We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had to return”

Restaurante O Alcaide
Ranked #59 of 477 Restaurants in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $36
Cuisines: Portuguese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Restaurant 'O Alcaide', a very nice place for lunch or dinner in a family atmosphere, a delicious meal accompanied by good wine. Come and see our specialties!Opened in September 2009, O Alcaide is located at Rua Porta da Vila, near the Fire Department in Lagos. O Alcaide is the ideal place to enjoy your meal in a relaxed and familiar ambient. O Alcaide is open everyday for lunch and dinner.
Reviewed August 31, 2018

Party of six, two adults, two teenagers & two children, 6 & 7. First evening we called O Alcaide was full,so we came back another evening,it was closed, their night off, so we came early next evening. We were the first customers there, but it quickly filled up. The service was excellent. The food was delicious, our adults and children loved it. The seafood catch of the day was brought to the table for us to see it before ordering. The usual bread, pâté, garlic butter, olives and mixed capsicum & sweet peppers were brought to the table and we enjoyed them. We shared two big bowls of shrimp & clams in their house sauce/dressings. They were delicious. Mains of sea bream. sword fish, lamb and lasagne all went down very well. The house wine was quiet nice. We all had dessert but choose the lighter ones as we had little room left. We were delighted all around and returned again the following week and were equally pleased. The waiter remembered us too which surprised me as he was very busy the first night we dined. This restaurant always appears to be busy so the fact they are a little off the beaten path is no hindrance to them and well worth the walk. I recomment Restaurante O Alcaide. Thanks for very good dining experience.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank galwaygirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 547 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2018 via mobile

We (3) had dinner here and thoroughly enjoyed it. Stay away from the rip off trash at the marina with cooks having only burger and chips experience but posing as chefs.This restaurant has an excellent Chef. We had a selection of starters: cover, meats , cheese and prawns. For mains we had octopus, fish and meat. Highly recommended

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 673kenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2018 via mobile

Very nice little restaurant, great food, our Fillets of Sole in Shrimp Sauce, and Veal in Red Wine Sauce were superb, as were the couverts before the main course. The staff here sometimes don’t come over as very warm or welcoming, but if you can deal with this, and want excellent local food at good prices, you will enjoy your experience! A nice bottle of Alentejo Sauvignon Blanc went down well too!!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank MaryBarryJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2018 via mobile

Delicious, authentic no gimmicks food. Friendly and helpful service - good advice on wine choice. Superb fish of the day ( stonefish) and fillet steak. Even jelly and chocolate mousse choices for dessert.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Bentom99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2018

Having read previous reviews I totally agree that the covert is the best I have ever had. I ordered the shrimp in green pepper sauce and my husband had the octopus. Both were delicious. We will definitely go back.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank annieboo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante O Alcaide also viewed

 
Lagos, Faro District
 
Lagos, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurante O Alcaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing