We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it used to be”

Restaurante O Alcaide
Ranked #32 of 402 Restaurants in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $36
Cuisines: Portuguese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Restaurant 'O Alcaide', a very nice place for lunch or dinner in a family atmosphere, a delicious meal accompanied by good wine. Come and see our specialties!Opened in September 2009, O Alcaide is located at Rua Porta da Vila, near the Fire Department in Lagos. O Alcaide is the ideal place to enjoy your meal in a relaxed and familiar ambient. O Alcaide is open everyday for lunch and dinner.
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

This was one of our regular haunts but today the service was soooo slow; an hour an half till we got our mains. Then when they came one of the meals was incorrect but we decided to keep it as we did not want to wait again. Then when the bill came we were charged for the more expensive meal which to be frank was rather salty and chewy octupus. Rest of the meal was ok but very dissapointed by service.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elvac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    100
    27
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best meal of the holiday! ”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Five of us had an excellent meal in this charming, slightly rustic, restaurant. The clam starter was delicious, but the stand out dish was the main course lamb carre with mint and rosemary: what looked to be a whole rack of lamb, of exceptional tenderness and beautifully cooked. Service was good, a little slow, although not enough to be a concern. The waiter recommended an excellent wine from a good list. All in all, a very good evening - highly recommended!

Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Brilliant !”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Excellent quality and range of fresh, local food and drink. Friendly, efficient service. Reasonably priced. Good quality entrees. Ambient atmosphere. Nicely spaced tables. Easy decision to go more than once.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jraff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

This restaurant was just excellent. We were shown and told about the fish of the day and had exceptional wines matched to our meals. The clam starter was was incredible. The restaurant is just outside the old town walls but not far. We highly recommend as a must while you are staying in Lagos.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DickinsonG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We've seen this restaurant and looked in several times since it's very close to A Casa do Pintor. This time we decided we'd try it, and took a friend. We were very pleasantly surprised.

It's a small restaurant with only about 20 seats. It took us ages to choose what to eat because there was so much on the menu we fancied. We opted for the cover while we deliberated, and that was a very good decision.

Not having eaten there before we decided to skip starters and just go for mains - you never know if you're going to get too much food, and you can always have dessert. Our friend opted for the prawns in pepper sauce, my wife chose the octopus with shrimp, and I chose the cuttlefish with clams. All were absolutely delicious, nicely presented and decent portions. I've uploaded photos of all three dishes.

For dessert I chose a chocolate mousse, which was light, creamy and very very chocolatey. My wife chose the crepe suzette (although they called it something else) which she liked, and our friend opted for the pastel de nata tart, which she declared was the nicest pastel de nata that she'd ever had.

We ate early (7:30 reservation and left about 9) and there was still some space, but we passed by later, around 10pm and the place was completely full - so booking is definitely worthwhile.

One of the better restaurants in Lagos, we'll certainly eat there again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank meadowend51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante O Alcaide also viewed

 
Lagos, Faro District
Lagos, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurante O Alcaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing