We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, close to the beach.”
Review of Dona Ana Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dona Ana Garden
Ranked #13 of 71 Lagos B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Dona Ana Gardens. The location was perfect for our purposes. The walk into town is about 15 minutes, but we only went into town one day for some food and shopping. Otherwise, the beach is a 2 minute walk down the hill and there are some good restaurants around if you want to avoid the walk into town.

We stayed in a double room with a cot, since there were 3 of us. The beds were comfortable enough, a little hard. The cot was okay, but the mattress was thin. The rooms were very clean, which was so nice to come back to after a day at the beach. Towels are changed only every 3 to 4 days, but we had our own anyways.

The pool was clean and well maintained. The convenience store had all we needed during our stay. The gardens are very nice. We loved having a patio off of our room and we loved sitting and having a drink and tanning out there.

Essentially, Dona Ana Gardens is a wonderful place to stay if you are looking for an affordable place to stay and are just using the room to sleep and shower. A good place to stay, especially at such a great cost.

Room Tip: I would recommend getting a room with a bed for each guest, rather than a cot. The mattresses on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurenbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donanagarden, Owner at Dona Ana Garden, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2016

Thank you for stay, it was a great pleasure to serve you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 121 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2012

Great apartments, well maintained close to a small shop, bar, excellent beach and restaurants and an easy walk into the town. Very relaxed place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanH294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donanagarden, Owner at Dona Ana Garden, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2016

Thank you for stay, it was a great pleasure to serve you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

My family and I have just had an excellent time in Lagos and our stay at Dona Ana Garden has been very pleasant. The rooms are clean/well equipped. The garden and pool areas are very well maintained. The location for Dona Ana Beach is excellent, but a little less so for the town centre (which is a bit of a hike with a pushchair when it's hot - but still achievable). Only slight complaint we had was the frequency of towel changes in the apartment, which was just once in ten days. Overall though, this is somewhere I'd recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BramhallHatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donanagarden, Owner at Dona Ana Garden, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2016

Thank you for stay, it was a great pleasure to serve you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Just returned from a 9 day holiday in D.Ana Gardens, it is a well kept, well maintained, small complex, Jose the owner is resident there and is always there if you need him. We originally booked a room only, and although it was a lovely spacious room and had a microwave, kettle etc. it wasn't what we wanted, so Jose found a one bedroom apt after three days, it was very spacious and clean, nice white towels, comfy beds, everything you need to self cater, (no oven in this particular one) Both rooms were beautifully decorated, and had comfortable seating. The walk into Lagos takes about 20 mins and is 4 euros to get a taxi back as it's all uphill! lots of good places to eat, try Bar Trinidad just 5 mins walk away for the sardines! cheaper than in the town! There is a small friendly bar just up the road from the apt, (buy your dolphin trip tickets from the Gino De Campo lookalike waiter who works there!) It is 100 euros in a taxi from the airport , we used http://www.travelrepublic.co.uk/airporttransfers and it only cost 43 euros return for two! It drops off at other hotels on the way so took about 2 hours but was well worth it! On the return journey we had a minibus and went directly to the airport, so no problems! We would definately return to these apartments!

Room Tip: all seem to be well placed!We were on the road side but as it isn't a busy road it wasn't a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patch26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donanagarden, Owner at Dona Ana Garden, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2016

Thank you for stay, it was a great pleasure to serve you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I stayed with a friend in a two room apartment for 4 days. The kitchen was clean and great for cooking and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I was impressed that the pool was both heated and clean, and having that mini store nearby is very handy. They even opened up special for us after it was closed so we could buy some coffee and breakfast things for the next day.

It's about a 12 min walk to get to town, but we didn't find that bothersome as the beach was about 3 min away (and that's why people come to Lagos!). There is a beach-y sort of smell in the rooms, but that is pretty normal for the coast. The bed in the bedroom was decent, but my friend was on a pull-out cot in the living room and the mattress springs were terrible and sagged quite badly. Next time I would book a room with two real beds as the pull out cot is more for a one night rather than mutli-night stay.

The proximity to the beach is what originally made me want to stay, but the grounds were nice and the apartment was clean and comfortable so I would stay there again as it's also a great value for everything you get.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiska05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donanagarden, Owner at Dona Ana Garden, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2016

Thank you for stay, it was a great pleasure to serve you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Everything in Dona Ana Garden was perfect. Clean, well taken care of, spacy and well equipped apartment, the pool, the location between the beaches and downtown, the owners very friendly and helpful. We can only say : Excellent !!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BubuDickmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donanagarden, Owner at Dona Ana Garden, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2016

Thank you for stay, it was a great pleasure to serve you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Amazing value here. Cheap price tag for a big, clean, nice apartment unit just two minute walk from the most stunning beaches I will ever see. It's a bit removed from the town of Lagos itself (probably 15-20 minute walk or 5 minute cab) but well worth it to be able to wake up and walk across te street to that incredible scenery. Also a little convenient store right there for all food and drink needs. Try not to get freaked out that the operation is run out of a convenient store cash register. It's a real hidden gem I loved it.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donanagarden, Owner at Dona Ana Garden, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2016

Thank you for stay, it was a great pleasure to serve you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.2 mi away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
0.0 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#2 of 53 in Lagos
386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 53 in Lagos
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
0.3 mi away
Vilabranca Apartments
Vilabranca Apartments
#19 of 53 in Lagos
698 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dom Pedro Lagos
Dom Pedro Lagos
#21 of 53 in Lagos
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dona Ana Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dona Ana Garden

Address: Dona Ana Beach | Urb. Costa d'Oiro lt. 20, 21, 22, 32, 33, Lagos 8600-512, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Lagos
Price Range: $31 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOLIDAY ACCOMMODATION 300 meters from "Dona Ana" Beach, Lagos, Algarve, Portugal. Self-catering studios, one, two or three bedroom apartments & rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Dona Ana Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Ana Garden Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing