores real assets are its sincere welcome, firiendly staff and fun vibe. This is exemplified by the surf school. No matter your age or ability, it’s a hoot. And that’s largely down to the instructors, who are full of encouragement and banter, in equal measure.

We’d just hit our 30s when we first visited and had the inevitable concerns about the indignity of shoehorning our neglacted ageing bodies into tight wetsuits, as well as the prospect of consistently drowning in front of younger guests. We also had reservations about staying in a surf lodge, where privacy could be at a minimum for a couple. We need not worry though. There’s privacy if you want it and Casa attracts all ages, backgrounds and nationalities – but strictly only friendly, fun-loving folks! Breakfast offers the perfect fuels for surfing and sunbathing, while the infamous weekly BBQ guarantees full stomachs and a well-worthwhile hangover. Casa Offshore has attention to detail and we cannot wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayner C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian W, Owner at Casa Offshore, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Hi Wayne and Jenny

You have no idea how much it means to us that you guys came back again.
Thanks a mil, we love yaXX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.1 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 52 in Lagos
436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.3 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#2 of 52 in Lagos
381 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 52 in Lagos
1,458 reviews
0.4 mi away
Solar de Mos Hotel
Solar de Mos Hotel
#9 of 52 in Lagos
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Offshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Offshore

Address: Rua Pintor Falcao Trigoso | Lote 8, Lagos 8600-610, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Price Range: $24 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Offshore 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Offshore is Extreme Algarve's very own Surf & Kite Lodge, right in the heart of Lagos. Located less than 10 minutes walk to the town centre and local beaches, there are also bars, restaurants and supermarket facilities right on the doorstep! Set back from the road, the property offers you security and privacy during your stay. The kitchen is fully equipped for you to prepare a light snack or cook up a storm! After your surf or kitesurf session take a refreshing dip in the pool, relax in the hot tub, have an outdoor massage, practice some yoga or just chill in the garden with your fellow travellers . Lagos' famous cliffs and grottos are only minutes away and can best be enjoyed on your day off via mountain bike, SUP tour or kayak. Or simply take a stroll to see the sun set on another magical day. At Casa Offshore you are guaranteed a friendly welcome and the weekly BBQs and Paellas are said to be the best this side of the Algarve - come see for yourself! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Offshore Surf & Kitesurf Hotel Lagos
Casa Offshore Surf And Kitesurf Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing